We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all around very positive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
new haven, usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“all around very positive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - the room we stayed in had everything we needed . The room was clean . The lobby was nice, breakfast was good and the waitstaff was polite and very service oriented. We were interested in spa services but chose to go elsewhere because the weather was cool and the idea of a massage on the roof was not appealing.
We were on the 3rd floor in the back which was nice except that on several days garbage trucks made a lot of noise early in the morning - but it did not last too long.
We had dinner at BLT one night we were there - it was amazing...expensive but really, really good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    334
    112
    40
    15
See reviews for
299
847
70
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing. Loved the decor. Loved the look/feel of the hotel. Staff was great. Hotel was clean. Great location. Rooms were BIG - well worth the cost. We used the hotel tonight app, and booked this hotel same day we checked in. Amazing.
2 reasons why this didnt get a 5 star rating from me:

1. We booked spa treatments for Saturday at 5PM.. yes a cold front was coming thru and yes we knew it was a bit windy and that it was getting cool out. The Betsy I'm guessing doesnt have a back up spa option for inclement weather. With that said, we laid half naked on the roof, with 25 mile an hour winds, and dropping temps while 2 massage therapists gave us what was supposed to be a deep tissue massage, with their cold hands and sniffling noses for one hour. Enjoyable and relaxing - no. Sadly, this was not a relaxing, or romantic spa treatment, that my husband and I were so hoping for for our anniversary.

2 - We were in room 105. What was great about this room was that it was furthest from the lobby - which housed BLT and at night it was pretty noisy so it was nice to be so far from there. Downfall of this - was a staff door right outside our room - starting at the crack of dawn (it was still dark out) - they were going in and out of this door, and you could hear it slam in our room, which kept us up all night/morning.

Again would these things deter us from staying here again - no way. We loved it - just really disappointed in the spa, so be mindful of that when booking! (check your weather :) Figures when we are there, we get the bad weather! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lets start by the Positives...

We arrived and the check in was easy and the front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. They told us because we were a member of small luxury hotel we could have a late check out (our plane wasn't till 6pm).

The room was cute and had everything we needed, the baggage guy went through everything with us, how the hotel room worked and opening and closing time of the restaurant etc.

The food in the BLT restaurant is very good, of course the meat is fantastic, but they also do a sushi menu, the sushi is also really good.

The cleanliness of the hotel and the bedroom was amazing, super clean and always neat. They come in the evening to do a turn down service (which for me put them on the 5 star rating).

The waiter at the bar one night was very nice, talkative and always happy and smiling.

Now for the not so good areas.

The only staff that were nice were the front desk, the baggage guys and one guy behind the bar one night. Everyone else didn't want to help, didn't smile and even didn't say hello to us when we sat down or wanted to order.

The restaurant in the hotel has great food, but it is let down by the service. They are slow and we were waiting 40 minutes for our food to come out (the starter). The staff are rude and don't care.
The lady who site the people in the restaurant never smiled and looked miserable. It was like she didn't want to be there. One night we wanted to stay in the hotel and asked if there were tables available inside or outside, she was rude and just said NO. We went outside and there were 4 table free of 2 persons. We didn't argue and went for dinner somewhere else. We got back 1 hour later and these tables still had no one sat at them.

Lastly the concierge. There are 3 different people on the concierge changing at different times of the day. The first Lady was very nice and tried to help, but she came across as she didn't really know what she was doing. The second guy was lovely, smiling, happy and wanted to do as much as possible to help. The last guy was just terrible, rude, arrogant and when we went to the front desk to ask something he came up and got straight in our personal space saying he would help... Not nice.

All in all, if the service was sorted out I would defiantly come back to this hotel, but as the service how it is i would try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go on the side of the pool - very quiet and can get a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed two exquisite nights at The Betsy. The reservation staff, all the way up to the General Manager, Mr. Lehman, confirmed and ensured our requested weekend arrival dates to celebrate my wife's birthday. There was a hand written card expressing the hotel's warm wishes, accompanied by a complimentary bottle of champagne. The hotel is beautiful. We enjoyed a suite, which was elegantly decorated. Accommodations, service, friendliness; all were first class!
The location was perfect. Everything within walking distance. Chairs and service was provided across the street on the beach. I would not stay anywhere else in the South Beach area. We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: We requested the 3rd floor location, which was quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved the Besty! Great location, great rooms, great buzz. Breakfast on the terrace at the front of the hotel was cool. Great things to eat and to see as the world walks, jogs and runs past in various outfits and with various animals.

A colonial feel, muted shades and dark wood - for when you tire of the art deco colours and lights that South Beach is famous for.

Not all rooms can face the ocean - and we had a cute junior suite (upgrade free as SLH members) which had a decent - not large - bedroom and a great little dressing room / sitting room. All the amenities you would expect.

Very helpful staff - got my iPhone and iPad working with their wifi - no problems! Oh, yes FREE wifi!

BLT STEAK is the hotel restaurant - good food, simply presented and great service - just what you would expect. (BLT does not stand for bacon lettuce and tomato but in fact Bistro Laurent Tourondel!). http://www.zagat.com/r/blt-steak-miami-beach

Cab from airport a fixed city rate - well priced and quick.

We booked the hotel through the SLH web site with the lowest price guarantee. As it happens we saw a lower price a little later and SHL kept the guarantee and the hotel even discounted the room further as an apology. As we say above we even got the SLH upgrade too.

Recommend - book via SLH the guarantee is real.
http://www.slh.com/destinations/americas/usa/miami-beach/the-betsy-hotel/

Room Tip: Try a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We picked The Betsy for a stop-over night enroute to the Caribbean. The staff were amazing and very welcoming. The hotel is just a 20 - 25 minute taxi ride from the airport and is ideally situated so that even if you only have one evening to spare, you can enjoy the beach, stroll along Ocean Drive, enjoy the Art Deco of the neighbourhood, do some shopping and have some fabulous restaurants to choose from. We were made to feel so important that we contacted the front desk manager on our return through Miami and he was able to accomodate our one night request at a reasonable rate. We were made to feel like valued returning guests rather than another traveller looking for a good deal. On both occasions our rooms were great - one looking over a side street and one looking over the pool. We enjoyed a drink at the roof top bar and had one breakfast which was included in our room rate. The breakfast was not huge - pastries and fruit - but enough to get the day underway. Would definitely recommend the Betsy to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We've just returned to the UK after a week long stay at The Betsy. Overall our experience was great, everything we wanted in a relaxing holiday at a top class hotel and we've tried others in Miami in previous years. Highlights are the staff who are warm, welcoming, polite and friendly. We felt that our business was important to the hotel, not just another corporate guest or weekender passing through.
Our room was a second floor poolside suite. Very comfortable, quiet, well equipped and always immaculately serviced. On balanced, I think I would have preferred an ocean view, perhaps not as quiet but more to see.
We dined once in the restaurant in the evening. Food was very competent and reliable, service excellent. But for us it lacked a little imagination and relied heavily on its well sourced large protein dishes of steak and fish. Not much finesse but very well executed. Lunches were much more pleasurable with the sushi being top class, especially the coconut macadamia shrimp roll - delicious.
Staff and management are keen to ensure you are happy and well looked after. We could not fault their attention and the competence of all the staff.
If I could make a couple of constructive suggestions they would be:
- Make the bar much more lively and more of a destination point. With the exception of the chap from India, the bartenders were dull and lacking imagination. On our first night we were categorised as Brits who would want a white wine and a G&T - far from it!
- include a note with turn down showing the following day's weather, restaurant specials, spa offers, recommended trips, cultural opportunities etc.
- get the staff to know longer stay guests' names and use them. A personal touch is always appreciated.
- don't let the Concierge over promise and under deliver.
The above might sound negative, it's not meant to be - far from it. Overall we had a great stay and would not hesitate to return to the Betsy and recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Poolside are quiet but you can't see the sky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.