We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at The Betsy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying at The Betsy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our only regret is that our stay was too short (just one night). We would return to The Betsy without hesitation. It is a sophisticated and stylish hotel and one of the best we have enjoyed on our extensive travels. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Wish we could have used every aspect of the services there; we'll just have to go back another day!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the South Side just as requested and we enjoyed a marvellous night's slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    258
    88
    33
    12
See reviews for
225
672
59
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Once we found our way through the traffic of South Beach, arriving at the Betsy was like discovering an oasis of rest and comfort. The immediate welcome at our car door combined with the ease of checking in, were much appreciated by two travellers. The room was clean, very comfortable, and quiet. There were many special touches such as a selection of books in the room, and although we didn't figure out the benefit of having a TV screen in the bathroom mirror, it was an interesting idea.
There was a beautiful and very comfortable lounge area on the roof with a grand view of the ocean. The beach and walking paths were just across the road from the Betsy.
On the day of departure, we were encouraged to stay and use the common areas of the hotel to relax through the afternoon before heading to the airport. This was greatly appreciated and it felt like friends were asking us to stay longer at their home.
Most appreciated of all were the very friendly and helpful members of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Like the review of Hangon of July 15, mine and my husband’s experience was very similar, both the good and the bad. As has been noted in many accounts, The Betsy is a beautiful chic hotel that has a wonderful feel and vibe to it in the public spaces. The pool area is a delight, as is the roof terrace and lounge, the beach service is excellent, the staff are outwardly friendly however unfortunately in our experience that is where it ends.

We too arrived early at 12noon, were promised a call when our room was ready. By 2pm no call was received, we returned for an update and informed a message had been left, there was no trace of it. On entering our room, I immediately felt disappointed; it was clear little attention had been paid which became more apparent over the coming days. Most notably the large feature rug was not square to the room, at a significantly slant, as was the bedside cabinet, the bed was not dressed correctly. To add to this our suitcase arrived 19 minutes later after a call to reception to enquire where it was.

On closer inspection the tiny bathroom was not clean, there was mold (black & orange) in the shower which was in desperate need of a good clean and refurbishment; the control handle was broken and came off in my hand, a stained towel was in place. Over the 3 days, missing items included bed shams & throw, slippers, drinking water, shower cap, all of which made appearances on separate days but never together! The TV remote did not work, the batteries were corroded.

Despite an upgrade to a pool view room, noise was an issue too, if it was not the TV from the next room’s bathroom (so loud one morning I called reception to have it turned down), it was the staff change over at 7.00am at the office opposite or the footfall from the room above.

Complaints were made on day 2, again on our departure but absolutely nothing was done; we are yet to hear anything from the hotel despite a promise we would when we left over 2 weeks ago. (Details were given to the receptionist, our comment card was handed directly to the manager, Mr Lehman).

I am sorry but the Betsy as beautiful as it is, was a real let down and disappointment regardless of the exaggerated prices. To that end we did not use the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear TeamGB717 ,

I was surprised to read your unusual review - in particular, the lack of responsiveness from me was most unusual. I do my best to reach out to so many of our Guests, both on Tripadvisor and directly - it is one of the best parts of my role here at the Betsy! I must apologize if somehow, in addition to your very atypical visit, but from your review it seems as though our entire Guest relationship program is not working. We will certainly look into that, and I welcome your contacting me at the hotel directly so that we can get to the bottom of what happened here!

Sincerely,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I spent just one night at this charming, stylish and great looking hotel. The decor is just perfect, the ambiance buzzing but relaxing at the same time, the restaurant is exceptional but best of all are the staff who are friendly but authentic, helpful but discreet and just good fun to chat to as well. Ocean Drive is nuts (in a good way) but coming back to the Betsy feels like coming home at the end of a hectic day of work, shopping or sightseeing. I will make a point of coming back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Katwinka,

Thank you for your visit, and for your review! Our staff are indeed the key to our success - we are genuinely concerned about our Guests' needs and I was happy to read that you felt that. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time!

Best regards,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent the 4th of July holiday week at the Betsy which is always wonderful. The small hotel does everything well and continues to be an oasis at the quiet end of Ocean Drive in South Beach. I've stayed at a number of other properties both on Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue and nothing yet compares. The staff are always friendly and smiling and go out of their way to be helpful with anything that you might need. The rooms can be tight and only a few face out front but they are all very comfortable, well appointed and well maintained. The location is the best...directly across the street from the beach and midway between the fun and jumping part of Ocean Drive and the shops and restaurants of Lincoln Road. If I can help it, I will always stay at the Betsy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear AvidTraveler2324,

Thank you for your review, your loyalty, and of course your most recent visit that you wrote about! You are in good company with our ever-growing repeat Guests - we value your business, so be sure to always mention that you are a return Guest when you come back - you will have the best rates, upgrades when available and our loyalty to you as well to make your time in Miami Beach as special as possible!

Warm Regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I really wanted to like The Betsy. It sounded exactly like what my wife and I were looking for in our trip to South Beach, a quiet and elegant boutique hotel that would provide a refuge from the madness that is Ocean Drive during a holiday weekend. In many ways, The Betsy succeeds--it's a great looking Neo-Georgian facade that looks different than everything else in Miami Beach. Inside, there's a very cool vibe with a nice bar and large sitting area. The drinks were very pricy ($20 for a glass of Pinot Noir) but the jazz duo made for a pleasant way to unwind before heading out at night. The pool is very small, but it's also very private and was little used while we were there which suited us just fine. The rooftop area is very nice as well, particularly at night where the ocean breezes keep everything cool and hushed conversations take place in intimate seating areas. I even appreciated the photos of the first U.S. tours of the Rolling Stones and the Beatles that were on temporary display throughout the hotel.

The location of The Betsy is also very good, across from the beach and somewhat (but only somewhat) removed from the South Beach craziness. Guests of The Betsy get free use of towels, lounge chairs and beach umbrellas which makes sitting on a public beach feel private. The morning we spent sitting on the beach was our best morning at The Betsy.

Now the bad. Our "Master Suite" on the second floor was a tiny bedroom and a tiny sitting room with a small bathroom in between. The bedroom barely accommodated the king bed and the bathroom contained a single sink, toilet and shower. There was not enough counter space to unpack toiletries and I cannot recall ever staying in a "suite" that did not have a double sink in the bathroom to allow a couple to get ready simultaneously. The AC unit in the bedroom rattled loud enough to disturb sleep at least twice a night and the bedroom's windows faced the alley where garbage trucks roused us every other morning at 5:00 AM and continued banging and grinding for 20 minutes as the garbage for seemingly the entire block was dumped into the truck idling by our window. Also, the door to the suite opens to the bedroom while the closet for the suite is in the sitting area--in other words, reversed as to how it should be. At $400 a night, I think you have the right to expect better.

The housekeeping service was way below the standard of 4 star hotel, with a stained comforter on the bed when we arrived, stained towels delivered on the second day and no replacement of used body wash or shampoo. The final straw was a failure to clean the toilet on the second to last day of our stay. And yes, I tipped housekeeping every day except the last when I truly thought the service merited nothing.

On the subject of service, I have to mention that we arrived at 11:00 AM and requested an early check in. It would be unreasonable to expect such a request to be granted immediately particularly given The Betsy's late check out time of 1:00 PM. However, even though we were waiting since 11:00 there was evidently no effort made to have our room ready until the 4:00 PM regular check in. It is a small matter to rearrange a cleaning schedule on a hotel floor to have rooms ready for guests who are already on the property, but The Betsy either didn't wish to do so or was incapable of doing so. After checking our luggage and two hours of walking around Miami Beach in traveling clothes we returned to The Betsy to change into something more appropriate for the climate. However, instead of making an empty hotel room available for us, a minor accommodation that virtually every other hotel would offer, we were shown to the handicapped bathroom on the first floor to unpack our clothing, repack our street clothes and change. A miserable and humiliating experience made more so by the dim lighting and no chair on which to sit.

We ate at the restaurant, BLT Steak, twice--once for breakfast and once for dinner. The breakfast menu is pretty limited and expensive and the food merely passable but sitting on The Betsy's front porch in the morning looking out at the beach makes the experience worthwhile. Dinner was good and the wine list was impressive, but there are obviously better steak places in South Beach that are comparably priced. On both occasions, the service was spotty and was below the standard the prices would otherwise command.

So there it is. The Betsy has a lot going for it, but it needs to tackle its service issues at almost every level. I don't know what they can do about the size of the rooms and noise levels of the wing of the hotel in which we were in, but they may wish to reconfigure their suites or price them more appropriately. The whole experience was very disappointing, particularly since I was rooting for this little boutique hotel to deliver. But in the end, The Betsy falls short--its a classy establishment in a place that desperately needs a little class, but it just doesn't feel like a great luxury hotel.

We will not be returning to The Betsy even though business will be taking me to South Beach several more times this year.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool, not the alley. Unless you are actually disabled, see if they will p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Hangon,

Thank you for your recent visit, and your detailed review! I truly believe that the only way to coninually exceed expectations and improve what we do is to listen to the good and the not so good from our Guests - and your comments will certainly help me with that never ending mission. Both in terms of rooms and suites, we do have a great variety of sizes, configurations, and of course prices. At the Betsy, being a true, historic boutique hotel, no three of our rooms or suites are exactly alike. I look forward to your next visit, and hopefully to your allowing me to personally handle your stay to ensure that it is absolutely flawless!

Sincerely,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Betsy is not only a beautiful boutique hotel, its staffed with top notch service masters. Hopefully you'll be there on a day when Thomas, one of the hotel's porters, is working - he does his work above and beyond!
Waitstaff on the deck - another great service staff, and the food is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Sara E.,

Thank you for your visit - and the expression "service masters"! I greatly appreciate that, as the soul of hospitality is indeed in the passion to serve, to take care of each Guest as if they were a special family member coming home. Years ago, when I managed a housekeeping department in Los Angeles, I asked our Room Attendants to prepare each room as if their mother was coming for a visit! It's great that you felt our passion, and that of Thomas, too!

Best regards,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.