We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, lovely atmosphere, superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lovely atmosphere, superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed with husband and 2 teenagers in a Suite. We all loved the hotel. It is beautiful and in a superb location. The rooms were perfect and the staff extremely courteous.

Only grumble - we arrived after 5 and our room wasn't ready -annoying after a long drive.
On the plus - the photography around the hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the front of the hotel (sea view) which was beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    285
    92
    36
    14
See reviews for
266
752
67
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Betsy Hotel was great. Great location, great room, great staff. We loved being so close to the beach as well as within walking distance of restaurants and Lincoln Road shopping. The rooms were clean, and the staff was helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with Husband and two children (aged 17 & 12) Room was pretty small for a family of four. Room backed on to the pool, which was very pretty indeed, but a nightmare when people decided to swim at 10.15pm at night (in fairness, hotel staff dealt with this quickly) and at 8am in the morning when it opened. Bathroom was tiny (only shower, sink & loo - no bath) Walls were paper thin (didn't help that we seemed to have a family of small elephants staying in the room above us) Enjoyed our stay, the staff were very polite and helpful, but wouldnt rush back. Overrated and overpriced.

Room Tip: request a room that does not overlook the pool if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After staying at multiple Miami Beach hotels in the past, we found our perfect fit at The Betsy. It is everything we have looked for, and have returned for the past four years. It is intimate and charming and meets our every need. Their attention to personalized, quality service puts this boutique resort in a class by itself. Kudos to Jeff, Ed, and the entire staff !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanava
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel has very good location, close to wonderful beach and restaurants in the area. We found hotel staff very helpful and professional. Major drawback of the hotel is that rooms are very noisy, you can hear all of your neighbors talking, walking etc.. When we arrived we were given one half of a double-room an when our neighbors arrived with little kids we could hear every single word, kids tried to get into our room at 5.00 a.m. as the doors between two rooms were not lockable. We have asked to change the room in the morning and the front desk staff was very helpful and changed the room for us. Generally rooms have very poor sound insulation.
Hotel has very good restaurant and food quality was very good both for breakfast and diner.

Room Tip: Rooms are very noisy with very poor sound insulation you can hear every step and every noise from in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the front door opening to the staff saying goodbye we look forward to seeing you again, it was an above all customer service experience! Hendrick helped accommodate a room change request which made the experience so much enjoyable for our family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for a few nights as an add on to a vacation to the Caribbean. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the heart of south beach but want somewhat of a quieter location. This boutique hotel is on the northern end of ocean drive which was a bit more toned down than the rest of the area. The hotel rooms are clean, functional, and I would say average sized. The staff was helpful, friendly, and we loved having fresh water and ice in our room daily. The hallways are decorated with cool candid photos of the Beatles and Rolling Stones and the lobby had a lovely library feeling with chess and checker boards to use. The elevator is pretty slow but the hotel maybe has 4 floors so we just used the stairs most of the time. They charge a resort fee which gives you wifi, newspaper, and use of lounge chairs, umbrella, and towels on the beach. We had a great spot on the beach and it's just across the street from the hotel. I never made it to the pool area but I know there was free yoga offered and no need to sign up, you just show up. We had a great time here and was in walking distance to all the Art Deco buildings and great places to eat. We never ate at the hotel restaurant but the food always looked and smelled delicious. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.