We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you want to stay on Ocean Dr.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only if you want to stay on Ocean Dr.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good location on Ocean Drive as it's at the north end so slightly more "quiet" than right in the middle. Rooms seem to have thin ceilings as we could pretty much hear every coming and going as the people above us. TV's should have a volume limit as we could perfectly hear the blaring one from the room next to us. GREAT roof top bar and lounge deck...beach chairs and towel service included which is great. Pool area is small but one day still took a little dip.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the top floor and towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    952
    267
    88
    31
    13
See reviews for
247
693
63
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at The Betsy in a Superior pool view room for three nights in April and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant which added to our stay. Do have a cocktail at the rooftop bar. This hotel is at the "quieter" end of Ocean View and the lovely beach is just across the road. Very enjoyable sitting outside with a drink just watching the world go by!

Room Tip: The pool view rooms were very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mungojerrycat,

Thank you very much for your visit and your kind words! Peace and quiet - from the poolside rooms and suites to our Zen-like Roof Deck with panoramic views - in the heart of the action of South Beach. The contrast is intense, and I am happy to hear that you noticed and appreciated! We look forward to your next visit when you are in South Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose TheBetsy for our stay at South Beach based on the fact it is a member of the SLH (small luxury hotels) group. We have stayed at a few of these around the world and have always been impressed with the decor, ambiance and service. They must have very strict criteria for hotels to become a member, because they are all great!
We were not disappointed, our 5 night stay was divine. We were upgraded to a suite, so had plenty of room to spread out. The restaurant, BLT was excellent, great service, delicious food. Expensive unless you select their 4 course special, and then it becomes quite cheap relative to other restaurants in South Beach.
Location is right at the end of all the Art Dec buildings, but its classier than the rest. Definitely a cut above the rest. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Porters051,

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write your review. We have so many Guests from Australia these days - I was happy to read that you had such a great time! As you mention, the criteria for SLH [Small Luxury Hotels] is challenging, and we relish the challenge of being the best of almost 200 hotels in this area. We look forward to seeing you again at the Betsy!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent three nights at The Betsy in April 2013 and in general we liked it, but: (1) you don't really get much with the Ocean view and it maybe a little bit noisy; (2) why the air-conditioning almost always (in many hotels) is directed at the bed?? Besides, it was not always working as it was supposed to (it should have turn off and on depending on the temperature, but it was not doing it right always). The room was even smaller than I expected. But let's speak about positive: (1) the location is great (across the street from the beach and the ocean); (2) service is very good, helpful and effective; (3) BLT Steak is great (apparently, especially steaks, but I liked lobster salad as well). So all in all it was not bad at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear maxim_bobin,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to post your review. As a senior reviewer, your input is valuable and welcomed! I appreciate your putting the comments in the context of the good aspects of the hotel - and welcome you to try one of our larger suites on your next visit (almost half of our rooms are suites). Our repeat Guest list is growing and growing, and I hope to count you on that list with your next visit to Miami Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. While the rooms are typically small for a hotel of this vintage, it has been updated and brought current in a very fun and hip way. It is in a great location in the heart of South Beach with wonderful restaurant and bar. I especially enjoyed eating al fresco on the front patio while people watching.

Room Tip: Visit the roof top if you have time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jerry C.,

Thank you for your return visit, and for your review. You and I share the enjoyment of people watching from the terrace on Ocean Drive - it is the best in the City! We look forward to your returns - and be sure to mention when you book that you are a repeat Guest, to ensure that you always have access to the best the Betsy has to offer!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent months talking to the reservation people planning my birthday celebration for myself and several family members & friends. I found communication, while seemingly pleasant, they were not able to meet or follow through with even the smallest of requests. Communication between the staff and computers was dismal. Room pricing was inconsistant. Upon returning home I supplied them with a list of issues we encountered and no effort was made to resolve any of them. Good location and pretty building. Hotel service was non-exsistent to spotty. Service in the restaurant was good. I would not reccommend it, way overpriced. I expected and thought it was going to be totally different. A dissapointing 70th Birthday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. T.,

I was sorry to read your review about your 70th birthday group back in March. It is sad to hear that we did not meet our goal of 100% satisfaction, try as we did. We had so many people at the hotel working on this stay for you - it just seemed that with all of the requests for changes that happened before your family arrived, and during the stay, that we were not able to make you happy, and for that I am sad. As I offered in my follow up letter to you, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to have you experience the Betsy as most do - seemless service, no request to big. I hope one day soon you give us the opportunity to do so.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

SESAC is proud to have The Betsy Hotel as our preferred home away from home in Miami for our SESAC Family (staff and affiliates). The location and the hotel staff is the best in South Beach. Delicious eats at BLT, meeting over a drink in the lobby bar while listening to fantastic music and surrounded by fabulous artwork, or the luxury of having your private cabana type service on the beach is all what The Betsy is known for! The rooms are beautifully decorated and nice size for SOBE. When in Miami stay at our casa your casa...The Betsy Hotel simply the best and better than all the rest!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear ARed3,

Thank you for taking the time tp write your review of the Betsy. We value our corporate accounts, especially SESAC, very much, and with a small hotel like the Betsy, we strive to give the personal, detailed and often last minute attention that the business traveler needs. We remain at your service, and look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.