We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location,location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Breda,
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“location,location,location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What more can you say about a place? well yes, large clean beautifully appointed rooms. Great bathrooms, stunning roof top deck for relaxing and enjoying the sun or having a drink.
the service was very friendly.
The pool area was an inner court yard so not so much sun, but with the beach across the road who needs a pool?
BLT was FABULOUS food and wonderful service.
A slight down side was we had booked a package with inclusions and I had to keep asking about the various things that were supposed to be included (welcome drink etc.) and so it made me feel a bit "cheap"
A lovely south beach treat for people that wish a more intimate hotel

Room Tip: we could hear a couple of kids running in the room above - request top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelliBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear BelliBoop,

Thank you for your review - we are indeed fortunate to have the best location on the quiet end of Ocean Drive- one of South Beach's best kept secrets. I'm sorry that we didn't execute all of the details of your package as well as I would like - please let me add those items in to your next visit, booked direct with the hotel, and see if we can't have a more seemless experience. Some of our packages are a bit elaborate...but they certainly should add a special dimension to your stay. I look forward to hearing from you about your next visit!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I travel quite a bit for business and leisure and I must say that this was the best experience I have ever had. I know I should, but I rarely leave reviews after I travel, bit I had to this time because this was THE BEST experience I have ever had at a hotel. I wanted to get away for the weekend, yet stay at place that was not too large where the crowds take over the hotel and it was not too small where it would be boring. Upon arriving the Concierge Paul was nothing less than amazing!!!! I didn't know which room I wanted to stay in, so he kindly gave me a personal tour of the entire hotel and showed me each of the rooms. NEVER has a concierge offered a personal tour...Not at the Penninsula, Mandarin, Ritz, Four Seasons or anyplace on the beach!! I was starving upon arrival so I had a bite to eat at BLT. .I always heard that it was "the best steak in Miami Beach", but it lived up to all expectations. It's far better than Prime 112 or STK ..without the craziness. While I was having a bite to eat Paul, the concierge had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be waiting on ice for me when I got back to the room. I was shocked that the hotel would do this for me out of the blue. He said that he took care of it because he heard that I had a long stressful day when I was venting to the front desk. mentioned it to the Word's can't describe how wonderful of a gesture this was dealing with a travel nightmare in getting to Miami. AMAZING. I don't know how to explain this hotel...It has the feel of a bungalow with the lobby & restaurant of a NY hot spot. The room was beautiful and I raided the mini bar which was stocked with my favorite Dylans Candy. The beach is directly across the street and it's within walking distance to everywhere on the beach. For me I care about two main things when I am staying at a hotel...#1 The room has to be beautiful & ultra clean...This was a 10. #2 QUALITY service (which is IMPOSSIBLE get in Miami). Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly, and I felt that I was staying in someone's personal home. It's just nice being called by your first name, and being treated with so much care. I would definitely come back...Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stopped for one night only at the Betsy on a stopover in Miami but honestly would have liked to have stayed there for another few days. The staff were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble - due to our early departure time (pre-breakfast service) the staff arranged for a fruit plate and coffee to be sent to our room that morning which was perfect. The roof deck bar was a lovely pre-dinner drinks option and the consierge had been in touch a couple of weeks before to make our dinner reservations for us that evening. All nio all a very pleasant experience, a lovely hotel and would definitely stay again for longer next time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Holsrock,

Thank you for your review - we are ready for your longer visit as soon as you are! London is really just one stop away from Miami Beach now, so maybe a summer getaway is in order! We have some amazing Early Booking options out there already...

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were offered an alternative room with a sea view but it was a lot smaller than the room we had booked, so stuck it out for the larger suite. Room very clean, nicely presented, can't fault the room at all or staff. Decided to dine at the hotel BLT restaurant that evening. The service was excellent, staff very pleasant, but a bit dissapointed with the meal that we ordered for the price we paid. In the morning we returned to the restaurant for our inclusive 'continental' breakfast. We were handed a very limited menu and only allowed to select three items which were very basic and not substantial and service very slow. Looking at other tables if you paid for a breakfast you appeared to get much better service and portions. , guests and staff, is an issue as mentioned by others, but a good excuse to use the stairs if you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Carl T.,

Thank you for your visit earlier this month, and for taking the time to write your review. I was happy to read that the hotel met your expectations, and equally sorry to read that your BLT Steak experience was not up to expectation. We are currently working with Laurent Tourendel to create a more "Betsy appropriate" experience for the breakfast that is included with some of our room packages. You will surely see that on your next visit, which I am happy to reserve for you personally - hopefully over a weekend where you can indulge in our one of a kind Weekend Brunch!

Until then,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent a few nights at the Betsy and it was great. The rooms are very nicely appointed, the bathrooms are very modern and the location is perfect for a weekend retreat in the SouthBeach restaurant/bar/club area.

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner suite which was "fantastic"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrredford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear rrredford,

Thank you for your recent visit, and your review. Fantastic is a big word for a person as well travelled as you are - I appreciate that accolade and we look forward to being your Miami Beach host in the future!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Florida. Overall, this is a chic boutique hotel and the reality matches up to the descriptions and photos on the website. The lobby and bar areas are very calm and stylish and the staff are incredibly hospitable and helpful. Rooms are small, but not excessively so and certainly more than adequate by European standards and are clean and very stylishly appointed.

The location is at the 'right' end of Ocean Drive away from the nosier bars and clubs and tucked away from the tourist traps. Turn left out of the hotel and you are at the beach bars and famous hotels of South Beach and immediately behind the hotel, you are on the shopping streets of Washington and Lincoln. All in all it's a great location which offers the best of all worlds, however, it does lack the South Beach vibe and pool scene of some of the better known hotels such as the Delano or the W. The pool here, though nice, is essentially a small courtyard with no views and no music/scene to speak of so those looking for that vibe would be better off elsewhere.

Other criticisms are that, during a four night stay, the rooftop bar was closed for private functions for two - a shame that residents are denied access to such a key feature. Also, we dined one evening at the much vaunted BLT restaurant and found it to be somewhat over-hyped and very over-priced. They food and service were very good, but steak and chips is steak and chips and at $250 for two with no starters (or puddings) and half a bottle of wine, it's hard not to feel a little mugged. The same meal in any major city like London, New York or Paris would have cost half as much, but then again you don't come to Miami for a bargain.

All in all, this a proper boutique hotel with an intimate feel and excellent customer service and stylish surroundings. It's easily the best on Ocean Drive, but perhaps lacks some of the pool/beach side amenities that other South Beach hotels offer.

Room Tip: The lift is very small and very, very slow, so lower level rooms to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Hambon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You certainly do know South Beach - the Betsy prides itself on being more about comfort and kindness than a sexy scene, as you point out. There is something for everyone here - but at the Betsy, peace and solitude, and a place to have a good conversation about things that matter, come first. As you point out, though, step outside the front door and everything that is South Beach awaits....

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for one night before heading back to London. We arrived before the official check-in time but were kept informed and the room made ready as quick as possible. We were offered an alternative room with a sea view but it was a lot smaller than the room we had booked, so stuck it out for the larger suite. Room very clean, nicely presented, can't fault the room at all or staff.

Decided to dine at the hotel BLT restaurant that evening. The service was excellent, staff very pleasant, but a bit dissapointed with the meal that we ordered for the price we paid. In the morning we returned to the restaurant for our inclusive 'continental' breakfast. We were handed a very limited menu and only allowed to select three items which were very basic and not substantial and service very slow. Looking at other tables if you paid for a breakfast you appeared to get much better service and portions.

The one, compact and very slow elevator serving this hotel, guests and staff, is an issue as mentioned by others, but a good excuse to use the stairs if you can.

Overall, pleasant stay but would not eat at the restaurant again!

Room Tip: We had room 318, no sea view but really nice sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Bobby416,

Thank you for your visit with us, and for taking the time to write your review of your brief stay. I am happy that the hotel measured up to your expectations, and we hope to see you back one day for a longer visit. As BLT was not a positive experience for you, there are many options locally for some great dining, we would be happy to share those with you on your next trip. We look forward to ahving that opportunity one day!

SIncerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#14 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing