We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Super Cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lovely small boutique hotel in the heart of it all in South Beach. Lovely rooms with white decor. Great scene outside with cafe tables/umbrellas for the amazing people watching. Only one really small elevator. Bathroom is small - shower with half glass door flooded. Had to mop up water. :( Staff was attentive. Great for couples who don't want to be in the crazy South Beach scene.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Lori,

Thank you for your kind words - we really do strive to be the most attentive staff that you can find in Miami Beach, whether you are booked in a standard room or a Royal Suite. We sincerely appreciate your business and appreciate the opportunity to help you have the best possible Miami Beach experience!

Until next time,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    853
    239
    77
    33
    12
See reviews for
204
616
55
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The review Edwink123 posted on Jan 2nd 2013 is a very accurate description of the hotel and it is indeed an "overpriced boutique hotel without personal touch". Besides being a noisy place, the staff is unfriendly and not client-oriented, to say the least! We made a reservation and paid for two nights but our stay in Miami had to be shortened. We informed the desk upon arrival but they refused to refund us one night. On top of it, we forgot something in the room and we called the next morning from New York in order to make sure that we could have it sent or picked up by someone, they simply could not get into the room because someone was staying in it! We therefore asked again to be refunded since clearly it was not a loss for them... to this date, we are still waiting for a phone call for the manager. Clearly, we will never go back. We actually went back to Miami and stayed at the Setai Hotel which we highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Helenefk,

Thank you for your recent visit with us. I am sorry that you had to leave early, and that we did not effectively explain the situation with your lost item and early departure charge. I would be happy to do so personally if you would like to reach out to me at the hotel. We take our Guests and our uniquely high levels of service very personally and very seriously at the Betsy, as most of our reviews indicate. In those rare occasions where we do full short - yes, it can happen to the best of us! - we sincerely make every effort possible to regain your trust. Again, I do hope you will reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just back from 4 fabulous nights at the Betsy. We were extremely early for our check in but were warmly greeted and found check-in smooth and simple. From our first interaction with Robert at the front door, to the concierge(s), turn down service, a great restaurant and bar, drinks on the roof with fine service by Johnson, and super easy access to the beach and included amenities on the beach -we found our stay just about perfect. We complimented the front desk on the hotel's welcoming and comfort for folks our age (55+) which was perfect! We weren't sure how we'd feel being on South Beach but it is the perfect spot! We did upgrade our room upon arrival to a pool side room and it was very quiet at all times (even though located on first floor). Can't think of anything that was missing. The entire staff are cordial and always welcoming! Valet service are definite 'hustlers' working hard to please. Housekeeping was great as well. Obviously I'm finding it hard to find any fault. We used the front desk for a few business services and they couldn't have been more accommodating. Restaurant may have been our best dinner while on vacation. Returned for lunch the next day. All in all, I hope we'll have the chance to return. ( We did not use the spa or breakfast/room service and only downgraded the room a bit because of it's size which really can't be helped in a boutique hotel such as this and the small dimension of the bathroom sink/shower.) We loved it!

Room Tip: Though on the first level, room 103 was lovely and quiet, looking out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Travelin1Pa,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to write your review. I was happy to read that you had such a splendid time - indeed, when staying in our Pool View rooms and suites it is hard to imagine that Ocean Drive is just steps away. Good design idea 70 years ago! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter is getting married on the Roof deck of the Betsy Hotel in June 2013. During our recent visit to the Betsy, we had the best experience you could ever imagine in the planning of this upcoming special day. We had to fit many appointments into a 24 hour period and all went beautifully, thanks to suggestions and coordinating assistance from the staff of the Betsy. Our accommodations were very comfortable as well. We thank you, Debra, Julie and others who made our stay warm and welcome and our planning very productive. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Cp0205,

Thank you for choosing the Betsy for your daughter's wedding! We are quite excited to be the center stage for such an important date. I'm glad that Deborah and Julie were able to assist on this visit, and both will be here through the big day! We have had 2 weddings on our roof deck in the last couple of weeks - it is such a romantic, magical setting. We will see you soon!

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is such a classy, well run, beautiful hotel.

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip to America In July 2012. I could not find anything to fault this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and polite, and the room was just gorgeous - very new england meets miami chic! We only stayed a few nights but wish we had stayed longer. Would definitely go back and would recommend anyone to stay there.

In addition the location is perfect for South Beach, we walked along the beach front taking in the bright art deco lighting of hotels further down the front most nights. Miami South Beach is perfect for night life and lovely food - but 3 days was enough! Unless you explore wider Miami city etc... but we stayed mainly by the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Eleanor B,

Thank you for your visit, and for making us a part of such a memorable trip! I'm happy that you enjoyed the hotel - thank you for saying we are the best! There really are limitless possibilities for things to do in South Beach and beyond - perhaps you will celebrate your 1st year anniversaty and let us plan your return for you!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent six nights at the Betsy. The staff in general is very friendly and competent. The suite we were staying in was very nice and calm (pool view) except that there is no door between the bedroom and the living room where our children were sleeping. The beach is just across the road. There's a lot of things you can do by walking. The breakfast (not included) was very good. The only problem we had was with the restaurant. It was a very busy week and we were able to book a table only on the last night. We should have been informed when we checked in that it's better to book a table in advance but we weren't. And there are two ladies who are not very friendly and smiley, even haughty. The food at the BLT is really very good. We loved that the hotel was small. The roofdeck is really nice and the bartender up there is very friendly and funny. We will definitively go back at the Betsy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear stephmout,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that our restaurant, BLT Steak, was not better able to accomodate your schedule. We really go into high gear at this time of the year and it can be tough to get a table - but we always try to make our hotel Guests a high priority. Now that you are part of our growing family of returning Guests (I hope!) please feel free to reach out to me directly for whatever needs you may have in or outside the hotel - and we will make sure that your expereince is complete and perfect!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of our best nights in South Beach was spent at the bar in the lobby of the Betsy Hotel. Our bartender, Kedar, was so great! My friends and I enjoyed ourselves so much! The drinks were amazing! Make sure to ask Kedar his opinion though! So fun! Thanks!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear bia022oc,

Thank you for your review, and for mentioning Kedar so glowingly. He seems to come up a bit in TripAdvisor reviews - people are charmed and impressed at the same time. He is definitely a unique character - in fact, has been working with me for many years, several places. I'm glad you had a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you back, again and again....

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark hotel on Miami's Ocean Drive, The Betsy Hotel is a stunning colonial masterpiece offering a serene escape with exceptional cuisine, a rooftop solarium and spa with sweeping sea views. This beachfront property enables guests to enjoy the white sand and turquoise waters where Beach Butlers will attend to their every need. The hotel also created a peaceful sanctuary in its secluded courtyard where guests can enjoy the tranquil pool or relax in the lounge chairs. Home of BLT Steak, Laurent Tourondel's famous French spin on the traditional American Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.