We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #9 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Be aware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

As most refurbished buildings of the Art Deco period in South Beach, the internal lay out presents limitations. Small rooms, limited elevators, no parking, etc.
In this case THE BETSY has done a major refurbishing of a charming old building trying to positioning itself in the upscale market segment.
The general impression and furnishings are pretty.
The rooms are small and the pool is so enclosed in an internal patio that the heat is almost unbearable except in the early morning or late afternoon. The beach is always an option just across the street but umbrellas, sunbeds and towels are contracted out to a third party that runs it and we found out that on June 10th at 4 pm they decided to close shop.
We had a suite consisting probably of two of the original layout rooms, which produced a bedroom so small that the space between the end of the bed and the TV on the wall was narrower than my shoulder. The living area was small and with a very uncomfortable sofa. The weirdest thing was the bathroom which had all the facilities for disabled people.
The air conditioning system instead of being smooth quiet and central is individually provided by under window mounted equipment very noisy and blowing directly on to your bed and pillows.
Although many of us trade location on Ocean Dr for optimum lodging, this hotel is a choice but only because there are no much better on the short strip of Ocean Dr. The Tides, and the Victor have some shortcomings to. Be aware of this before you decide where to stay on South Beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    332
    111
    40
    15
See reviews for
291
839
69
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice hotel, excellent location, very clean with courteous staff, small rooms, pool never gets sun rays which is a downside but the worst is the long wait on valet parking or getting transportation, bell men are not interested in expediting service but getting as many clients as they can... "money talks" if you tip them really good then, they act & react! Things like this shouldn't be happening at a high end hotel. Other than that, the rest is good.
Enjoy your stay in Miami Beach! Going back to a cold weather :'(

Room Tip: Room are beautiful but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My new wife and I have just returned from a brief stay at the Besty on our last night of Honeymoon. The hotel location is superb if you want to be in the heart of South Beach, with Ocean Drive and Miami beach on the doorstep of the building.

The important thing about The Betsy is that it manages to provide a beautiful boutique hotel that achieves everything a small boutique should do. The furnishings are esoteric and comfortable, the rooms are tastefully decorated and the restaurant is amazing (there are few finer spots to people watch than from the outside space of the BLT or the wonderful roof terrace).

As a boutique, it doesn't have the size and scale of some of the larger hotels further up the beach. The rooms are not large and the pool is suitable for cooling off and doing a few short lengths but there is no loud pool party atmosphere or tiki bar style drinking atmosphere, this is certainly a plus as (although I enjoy the alternative sometimes) you come to this hotel to savour a slice of tranquillity a few metres from the mayhem of Miami's biggest party district.

The key advantage of a smaller hotel over a larger resort style accommodation is the ability to provide a more personal style of service. This is where The Betsy excels! I asked the concierge prior to our arrival for a couple of things for our honeymoon and my requests by email were replied to promptly. We received prosseco on arrival (which appears to be delightfully standard at that time of day) and a congratulations on our wedding with a room upgrade and some extra, very kind offerings for free. This was far beyond what I had requested or expected. Even though we were staying in Miami for about 5 hours after checking out, the hotel informed us that the Betsy was still our base if we wished it to be and all amenities were at our disposal until we left for the airport. This type of attention to detail in customer service, along with a series of other attentive actions from the staff, really set this hotel apart from others I've stayed with.

It is a little pricey but it is South Beach and it is certainly worth it.I would absolutely recommend the Betsy and we're most excited about returning in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are quiet. I didn't sample the rooms overlooking Ocean Drive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This highly skilled staff knows how to take care of people. Nothing is too much. Friendly, helpful, accommodating. If you prefer to stay in a smaller hotel (60 rooms), this is an excellent choice. The decor, the ambiance, and the people makes this place stand apart for me when comparing it with luxury hotels I have stayed in elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The locals couldn't say enough about the pop overs and man it lived up to the hype, smothered in egg cream spinach ham bacon it was really really good, the bar tender woody was great and very knowledgeable, we also had the pleasure to stay a night here and the hotel was nice quiet with great photographs of the Rolling Stones and Beatles, and the bathrooms have tvs in the mirrors, who doesn't love gadgets, great place to stay if your not looking to be part or the nonstop party that is south beach

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Visited the Betsy over Memorial Day Weekend 2014 and stayed at The Betsy.

The Good:
The front desk and bell staff was fantastic. We didn't open a door the entire weekend. The concierge was friendly and informative.

The vicinity to the beach was fantastic – directly across the street. Chairs and towels were provided daily. I wish there was cocktail service on the beach but it’s a public beach so no alcohol is allowed.

The So So:
My wife and I travel a bit and one of the things we look for in a vacation is a finer hotel.
We appreciate the little details.

That said the room we had was just OK. Clean yes, but the bed was not entirely comfortable and the bathroom shower was nothing special. The room is also quite small and the “pool view” wasn't much of a view.

The pool itself is quite nice. It was empty at the time we visited most days so we had it to ourselves quite often. It is not big, nor is the pool area itself.
We wanted to take drinks from the bar to the pool and we were told someone had to bring them to us. 2 days in a row, that person never showed up.

In addition there were a fair amount of bird droppings on the pool chairs and towels were left on chairs and not replenished or cleaned in a timely manner. The pool also shares a fence with the alley way next door. It’s private but not tranquil. As far as hotel pools go, it ranked up there with a Days in, not a 5 star boutique hotel.

The Bad-
The Roof Top Bar was less then spectacular. Upon arrival we ordered 2 margaritas.
2 small margaritas made with Jose Cuervo and lime juice mix were $40.
Again, being frequent visitors to Manhattan we are no strangers to expensive drinks. However, there is an expectation that for $20 each you’re getting quality spirits. Not Jose Cuervo.

Having never been to South Beach but based on reputation alone I expected the glitz and shine of Vegas or NYC. We were way off. Apparently we visited during “the biggest hip hop party of the year.”
Native New Yorkers we don’t scare easy, but we literally felt like we couldn’t leave the general vicinity of the hotel.
The streets were closed down to traffic and there was a police presence on every corner.
It’s never good when venturing out on vacation you say “I think we can make it…”
Clearly not the fault of the Hotel, but worth noting if you plan to visit South beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I just arrived from Miami and had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel with my 11 month old daughter and husband. The staff was very friendly. Always greeted us with a smile and were very helpful at all times. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was amazing and they had the best products in the shower! It's always a gamble with the hotels in Miami, but I have to say I am happy to finally have found a place to come to when I want to get away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.