We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arts and cultural programs are world class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Arts and cultural programs are world class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Two evenings of jazz, an afternoon recital of African-American traditional and Broadway spirituals written by Jewish composers on MLK day surrounded by newly discovered photos of the Beatles and Rolling Stones' early days in a beautifully designed tropical lobby/salon surpassed all expectations. This weekend will forever raise my standards for first class hotel destinations. Met Ms. Deborah Plutzik Briggs who curates the arts program and events - a brilliant differentiator to attract the discerning guest who seeks expansive cultural experiences during their travels. Doormen and staff were consistently welcoming, helpful and eager.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear FPH1,

Thank you for your visit last month, and for taking the time to write your review of the Betsy. In particular, it was great to read your response to our cultural programming - these aspects of the hotel are laboriously and lovingly curated - and we get great response to them, although not all the time in TripAdvisor. Stay tuned, more is coming, each and every month at the Betsy! If you are not already receiving our monthly Arts Email, please let me know and I will be happy to add you to the growing list!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    953
    267
    88
    31
    13
See reviews for
246
694
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I don't know about other hotels but Betsy was just awesome. The rooms were Higenenic, neat, well
prepared with readable books, and the staffs are very supportive. The hotel has a beautiful pool and extra service on the beach right in front of the hotel.Very convinently located in front of the south beach with coconut grooves in front and easy to get to the city airport . The restaurant has some amazing food options. The most interesting and distinctive aspect of Betsy is its consciousnesses towards mature art and culture. Art shows, presentations, performance, conferences makes it really different form the rest. Supporting young artists and giving them a chance to perform is another appreciative effort. Wishing Betsy Hotel and the Betsy Family with best wishes.

Room Tip: I din't try the SPA so I don't know how to rate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Unni K,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to see that you had a good time while at the Betsy, taking advantage of how much more we have to offer than many hotels, while retaining our intimate, friendly ambiance! We truly believe that the arts are a transformative force in the community, and support the existing and emerging arts world in Miami Beach quite strongly!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have stayed at various hotels in South Beach including the Ritz and Loews. The Betsy is the absolute best and sets the standards for the others. The entire staff makes you feel like family. Thomas at curb reception stands out but all (Front Desk, House Keeping, Concierge, Deck Service, Wait Staff) are terrific. BLT is superb. The decor is just right. What could be better than The Betsy?

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear William C.,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review. I alway know when Guests have found the true power of the Betsy when they mention the staff by name, as you have. Our team here is very dedicated to the spirit of hospitality - and it is always good to hear when we have hit our desired mark! We look forward to your return visits in the future - our Repeat Guest list is growing and growing!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Betsy based on other reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. Although the room and bathroom were small, they were well decorated and very comfortable. The hotel staff were fabulous and extremely helpful especially Johnson on the roof deck bar and Ed at the concierge desk. The rooftop bar is really a great place to hang out, have a cocktail, relax and enjoy the ocean views. We ate two meals at the BLT and those were really excellent as well, especially dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Kit V.,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to write your review. You mention TripAdvisor as the reason you chose us - it is so satisfying to read so many positive reviews, often from very different viewpoints. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable experience the Betsy yourself, and we look forward to welcoming you back, again and again...

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for the third time since we loved everything about the hotel. Perfect beachside location, friendly and efficient staff, well decorated, clean rooms. Food and drinks are pricey but to be expected in this area of Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Marsha (Toronto),

Thank you for your loyalty and for coming back again and again! Whenever Toronto gets too cold, or you just need a dose of Southern hospitality, we are here for you! We look forward to your next visit - please feel freet oreach out to me dirctly to book your next stay!

Warm [Sunny!] regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel in a superb location. It has the makings of a world class establishment (curb appeal, neighborhood presence, decor, quaint set up, and small size). There were employees who went overboard with commitment to excellence (Thomas M from Curb Reception, and Luciano from Front Desk), whom you really feel understand how special this hotel is and it shows in their connection with the guests. There was a noisemaker in the room and should have been a tipoff. We were awaken at 7:10 on Sunday with a garbage truck which seemed loud enough to be inside our room, lasted for 15 minutes, and left. Front Staff said, "yes we are aware of the problem and..." . Had we been warned of this, even with same occurrence, might have had a different response. Also, the BLT staff do not have the same level of commitment and that dining experience too had tremendous potential for a memorable event, but it was dulled by poor service and aloof staff. I would love to stay there in two years as I would imagine that with enough feedback, these quirks will correct themselves.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in back- avoid if on Sunday (trash day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Vasdoc,

Thank you for your review, and for pointing out so many of the up-sides of staying at the Betsy! I do apologize for the noise you experienced - we work with the City and our neighbors on mitigating that as much as possible - it is sporadic at most, but once is too often! Regarding your comment about BLT I regret that you did not seem to have a typical experience there - the restaurant itself is rated (independent of the hotel) on Tripadvisor in the top 3% of more than 550 restaurants in Miami Beach - but we seem to have dropped the ball with you. I do apologize for that, and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you. Please reach out to me anytime in the future and I will be happy to personally make your ararngements, and ensure that your stay or your meal is flawless!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at The Betsy before boarding a 10 day cruise. The cruise was great, but our stay at The Betsy provided our best memories. The hotel enjoys a great location, wonderful architecture, beautifully decorated rooms and public spaces, and a great restaurant. Will never forget the meal and the scene dining outside at BLT Steak! We are returning in February for to celebrate Diane's birthday. Diane and Peter Issel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Diane & Peter,

It was great having you here, and we too are looking forward to your return in a couple of weeks. Days are in the balmy 80's every day lately - and your room is waiting for you! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.