We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #8 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
denville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Betsy is not only a beautiful boutique hotel, its staffed with top notch service masters. Hopefully you'll be there on a day when Thomas, one of the hotel's porters, is working - he does his work above and beyond!
Waitstaff on the deck - another great service staff, and the food is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Sara E.,

Thank you for your visit - and the expression "service masters"! I greatly appreciate that, as the soul of hospitality is indeed in the passion to serve, to take care of each Guest as if they were a special family member coming home. Years ago, when I managed a housekeeping department in Los Angeles, I asked our Room Attendants to prepare each room as if their mother was coming for a visit! It's great that you felt our passion, and that of Thomas, too!

Best regards,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    319
    106
    38
    15
See reviews for
279
808
67
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything about this hotel was wonderful....the location, the staff, room, hotel, bar, and amenities

The location couldn't have been better...right across from the beach, Starbucks and bike rentals, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and before the crazy madness of the southern part of Ocean Drive...perfect!

The staff was magnificent! The staff couldn't have been nicer everywhere in the hotel....the doormen were so kind and loved that they were there too greeting us each time we left and returned! This hotel has a great feeling to it not only friendly but also very modern and classy!

The Beatles/Rolling Stones photographs throughout was a nice touch. I agree with the previous reviewer that it is a shame that they don't utilize the rooftop after dark, although staying there during off season we loved that we could go to the rooftop after dark and pretty much have it to ourselves, with soft music, comfortable seating, a wonderful ocean breeze and a lovely view...it may be very different during busy season.

Both the bar and restaurant were great! We found the bar and the entertainment two of the nights very pleasing...great music but not overwhelmingly loud so you could enjoy drinks and conversation at the same time. The bartender was amazing ! We ate dinner one evening at the BLT...outside seating which was wonderful to people watch...the food and service was wonderful...My only complaint is that the mashed potatoes were too soupy for my taste as I like more consistency to them but everything else was wonderful! Loved the popovers!

We had absolutely no problems in getting our two beach chairs with umbrellas any of the days that we were there and that was such a nice benefit...found all to be friendly and very accommodating.

We had a King Suite that didn't have a great view but we weren't there for the view from the windows and it couldn't have been more comfortable!

We can't wait to return and will only stay at the Betsy in South Beach!

Room Tip: King Corner suite was very roomy and sunny...not a great view but we weren't there for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Westiesruleyorkies2,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and your review! It always seems that the more time our Guests have to explore all that the Betsy ahs to offer, the better it gets - even with our staff, whom you so kindly call magnificent! With only 61 rooms and suites, we take great pride in really getting to know the Guests that are here at any given time. Please be sure to reach out to us directly next time, and we will ensure that your view matches all of your other feelings about the Betsy - it just gets better!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have just left The Betsy after a second visit - nothing has changed - it is still utterly delightful. The overriding reason for returning and recommending to British friends is the immaculate service. Prior to arriving Concierge Paul Dacq had headed up a full schedule of events - I travel worldwide and I have to say he is possibly one of the very best in the hotel industry - all his recommends were inspired. Rooms and facilities glorious - great location - and all in magnificent Miami! Stay nowhere but here.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room as bigger beds - I personally like rooms that overlook the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Deborah B.,

Thank you for your return visit and for your glowing review! Our many repeat Guests hold a special place in our hearts, as there is no more genuine compliment to us than to come back! I was glad to hear that our concierge Paul upheld his usual part of the deal with great service - and we look forward to your next visit almost as much as you do!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros:
- Location.
- Lovely rooms.
- Lovely common parts.
- Lovely staff, particularly at check-in.
- Great vibe - stylish whilst in the middle of the madness.

Cons:
- Shame they make no good use of the roof terrace after dark.
- Breakfast hostess had a bit of an attitude.

Overall, great place. This was my fifth stay in Miami Beach over 20 years (5 different hotels). This is the one I would go back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Edtealdi,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and your five star review! As a frequent traveler (and reviewer!), your words mean so much to me. I'm happy to read that you have found your home in South Beach - the only hotel you ever need to return to!

Warm Regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Immediately I stepped out of the taxi into the white light of the Betsy I felt we were somewhere special. The lobby was buzzing with life and the diners in BLT were tucking into their food with gusto - after travelling most of the day the restaurant was calling to me! However we checked out our room first which was charming - tastefully furnished in tones of white and vibrant green. The separate sitting area had interesting books which if we could have stayed longer I really could have enjoyed. The overall feel of the hotel is a calming colonial oasis in the middle of Miami madness. We ate in the BLT - I had the rosemary chicken which was wonderful
and then we moved on to the bar area where there was a girl singing accompanied by a pianist - the ambiance was delightful as were the Martinez's! It's a short walk to the beach where we were setup with comfy chairs and umbrella (fee $16 for the two of us for the day) . The roof top sitting area is lovely too - great views of the beach. The location was excellent and the staff were attentive - the manager sent us chocolate and coconut covered strawberries with a lovely note as a token for our wedding anniversary celebration. All in all a fantastic experience !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Ulsteron2ur,

I am so happy you chose to celebrate your 50th anniversary with us! With 42 reviews in the last 2 years, I can tell you have quite a bit of experience in travel - and it makes it that much more rewarding to read a review such as yours. The "white light of the Betsy", as you called it, is indeed something very unique, so many travelers feel the sense of timeless service and our passion for hospitality from the moment they arrive...and it just gets better after that! We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I love this hotel. It is beautiful, stylish and elegant without trying too hard or being stuffy. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the early morning yoga on the roof was a lovely touch. It is at the end of Ocean Drive away from the hustle and bustle which suited us perfectly and the beach is just a short walk. The restaurant is on the pricey side but the food was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear l0ttie75,

Thank you for your recent visit and your review! The last 3 reviews I have responded to have been from Guests from different parts of the U.K. - I sense a trend! You certainly found one of the treasures of the Betsy, our yoga on the Roof Deck, overlooking the rising sun on the Atlantic. I hope to see you again at the Betsy, next time you need a special getaway!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Huachuca, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I LOVED staying at the Betsy!!!! Stayed here on a couples trip when my husband came back from deployment, this hotel is so romantic considering its on the main strip but it away from all the noise! Location is the best!!!! Starbucks on the corner is a plus and a walk to the beach! I would definitely book this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Jessica J,

Thank you for your recent visit and your review! I would also be remiss if I didn't thank your husband (and you) for your service to our country! I was so pleased to read that we were able to provide the right spot for a romantic reunion. Stories like yours truly make the challenge of what we do on a day to day basis worth it! We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.