We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Trumbull, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is lovely. It combines all of the comforts of home (staff that greet you by name, newspapers on the door, and slippers at the foot of the bed) with a definite elegance. I would stay here again in a second. And don't forget to check out the roof deck that I didn't find until I was ready to leave; my bad!

Room Tip: I think they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Dithdat,

Thank you for your review! We actually designed the hotel with a residential feel in mind, every step of the way. In a city as energized and intense as Miami Beach can be, it is great to "come home" at the end of the day to your room or suite here, where all of your needs are our highest priority! We look forward to welcoming you home in the future!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    931
    258
    84
    31
    12
See reviews for
229
680
61
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

From the moment you arrive at The Betsy, when your luggage is swooped up and taken to your room and a glass of champagne is in your hand while checking in, you realize the exceptional service you will be enjoying. That service did not falter during our long anniversary weekend. Every staff member we interacted with gave us impeccable service while being sweet and gracious, from the wait/bar staff to the concierge. We had a basic room that overlooked the pool, and was beautiful. We didn't spend too much time there, because once we saw the stunning terrace we knew where we would be spending most of our time. However, it is an older hotel so when people were in the hallways we could hear them, but it was never really disruptive. The bed was blissfully comfortable. I really cannot rave enough. We had our anniversary dinner at the steakhouse and, like everything at The Betsy, it was perfection. You must try the popover bread! They even give you the recipe so you can take a little bit of The Betsy with you. The beach area is pristine! They set up chairs and umbrellas, and that part of the beach is private so there were fewer people there. This was my first visit to The Betsy, but hopefully not my last. We had a divine anniversary, and would absolutely stay at The Betsy in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear FutureMrsLarson,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review! I'm glad you had such an enjoyable first visit, and honored that you chose to spend your anniversary with us. Think of us next year! Our return Guests are among our favorites, of course, and I will personally see to it that each visit is better than the last one!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London%
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Betsy is just lovely. It is the perfect place to base yourself and tour South Beach.

The complimentary cooked breakfast and fruits were a real treat.

The rooms are so clean and well maintained.

The roof terrace was so clean and perfect if just wanting to chill outside in peace. Lovely water spritzer to cool you down too. So well thought out.

Beach across the road with allocated sunbeds - perfect.

There is also a pool area with lemon/lime water on tap – a small but nice touch in the heat.

The gym open all hours – fab, although I preferred to go for a run along the South Beach promenade for exercise!

Room Tip: We had a room facing another buidling - with the sun shining it didn't seem to matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear GingerOrange,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review! I was happy to read that you had such a wonderful, relaxing time! We really do try to stay focused on all of the details that our Guests have told us they appreciate - glad you noticed! We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked two nights at The Betsy for a romantic weekend and we were not disappointed.
From when you arrive until you leave, you receive excellent service and the staff is very attentive and helpful and they actually expressed that they enjoyed working there.
The atmosphere is colonial classic and stylish and very different from the other hotel you find along Ocean drive. The food is great and sitting outside sipping on a Miami Heat is a great experience.
It is a little expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear MortenJohansen,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Betsy! It is so great to read these reviews, and see how my staff and our hotel are able to stand out from all the rest, on Ocean Drive and beyond! Your comments are greatly appreciated!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is definitely one of the most expensive Hotels that we have stayed at, and if you check my profile you will see we have stayed in top quality Hotels all over the world but this Hotel was shown as one of the top 3 rated Hotels in Miami Beach and very justified to be in this position.

Firstly location is right on Ocean Drive the top place to stay at South Beach, however it is located to the top end which is quieter and away from the bars which have happy hours with drunks that seem to last all evening.

We hired a car whilst in Miami and parking is almost impossible near the beach with heavy traffic most of the day, so it was very convenient to drop the car outside the Hotel and enjoy Valet parking, even at the cost of $43 per night.

We booked with Travel Republic and paid £356 per night just after the Easter Holiday period for a room only. The booking advice told us there would be a "resort fee" of $15 per day for the use of sunbeds and towels directly on the beach as this was contracted out to a separate firm, however when we arrived at check-in we we told this fee had already been paid by the operator.

The staff at check in were very helpful and despite the fact we were told the room which was a Classic Pool View room was likely to be very small, it was extremely well appointed and comfortable with a good size walk in wardrobe and separate shower room. The bed was extremely comfortable with massive soft pillows which wrap round your ears and provide for a very comfortable sleep.

The rooftop bar was a great facility with prices very similar to others on South Beach, a beer costing about £4.50 and there were relaxing sun loungers with a body "mist" facility to keep you cool in the hot sun. The beach was just opposite the Hotel and the beach staff made you feel very welcome and comfortable.

Breakfast was not included in our price which really should be, but you can purchase a room rate called "Breakfast with Betsy" and this price includes an American Breakfast which we paid about £15 to £25 per person for breakfast depending upon what we had. The breakfast was to a very high standard with a choice of cereals with fresh fruit, with tea, coffee or juices and eggs with potatoes and baked tomato or a large omelette, or even an 8oz steak for those with a healthy appetite.

The restaurant known as BLT serve the best steaks in the area all Aberdeen Angus and the portions were very healthy with their signature "popovers" served with the starter which was like a large warm Yorkshire Pudding served with butter or salt.

The Hotel had a very colonial style feel to it with luxurious corridors with Bahama Fans and 1960's photos of the Bettles and Mick Jagger on every floor.

There was a medium sized swimming pool which was mainly in the shade, open from 8am to 9pm and also a small but well appointed Gymnasium on the first floor, both fitness facilities did not seem to be in regular use by the guests which did mean you had the pool to yourself for a swim before breakfast.

A very enjoyable stay, however you would expect an even greater standard with breakfast included at most other top class 5 star Hotels around the world - but maybe this is the going rate for South Beach.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room away from the noise of Ocean Drive or a view of the side streets. High floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Gary E,

Thank you for your visit to the Betsy, and for taking the time to write your review on us. Senior Reviewers such as yourself always get particular notice from me, as I know you have seen so much of what hospitality has to offer in the world. I was glad to read that you found the hotel so nice. I do have to mention that due to the seasonality of Miami Beach, our rates fluctuate quite a bit, based on demand. As you noted, the best does come with a price, but with some flexible planning, there are options whatever the budget is! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Betsy soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Betsy is
they do a great job of choosing their staff. Every member of staff seems to understand hospitality - the concept of making people feel welcome. Reception staff, waiters, door men, everyone is professional, caring and genuinely friendly. Even the housekeeping staff greeted us by name which I found impressive.
The Betsy is very stylish in a timeless and effortless way. I love how everything is luxurious and high end but relaxed at the same time. The rooms are spacious and the beds amazingly comfortable. The food at the restaurant (BLT) is... again amazing. Great steaks, yummy sushi and the warm popovers with Gruyere are to die for.
We have stayed here for 16 nights over the past 2 years and we can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear CBBrighton.

Thank you for each of your 16 nights with us! You are correct, that our staff is indeed the not-so- secret secret to our success. Your every need is our concern. We all look forward to seeing you for the next visit!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Beautiful small hotel located directly accross from the beach. There is also a Starbucks accross the street which was great to pick up a cup of coffee and sit under the umbrella on the beach. The door men, and managers were always helpful and some of the door men actually called you by your last name. The royal suite was very roomy with the separte living room. The bath room was great with the in mirror tv. The roof deck was great to look out at the ocean and enjoy the huge lounge chairs. The best part is that you are away from all of the noise and pedistrian traffic which is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear 1miser,

Thank you for your visit, and for your review! We strive to make the Betsy feel like a private home - how could we not use your name? It is our pleasure to have you as our Guest, for a short time or a long time! We look forward to you return visits!

Warm Regards,

Jeff Lehman
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.