We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The Betsey has a great atmosphere, beautifully decorated and perfectly positioned. Right on the beach we enjoyed jogging with the locals every morning. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel preferring the better value Front Porch next door.

If I had any disappointments it would be the pool. It is tiny and you are made to pay extra for seats around the pool whether you use them or not (we didn't). Our room faced over the pool which is not unpleasant however it is difficult to see the weather from this position. That said we would definately recommend The Betsey and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear DASands,

Thank you for your revioew - I was happy to read that you had a good stay. Our Courtyard Pool View Rooms are indeed our quietest (and most of our rooms do face that way). Of course, we also like to give you options, and you have the Roof Deck and Beach, too! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    928
    257
    83
    31
    12
See reviews for
227
679
60
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
494 reviews 494 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
1,006 helpful votes 1,006 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located at one end of South Beach in the middle of the Art-Deco area stands the Betsy which is more colonial in appearance than art-deco.
We like a little bit of comfort in the hotels we stay in and the Betsy certainly supplied it. When you enter the hotel, the restaurant is to your left and a bar which looks more like a colonial living-room to your right. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and I had one of the best steaks I have had in many years. The downstairs lounge/bar was very laid back but sophisticated at the same time and the barman mixed a mean Bloody Mary & Cosmopolitan. The rooftop bar was nice, but it had just finished a brief downpour so it was a little damp. The views from the bar over South Beach were excellent. On South Beach itself the Betsy has an allocated area with sun loungers and the staff are very helpful.
The only slight disappointment for me was the room. As ours was a late booking the only available room was the cheapest available and we would have preferred a room not located on the ground floor with two double-beds in it. That said we had a great time at the Betsy and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear AvidTraveler12,

Thank you for your recent visit and your review! I was happy to read that you had such a great time - including dinner! True, some of our rooms are small, (even if not so by South Beach standards) but nearly a third of our rooms are are suites - hopefully next time you will give us just a little notice and your stay will be absolutely perfect from all perspectives!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Miami several times...but by far the best stay was at the Betsy. First class all the way, a boutique environment that's exclusive but not pretentious. The restaurant is my favorite in all of south beach. It's known for steak but the sushi was phenomenal. A must do for anyone looking for the perfect getaway

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Mkruesi,

Thank you so much for your kind words - you used the best ones to descibe what we do here: First Class, Exclusive and a Must-do! I hope to meet you the next time you are in Miami Beach - feel free to reach out to me directly for your next booking.

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda,
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What more can you say about a place? well yes, large clean beautifully appointed rooms. Great bathrooms, stunning roof top deck for relaxing and enjoying the sun or having a drink.
the service was very friendly.
The pool area was an inner court yard so not so much sun, but with the beach across the road who needs a pool?
BLT was FABULOUS food and wonderful service.
A slight down side was we had booked a package with inclusions and I had to keep asking about the various things that were supposed to be included (welcome drink etc.) and so it made me feel a bit "cheap"
A lovely south beach treat for people that wish a more intimate hotel

Room Tip: we could hear a couple of kids running in the room above - request top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear BelliBoop,

Thank you for your review - we are indeed fortunate to have the best location on the quiet end of Ocean Drive- one of South Beach's best kept secrets. I'm sorry that we didn't execute all of the details of your package as well as I would like - please let me add those items in to your next visit, booked direct with the hotel, and see if we can't have a more seemless experience. Some of our packages are a bit elaborate...but they certainly should add a special dimension to your stay. I look forward to hearing from you about your next visit!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stopped for one night only at the Betsy on a stopover in Miami but honestly would have liked to have stayed there for another few days. The staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble - due to our early departure time (pre-breakfast service) the staff arranged for a fruit plate and coffee to be sent to our room that morning which was perfect. The roof deck bar was a lovely pre-dinner drinks option and the consierge had been in touch a couple of weeks before to make our dinner reservations for us that evening. All nio all a very pleasant experience, a lovely hotel and would definitely stay again for longer next time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Holsrock,

Thank you for your review - we are ready for your longer visit as soon as you are! London is really just one stop away from Miami Beach now, so maybe a summer getaway is in order! We have some amazing Early Booking options out there already...

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were offered an alternative room with a sea view but it was a lot smaller than the room we had booked, so stuck it out for the larger suite. Room very clean, nicely presented, can't fault the room at all or staff. Decided to dine at the hotel BLT restaurant that evening. The service was excellent, staff very pleasant, but a bit dissapointed with the meal that we ordered for the price we paid. In the morning we returned to the restaurant for our inclusive 'continental' breakfast. We were handed a very limited menu and only allowed to select three items which were very basic and not substantial and service very slow. Looking at other tables if you paid for a breakfast you appeared to get much better service and portions. , guests and staff, is an issue as mentioned by others, but a good excuse to use the stairs if you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Carl T.,

Thank you for your visit earlier this month, and for taking the time to write your review. I was happy to read that the hotel met your expectations, and equally sorry to read that your BLT Steak experience was not up to expectation. We are currently working with Laurent Tourendel to create a more "Betsy appropriate" experience for the breakfast that is included with some of our room packages. You will surely see that on your next visit, which I am happy to reserve for you personally - hopefully over a weekend where you can indulge in our one of a kind Weekend Brunch!

Until then,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent a few nights at the Betsy and it was great. The rooms are very nicely appointed, the bathrooms are very modern and the location is perfect for a weekend retreat in the SouthBeach restaurant/bar/club area.

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner suite which was "fantastic"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear rrredford,

Thank you for your recent visit, and your review. Fantastic is a big word for a person as well travelled as you are - I appreciate that accolade and we look forward to being your Miami Beach host in the future!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.