We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved the stay; the location is perfect, the room size was good (we were in the king room w/ ocean view) and very clean. The breakfeast is expensive and don't worth but there are a lot of near options (Porch is very good!).
The manager was very lovely and helped us with an setback about a mastercard promotion, and did the best to solve the situation.
The best part was the beach service.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    913
    256
    88
    33
    12
See reviews for
220
664
59
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
annapolis, md
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

10/15/13 I stayed at the Betsy for one night for a business Trip. The Boutique Hotel is absolute perfection! Rooms are clean, modern, and spacious. This hotel combines old South Beach Charm (decor is great!) with top notch modern class.

We ate at BLT steak for both dinner and a business lunch the following day. Dinner was far superior - one of the best Tuna tar-tar's ever and NY Strip was perfect.

This hotel is right on Ocean in the heart of SB - I completely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very stylish, great room and very good service. Would recommend it to anyone. Beautiful views from rooftop lounge area. Must praise Tom the bellman who was very helpful in directing us to locations in the area and for remembering our names - very impressive.
Oct 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our room looked over the pool. It is a quiet hotel which is a lovely feeling after being in the hustle bustle of Ocean Dr. This is our third time to stay here. There are staff members from several years ago which is a compliment to the management. One of the bellmen told us about 3 good restaurants! The view from the roof deck is over the park to the ocean.
We were shown the Writer's room that is for writers and
other creative artists, where they can find the tranquility and
inspiration needed to do their best work. The Betsy also has several philanthropic causes that are supported which makes me feel good.

Room Tip: They each have positives. The rooms on Ocean Dr. look over the ocean but, have still been quiet. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First impressions were great, very stylish hotel. We did however have problems with our room. There was an awful 'damp' smell, which we eventually traced to the a/c. This resulted in us not being able to use the a/c - not ideal in July! We were offered an alternative but it would have entailed moving twice as one room not available for the whole of our stay so we opted to remain put and try to remain cool with the ceiling fan.
Great location, and great service on the beach with the included beach chairs/parasol etc.
We found Miami to be very expensive, thank goodness for breakfast at Star Bucks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here only one night but is was a very pleasant experience. The only complaint I have is that check in isn't until 4pm, but even with that we had a room that was not ready until almost 5 and we had to wait for the front desk to run upstairs to make sure the room was cleaned and ready. The elevator (singular) is very small so we only used it to move suitcases and used the stairs for the rest of the time. Some of the stairs are not very well lit and one of our party fell so take it slow and easy. We did like that fact that they came around with ice and water bottles occasionally as the only ice machine is on the ground floor.

We loved that we only had to cross the street to be on the beach. A fantastic location! They pick up the lounge chairs, beach towels, and umbrellas @ 6, so make sure you get to the beach before then. We ran late since they were late with the room, so we missed out on that part.

The staff is super friendly, don't bother asking the front desk for food/shopping recommendations as they will only send you to the concierge. We asked the Bellboy who gave us some fantastic recommendations and we were perfectly happy with his suggestions. The staff is great about asking if you need anything and making your experience enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My complaint is i had been traveling for 6hrs by car and we arrived at the Betsy Hotel at 3:00pm and i was informed check in is at 4pm. They had champagne at the desk but we were not offered any until we asked if it was complimentary.As my husband and i sat drinking our champagne..The desk told us to use the roof top bar to wait for our room...We were very tired and all we wanted to do was take a hot shower...We waited the hour and by 4:05 no one came to tell us our room was ready...When we went down to the front desk the staff said we were just coming to get you...I felt i should have gotten in earlier than 4:05...Our room was small but tidy...The bathroom was not as clean as i wanted...stains were embedded in the tile floor,hair and grime was still in the corners of the bathroom and rust stains were inside the shower. The mat on the floor was old and soiled. We were paying a lot for a 2 nights stay and we expected it too be cleaner...I did like the staff they were very accommodating to our needs and very polite..I was also not informed when i made the reservation that i had to pay $37 a night plus tax for parking, so my bill was more than we expected...Would i stay at Betsy again don"t think so...there are too many other hotels for that price i could choose from .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark hotel on Miami's Ocean Drive, The Betsy Hotel is a stunning colonial masterpiece offering a serene escape with exceptional cuisine, a rooftop solarium and spa with sweeping sea views. This beachfront property enables guests to enjoy the white sand and turquoise waters where Beach Butlers will attend to their every need. The hotel also created a peaceful sanctuary in its secluded courtyard where guests can enjoy the tranquil pool or relax in the lounge chairs. Home of BLT Steak, Laurent Tourondel's famous French spin on the traditional American Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.