We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant art deco Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Milan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very pleasant art deco Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed twice at the Betsy with my family (2 kids 5 and 8). The location is great right in front of the beach. There is a big difference in the rooms, the first time we had an ocean view room with a sitting room that had a convertible bed, great for the kids. The second time the room was in the back with the windows on an alley. Service is good, the lobby is very nice, the swimming pool rather cramped. The restaurant has excellent steak.
I find the "resort fee" which gives you wi-fi access and access to beach facilities rather annoying.

Per i lettori italiani, ricordate i costi nascosti tipici degli alberghi USA : tasse di vario tipo, "resort dee" ecc. Comunque bellissimo albergo art deco.

Room Tip: If you can worthwhile having an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    299
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
268
770
67
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After a previous stay turned out to be the "best night of our cruise", no wonder we chose to return for a milestone birthday. The beautiful rooms and public spaces, the great staff, the food and ambiance of BLT Steak, were all as remembered (think of unbelievable popovers!)
A longer stay enabled us to enjoy the roof top deck with a great view. What a tranquil oasis with soft music and comfortable furniture. A nap was hard to resist.
At the lobby bar, we toasted the big day with perfectly executed martinis, as we conversed with fellow devotees of the Betsy.
We will soon be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil - Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent two days at Betsy as the end of a one week golfing trip. Betsy is a wonderful hotel at the upper end of Ocean Drive. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was stylish and very comfortable. To get to the private beach you just have to cross the road. There are free chairs and towels. We enjoyed Lunch and Dinner at Betsy’s BLT Restaurant outside on the terrace. Food was of course awesome and watching people strolling up and down on the ocean drive is fun. The only thing which is missing is a shower / changing room in case one already checked out the room but still enjoyed the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean View are quite noisy during the day. Actually you can hear every word from the terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Paul Drecq, my concierge, whom I've grown to consider more than just an acquaintance, but a friend, summarizes how I feel about South Beach and the Betsy in particular...
He says that when he goes out of town to visit family he can't wait to get back... That this is truly paradise on earth and what more could you have than to be right here?
I'm not a jealous or envious guy-- I've got a great life in Arizona. No ocean,tho... And no Betsy and no Paul either... Which is an explanation for why I have returned to South Beach and the Betsy in particular for the 5th time for my annual vacation.
From start to finish, the experience of the Betsy is memorable. From the art exhibits that change every year, my friends who open the door for me and remember my face from a year ago and say "welcome back!"-- And believe me, it's a really neat thing for business owners such as myself to see the stability in the staff... The same folks who took care of me last year are the same folks greeting me this year... And that speaks highly of the culture of caring and professionalism that has grown up in the finest establishment on Ocean.... When you realize that the people who work here love what they do for you, and it's not just a form of employment, then you've got an idea of what it's like, My wife Kathy and I are just regular folks with a little company in Arizona. It's nice to be a king and a queen for a little while and stay in this castle... I can't summon the words to thank all of the people at the Betsy who make the short time we can take away from our company to decompress and rejuvenate ourselves so wonderful. See you next September-- thanks again, Kirk and Kathy Buscho, of Phoenix Arizona

Room Tip: If you are here and have the opportunity to overlook Ocean, good for you! The view is great but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

on holiday with my wife from the uk, had the hotel recommended by the guys at destinology, and yet again they came up trumps. At the quiet end of ocean drive. got in late and had room service from the main restaurant BLT which was excellent.

The rooftop bar is great, although we didnt spend much time here. The staff are amazing and everything runs seamlessly. It is less brash and obvious that the W and such like. The concierge Paul ( the best of the three) was great. He recommended great restaurants and arranged a fishing trip for us. More importantly steered us away from where not to go.

The beach is a stones throw and the beach club is easy to use.

we will hopefully return..

thanks to everyone at the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The Betsy Hotel awakes your senses and makes you realize how amazing this beach hotel is.
I went today to a job interview with Ednon and I couldn't be more in love of this hotel as I am right now.
The great personality of the people who works there, starting by the marvillious syncronization of the two boys who opens the doors for you to enter the hotel, the elegance of the "always" smilling and corteous front desk agents, the magnificent view of the pool from the lobby, the profesionalism every single person shows at every single moments makes the Betsy Hotel stand out among all the hotels in South Beach.
I went for this job interview today and I'm dreaming of becoming part of this great team at The Betsy.
Thanks Ednon and Ed for such a great oportunity. It was a huge pleasure to meet part of the people that works hard everyday to make this amazing hotel be what it is today: a diamond in Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I went to SOBE for Labor Day Weekend and had a wonderful time. The Betsy is an old world charm hotel and the staff were incredibly helpful as you would expect. We watched the sunrise from the rooftop terrace which over looks Loomis Park and the beautiful beach, ocean, palm tree tops. The 80 minute massage my sister had at the rooftop spa was conducted by a massage therapist trained in myofascial massage. The outdoor swimming pool was pleasant. The location on Ocean Drive is about a 20 minute walk to Lincoln Road. We did not eat at BLT, but its reviews are good. Lastly, the room was nice and the bathroom was modern with Malin & Goetz products. Treat yourself and stay @ The Betsy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.