We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #5 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed in two suites for 6 nights, one pool facing and the other facing the beach. Both were fantastic, although the Royal Ocean Suite made better use of the space as the bedroom and the lounge flowed into each other rather than a hallway separating them.
All of the stay we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly, and BLT onsite serves superb food.
Would definitely recommend this hotel over some of the larger corporate hotels available on South Beach.
Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    271
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
253
706
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon Hill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is second too none! The staff is on point in every way. Ed Director of Guest Services took care of us from day one of our stay from dinner suggestions to tours he is absolutley THE MAN! Ashley at the front and Thomas are also nice ashley greeted me by my name everyday from the first day I arrived also if you have time induldge in the spa service very personal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice hotel, with style on a not so stylish road as ocean drive, comparable to Bourbon street in New Orléans. Rooms ok but no ocean view but ocean drive view. Luckily the noisy bars could not bje heard.
Price too high when compared with NY hotels.

Room Tip: The term ocean view should Be changed into ocean drive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Betsy, unfortunately for only one night. We were on our way to catch a cruise out of Miami. I came across this lovely hotel online and decided to take a chance. This was the first and only time a hotel has exceeded my expectations....and we travel a lot. Every person from the valet to the bellman to reception was wonderful. Kind inviting helpful. Honest and informative. The lobby was beautiful and comfortable. The room was bright clean with lovely amenities and appointments. The restaurant BLT was to die for. Popovers were amazing. I had steak my husband had fish. Both were outstanding. It was not our anniversary but it was what we like to call our "anniversary dinner" because it was that good. I highly recommend this place to all. I almost forgot the roof too deck also great. John serves up one excellent mojito.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Betsy Hotel's restaurant "BLT Steak" recently just won praise as Miami Beach's number one Steak house by a local news paper so my fiancé and I had to visit. Dinner was amazing! Aziz, our server, was nothing but smiles and provided great service.

As we were leaving, the doorman Sean overheard us praising how great the lobby looked and suggested we visit the hotel's rooftop. He mentioned there was a bar up there so we decided to go for a nightcap. What a gorgeous view and cool place! The bartender (Yanna I believe) promptly served us our wine which we enjoyed while looking at the cruise ships in the distance. What a cool addition to a great dinner.

I live here in Miami, but if I were visiting, the Betsy & BLT's were both outstanding

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Right in the center of the 'Miami Beach Art Deco district' this wonderful colonial style hotel is located. Right from registration, through check-in to the extraordinary good service we got during the stay was fantastic. One night we were dining on the hotel restrarant 'BLT' - a great experience. Particularilly the meat was great. Everybody were fantastic, however, the guy at the front desk - Chris Joseph - gave us an extraordinary good service when he helped us check-in on our flights out of Miami. The Beach is great and so is the hotel pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I did my research for my 2 night stay in Miami before I went on to my proper holiday in NOLA and the Betsy ticked all the boxes.

I was looking for a hotel that would allow me to unwind but be close to the Miami madness if I wanted it; quirky with very attentive staff. The Betsy provided all of this. The room had gorgeous wooden floors; plantation shutters and overlooked the pool. Beautiful bed with very comfortable pillows and plenty of storage room.

One of my favourite features was the book shelf with books that had either been strategically placed or left by previous occupants. Either way - it matched the room perfectly. The bathroom consisted of a a very large walk-in shower and a built in TV in the mirror - a bath would have been nice but the rain shower and layout matched the room.

I ate at the restaurant and it was OK - I know it has won awards or been voted the best somewhere but to me - it was OK. The staff's attentiveness (and cocktails) probably grabbed my attention more!

I would stay there again in a heartbeat - location is great; customer service great and the hotel itself is also great.

I couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Deneshae,

Wow back to you! Thanks for your visit, and for writing about being unable to fault us on service, style, and our dedication to a unique South Beach experience (in a perfect location doesn’t hurt either). Anytime you are coming to Miami Beach - we are here to hopefully exceed your previous experience and garner more love from our Guests!
Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.