We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Art Deco boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Luxury Art Deco boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose TheBetsy for our stay at South Beach based on the fact it is a member of the SLH (small luxury hotels) group. We have stayed at a few of these around the world and have always been impressed with the decor, ambiance and service. They must have very strict criteria for hotels to become a member, because they are all great!
We were not disappointed, our 5 night stay was divine. We were upgraded to a suite, so had plenty of room to spread out. The restaurant, BLT was excellent, great service, delicious food. Expensive unless you select their 4 course special, and then it becomes quite cheap relative to other restaurants in South Beach.
Location is right at the end of all the Art Dec buildings, but its classier than the rest. Definitely a cut above the rest. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Porters051,

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write your review. We have so many Guests from Australia these days - I was happy to read that you had such a great time! As you mention, the criteria for SLH [Small Luxury Hotels] is challenging, and we relish the challenge of being the best of almost 200 hotels in this area. We look forward to seeing you again at the Betsy!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    278
    89
    35
    13
See reviews for
260
731
67
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent three nights at The Betsy in April 2013 and in general we liked it, but: (1) you don't really get much with the Ocean view and it maybe a little bit noisy; (2) why the air-conditioning almost always (in many hotels) is directed at the bed?? Besides, it was not always working as it was supposed to (it should have turn off and on depending on the temperature, but it was not doing it right always). The room was even smaller than I expected. But let's speak about positive: (1) the location is great (across the street from the beach and the ocean); (2) service is very good, helpful and effective; (3) BLT Steak is great (apparently, especially steaks, but I liked lobster salad as well). So all in all it was not bad at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear maxim_bobin,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to post your review. As a senior reviewer, your input is valuable and welcomed! I appreciate your putting the comments in the context of the good aspects of the hotel - and welcome you to try one of our larger suites on your next visit (almost half of our rooms are suites). Our repeat Guest list is growing and growing, and I hope to count you on that list with your next visit to Miami Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. While the rooms are typically small for a hotel of this vintage, it has been updated and brought current in a very fun and hip way. It is in a great location in the heart of South Beach with wonderful restaurant and bar. I especially enjoyed eating al fresco on the front patio while people watching.

Room Tip: Visit the roof top if you have time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jerry C.,

Thank you for your return visit, and for your review. You and I share the enjoyment of people watching from the terrace on Ocean Drive - it is the best in the City! We look forward to your returns - and be sure to mention when you book that you are a repeat Guest, to ensure that you always have access to the best the Betsy has to offer!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent months talking to the reservation people planning my birthday celebration for myself and several family members & friends. I found communication, while seemingly pleasant, they were not able to meet or follow through with even the smallest of requests. Communication between the staff and computers was dismal. Room pricing was inconsistant. Upon returning home I supplied them with a list of issues we encountered and no effort was made to resolve any of them. Good location and pretty building. Hotel service was non-exsistent to spotty. Service in the restaurant was good. I would not reccommend it, way overpriced. I expected and thought it was going to be totally different. A dissapointing 70th Birthday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. T.,

I was sorry to read your review about your 70th birthday group back in March. It is sad to hear that we did not meet our goal of 100% satisfaction, try as we did. We had so many people at the hotel working on this stay for you - it just seemed that with all of the requests for changes that happened before your family arrived, and during the stay, that we were not able to make you happy, and for that I am sad. As I offered in my follow up letter to you, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to have you experience the Betsy as most do - seemless service, no request to big. I hope one day soon you give us the opportunity to do so.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

SESAC is proud to have The Betsy Hotel as our preferred home away from home in Miami for our SESAC Family (staff and affiliates). The location and the hotel staff is the best in South Beach. Delicious eats at BLT, meeting over a drink in the lobby bar while listening to fantastic music and surrounded by fabulous artwork, or the luxury of having your private cabana type service on the beach is all what The Betsy is known for! The rooms are beautifully decorated and nice size for SOBE. When in Miami stay at our casa your casa...The Betsy Hotel simply the best and better than all the rest!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear ARed3,

Thank you for taking the time tp write your review of the Betsy. We value our corporate accounts, especially SESAC, very much, and with a small hotel like the Betsy, we strive to give the personal, detailed and often last minute attention that the business traveler needs. We remain at your service, and look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at The Betsy in March, 2013. It was absolutely an amazing experience. We had stayed at hotels such as The W, South Beach before and we found that this was our most preferred hotel.
The hotel is very cool, yet very warm. That is a difficult balance to achieve. The staff is absolutely great. They cater to your needs right away and are very attentive.
The location is best there is. The hotel is at the edge of Ocean Drive, right at the heart of S. Beach. 3 blocks from Lincoln Avenue; on Ocean Drive, however not busy and loud. There is a big park right outside that makes it quieter.
The restaurant is very good. The seafood we had there was better than the one we had at Nobu.
Rooms are not big, but have everything you need.
Strongly recommend everyone to stay here.
Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear TravelerCHIST,

Thank you for your visit, and your excellent review! I am so happy to hear that we made your stay in Miami Beach so enjoyable. As you mentioned, no visit to the Betsy is really complete without a meal at BLT Steak - I was happy to see that you had a good time there, too! I'm not sure how often you journey from Istanbul to Miami - but we are honored to be your home whenever you do!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stay here for a few days every year. "We" being myself, my wife, and twin 8 year old boys. The Betsy offers cleanliness, courteous service, and immediate access to the beach. Its close enough to the rambunctious part of Ocean Drive for the adults to have fun, but far enough away for the kids to be shielded. BLT is a great restaurant (for meat lovers) and the cocktails in the lobby are tasty and unique. The Betsy stands out for ts charm, sophistication, and quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.