We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at the Betsy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at the Betsy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Betsy for MLK weekend. We loved it.

-were upgraded to a one bed suite... very nicely furnished, comfortable bed... facing the water. was a little loud, but manageable (we live in NYC).
-BLT Steak and bar were great. We ate at the bar, had fantastic service... sushi was fresh and yummy and drinks were well prepared. We had brunch outside on Monday and it was a great spot to watch the world go by.
-Roof deck -- was very quiet the weekend we were there, but a perfect place to read a book and relax.
-Spa: got a pedicure... was cold and outside. The service was nice (they wrapped me in blankets!) but was odd that there wasn't an indoor option. If you are looking for a spa day, I'd suggest you go to a bigger hotel with a full spa experience.
-Pool: small and in courtyard. If you are looking for a big pool with sun and people watching, this isn't the place.
-Beach: a short walk across the street... had chairs and towels available, but no drink/food service. Was fine for us, but something good to know ahead of time.
-Location: was fantastic. Walking distance to lots of great places, but quiet enough to be out of the fray if you chose.

Would highly recommend the Betsy.... it is pricey, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    257
    83
    31
    12
See reviews for
226
678
60
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week as part of Florida holiday in Sept 2012 and loved every minute. The Betsy Service is fantastic and really made our first trip to Miami memorable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The welcome note and complimentary bottle of wine on arrival was a really pleasant surprise and much appreciated. The hotel is situated at a quieter end on Ocean Drive but only minutes walk from all the main action so you have the benefit of being able to walk everywhere to enjoy the nightlife but then are far enough away to get a good night sleep when you return. The hotel breakfast was average and could be improved with a better offering of more fresh fruit and cereal rather than warmed pastries however don't let this put you off as the hotel itself and Miami more than make up for this. Be sure to book a trip on The Thriller high speed boat ride when you are in Miami, it's amazing and the views spectacular.

Room Tip: Check Hotel's own website for rooms, we had a pool view room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a lovely boutique hotel!! We stayed at the Betsy for three nights this past week and loved it.

It's a beautiful beach front hotel located in the famous architectural district of Miami. At first sight the rooms appear small and cramped but once you settle in you realize that there is plenty of space in the room. The rooms are beautifully designed with lots of closet space. The decor is all white with a touch of color like green or orange. Everything is color coordinated and very comfortable.

I loved the attention to detail in the room. It was very well planned and comfortable. The best part was the small personal In-Room Library with autographed books by major writers. In fact the hotel is so committed to Arts and philanthropy that they have a separate writer's room.

The marble bathrooms are well stocked with (MALIN+GOETZ) luxury apothecary bath amenities.

The hotel itself if small but very cozy and well maintained. The staff is excellent! I'd like to give a shout-out to Paul from the concierge who was excellent and helped us with various dining reservations. Thank you Paul! The housekeeping was very helpful and prompt too. They did provide us with extra slippers, toothpaste and bandage when needed.

The hotel itself has a lovely roof deck facing the Atlantic ocean. One can enjoy the beautiful sunset stretched on a chaise lounge. They do have a private pool and a spa for pure relaxation. The hotel is located beachfront on Ocean Drive at 14th Street and offers beach attendant service to provide chairs and umbrellas. If you are a guest at the hotel you get 2 chairs and an umbrella on the beach for free.

Thursday evenings they have live music in the lounge. We sipped some wine and enjoyed a game of chess while listening to the band.

The BLT steak is an excellent restaurant at the hotel. We dined three times on separate occasions. The Brunch was delicious. They have the biggest French toast I have ever eaten. It's HUGE and delicious! All the meals were scrumptious and left us very happy and content.

My favorite part about this hotel are the wonderful black and white photographs of the Beatles band. Adorning the walls of the hotel are these lovely photographs of the band taken in their early years. They are simply beautiful and add a special touch!

I am very satisfied with my stay at the hotel and will highly recommend it. Needless to say I will come back for more!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Shrutikapoor,

I am so happy that you were able to indulge in so much of what we have created here at the Betsy - it always warms my heart to read how our efforts are noticed, and we will be honored to have you return! We have special offers available exclusively for our repeat guests; our reservations department can always fill you in on those when you ready!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not so much to say about the well-respected Betsy:

Pros:
The atmosphere of the Betsy is priceless and you will really feel at home very quickly but to illustrate the feeling:
-over the top service at the BLT, good food even for the breakfast (best madeleines ever on Sobe!!)
-very very accommodating staff of the Hotel, super concierge (I got an unexpected jet ski tour from them… really unexpected!),
-free fast wi-fi,
-small but intimate swimming pool,
-fantastic roof-top,
-awesome wine and cocktails selection at the bar,
-books at the bar and in rooms give it away… this hotel is for savvy and open minded people
-nice rooms although quite small.

Cons:
-Expensive but when you think though its pricing its quite cheap compared to its competitiors in standing (Ritz, Setai, Delano…) which are consistently more expensive and much less sophisticated

In a nutshell TOP NOTCH hotel on Ocean Drive one block away from its craziness.

Pricey but if you strike a good deal it is a MUST – if you cannot afford it there is numerous fall back options but try to stay at Betsy one night you might fall in love ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to the Betsy with my mother for two nights in October. It was a wonderful hotel - the service was great, and the hotel was very elegant and had a lovely atmosphere. Our room was a classic double - clean, super comfortable beds and just enough space. The location was great and only a short walk from Lincoln Road, Collins Avenue etc. However, I feel that it wasn't worth the money. I'm not a fussy traveller at all, but compared to other hotels in the same area that are cheaper and, in my opinion, just as good or even better, it cost a lot more than it should have. Also, when we booked the hotel the price was about $500 (for two nights), but when we arrived we were told that the full price of our stay was nearly $1000 - twice the price we first were told it would be! We agreed to pay anyway, but it definitely cost more than it was worth - at least to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Betsy and just wish we could have stayed longer. Brilliant location, very helpful friendly staff, roof terrace is lovely.

A very calm hotel in the middle of manic South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

So far our stay at the Betsy has been great. On-line the rooms look a lot bigger but overall the hotel is nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The BLT restaurant was great but again pricey. You cant beat the location, right across from the beach. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.