We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service from friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service from friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night on a quick visit to Miami from Orlando, and chose The Betsy for its obvious charm and location. I travelled with my husband and son and daughter, and had booked a double family room. On our arrival, I was greeted my a very helpful Emmanuel who gave me a glass of champagne while I booked in, and then found he was able to upgrade us to a suite. The room was lovely, and certainly made our stay extra special. The hotel amenities are good; the pool is quiet, the sun roof bar has amazing views, and the hotel arranges sun loungers, towels and umbrella while on the beach. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. My daughter and I took the early morning yoga class on the sunroof with Benjamin which was very relaxing and worth a go. My only fault is that it is expensive to eat there, but that is just Miami!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    272
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
253
709
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we checked in and we found a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room, due to my boyfriend birthday. staff was very friendly at checking. the lobby décor was excellent. we also found everything was so closed to the hotel ( clubs, shopping, beach across the street)

Room Tip: definitelg pool view room, super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to kick off our honeymoon and loved every minute!

The location is perfect, easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. The rooftop bar was stunning; for a while we were the only people there! Don't miss it. Our room overlooked the pool and it was stunning. The gym is also very nice.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We did have an extra charge post to our account that was not on our bill, but everyone we worked with was great and got it taken off about a week after it posted.

If you are in Miami, you shouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear LD Parrish,

I am happy to read that you had a great stay with us - romantic is our middle name, and the Betsy has hosted not only Honeymoons like yours, weddings themselves, renewals and other life events, but even a couple's anniversary who honeymooned here in 1951! Perhaps one day you can return for more celebration at the Betsy!

Best wishes,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The Betsy is a lovely boutique hotel that provided excellent service. The rooms, whilst quite small are well decorated and very clean. The beds are super comfy and the TV in the bathroom a luxurious touch.
The location is right across the road from the beach and is a lovely and lively place to be at night. The BLT restaurant had lovely food although I thought a little pricey.
I do feel the price you pay to stay at the Betsy is a little too much for the small size room you get and it also does not include breakfast where I think it probably should for the price you pay per night. I also think the $16 daily resort fee is also ridiculous and should all just be included in the nightly rate.
Other than that a lovely place and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Betsy last week and we were not disappointed. We were there 2 years ago and were so happy to go back.
First of all, the customer service was excellent. The front desk staff were so welcoming and helpful. All those who work there are very friendly and we appreciate that.
Once again, the BLT restaurant was amazing. We had three meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and all were excellent.
We highly recommend the Betsy.
Thank you to all for a wonderful experience! See you again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We only live an hour north but the get-a-way felt like we were wherever you dream about! We met "william p" and his wife on the beach one day so my comments are much like his. I loved the suite we stayed in. The decorations were very homey and comfortable.I spent the "rainy" times in the sitting room while my husband sat at the desk in the bedroom working on his computer...both very comfortable for what we needed to do. I don't think I'll ever stop talking about the bathroom TV...even took a picture to send to my friends! The beach attendants were friendly and alert to your needs...too bad the weather wasn't cooperating (that's Florida summer for you). If you go, you must see the Roof Top...it is a great place to relax, have a drink, watch the stars,or just CHILL OUT!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sherry R.,

Well I am sorry the weather didn't cooperate fully during your stay, but with great food and drinks, great books, good WiFi and always an interesting Guest or two in the lobby, one can always make the best of it! Glad that you did, and that you got a little beach time! We hope to see you again soon! Happy Anniversary again!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We suggest this amazing hotel, for all you needs during your holidays in miami:
Relax, elegance, cleaned,excellent food, best service. Beach in front, but also deck if you want stay in hotel.
Number one of course, because it is different from others hotel jn miami

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;