We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the beach, shops and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location for the beach, shops and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned home from 8 nights at the Betsy, our first stay at the South Beach. We chose it after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and after taking a look at the hotel's web site. We were not disappointed and had a wonderful and restful stay as the hotel is in a perfect location to walk in the morning, hit the beach in the afternoon and the restaurants in the evening. You can turn right out of the hotel and walk along the beach to South Pointe or left and along the board walk or to Lincoln Road and Collins were the restaurants are plentiful.
We had 2 dinners at the BLT, brunch and a couple of breakfasts and the food was good quality and good value. The steaks here are very good and tasty and well worth a try.

We knew most of the restaurants that we wanted to eat at but Margot (Concierge) suggested a couple not on the list which were fantastic picks and she arranged all reservations as it was very busy. We chose restaurants within walking distance and ate at, Pied a Terre, Ola, The Meat Market, Spiga, Osteria and the Fez. Not one bad meal amongst them and I have reviewed them separately if you want to take a look.

So why not excellent?

1) Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (just after the 4pm check in time) and whilst we were offered an alternative which we didn't want, and they did get us in within an hour. This is not what you expect paying these prices and having been travelling for 15 hours. Also, getting an extra couple of hours to check out when we left was a bit of a struggle but they agreed once I pointed this out.

2) The roof garden is a great place to relax, a real positive for this hotel but on 2 nights we couldn't use it because private parties had a booking. Again, disappointing when the rooms are small with no balcony etc.

3) I've mentioned the help we got from Margot, Thomas and Sean who helped with the luggage and were very friendly. Some of the other service was inconsistent and working on this would make the place perfect.

Overall, we would definitely recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: If you don't have a suite, go for the deluxe ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    257
    83
    31
    12
See reviews for
226
678
60
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Betsy on South Beach. We arrived the day before Valentine's Day. The whole week and the stay at the Betsy was great. The location right on Ocean Drive could not be better. Everything we look for in a hotel was found in the Betsy, from the great staff, the room, comfort of the bed, the cleanliness, the lounge area and the roof top and the great view of the ocean. It was great. Paul, the concierge, was very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Aesthetically, The Betsy has everything going for it with charming good looks inside and out. It will easily meet the most discerning guest's romanticized ideal of a "boutique hotel". Those accustomed to 4 and 5 star treatment however, may find that the charm evaporates in the face of small missteps and sloppy service.

My wife and two girls (11 & 13) enjoyed four nights at The Betsy, and we really did enjoy it - there's so many good things about this hotel. The prime location, the amazing restaurant, the quiet pool, the hip, modern-plantation decor, the (mostly) outgoing service. Unfortunately, our stay was not without its share of little nuisances and these flaws simply became part of our expectation by the end of our trip.

Without going into too much detail, we had to switch rooms at 1am on our first night. The night manager claimed only to have a single king room available. I was insistent that this would not work for the four of us. She seemed hesitant and flustered, but after 20 some odd minutes of back and forth calls to the front desk, she suddenly had a two-room suite available. Why this was not offered immediately was beyond me. I was grateful for the upgraded room, but the way we came to it was anything but high-end. Our new room was very nice, but little things again... one of the televisions not working, a water-damaged ceiling in the washroom, used bottles of shampoo. Little things conspiring to remind us that this place was not so perfect as it first appeared.

Two other annoyances are worth noting. We did not find out until our last morning that breakfast was included with our stay. Since we didn't know, we paid for breakfast at the hotel on two days of our stay and two at Starbucks across the street on the other two days. Not a big deal, but a waste of two hundred dollars by my estimate. And anyway, I like that restaurant. I would have much preferred to eat there each morning. It would have been nice if we were told at check-in that "this is where you'll enjoy your included breakfast."

For our first breakfast at the hotel we were served by a lovely gentleman on the rooftop who had a broken foot. Needless to say, his movements were not quick and we waited a long time - too long. I begrudge him nothing, but maybe the hotel should keep him behind the bar and get him some help with serving, until his foot is fully healed. he did his best, but we shouldn't need to feel bad about asking for coffee.

I have a feeling that our experience at The Betsy probably isn't typical, and that a lot of guests do enjoy a perfect stay. I'm just disappointed that we didn't get to see The Betsy at it's best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have just come back from our third time at the Betsy. This was the best on; we were sorry to leave and we will be back next year. Location and room are great. The staff are incredibly nice and the food is excellent. Couldn't want for more!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger than the side ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Fantastic location on Ocean Boulevard up from all the touting restaurants & just south of all the big hotel names. Small intimate boutique hotel. Staff exceptionally friendly & helpful as well as knowledgeable. Breakfast really good & heaps of it. Private stretch of the beach offering sun beds, umbrella & towels included in the resort fee. We had one of the small rooms which was perfect for a few days stay. Lots of closet space, good bathroom with energizing shower & really comfy bed. Lots of amazing rock n roll photos (Rolling Stones) throughout the hotel. Great cocktails in the lobby bar. Rooftop bar a bit of a let down unfortunately. Would definitely stay again if in South Beach Miami.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for three nights to escape the cold of Chicago. Overall happy with our stay at The Betsy, loved the Art Deco style and Rolling Stones and Beatles photos that line the hotels corridors. The hotel staff were great, shout out to Chris the doorman who was always friendly and anticipated your needs before you even thought of it yourself! BLT steak, food was great for dinner and the 3 breakfasts we eat. Service was not so great, basic things not met for a hotel that has 4 diamonds and over $500 a night room rates I expected more. Asked each morning what our name was and if we were staying in hotel, got a bit old. Waiting over 20 minutes to get coffee that was barely warm, then having to get up and ask bus boy if we can get more coffee, no good morning from server, food runners who do not smile and just dump your food on the table and cannot even get you fresh black pepper for your eggs when you ask for it was poor in my opinion for a hotel restaurant of this level. Service at dinner was much better, breakfast just seemed that guests were forgotten about.
Concierge was excellent and we had some great meals due to Margo"s recommendation!
Great stay and would go back, but need to improve service in restaurant not up to the level you get at a Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Pool view room was worth the extra $ if my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I Stayed here last week and was most enjoyable, captures a era long gone but just fantastic. The suite was well kept and attractive. Yoga at 7.30 watching the sunrise on the roof top with a beautiful view over south beach and the ocean. Spa treatments under the blue sky.

The service was excellent and friendly, the manager could not do enough to make my stay a plesent one. Great location,great hotel,great food, great service, what more can i say! loving the art deco of south beach.

Room Tip: corner suites are better than rooms which i a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.