We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Cannot say enough about our stay at the Betsy, and cannot wait to come back! The best customer service on South Beach (we used to stay at the Loews and Ritz previously, but no more!). Great location, great bar/bartenders, great restaurant (popovers are to die for!) and could not do enough to make our stay perfect! Amazing hotel, amazing staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OD8459FAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First impressions excellent lovely location right near the beach, road side appeal, lighting, heaters, seating outside. The reception vibrant, helpful friendly staff, great vibe in bar and restaurant which were both lovely. We stayed 5 nights enjoyed it thoroughly, rooftop terrace, pool, location and food in the restaurant was excellent. Not cheap but quality food and good size portions I could not finish one full meal and staff really efficient. Its across the street from Starbucks so could get morning coffee on way out if we did not want full breakfast straight away which was handy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dundrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

For what this is worth, the name Betsy Hotel (sounds all crinoline and lace, doesn't it?) was shortened when new management took over the old Betsy Ross Hotel some years ago. They just cut the Ross. So that explains the odd girly-sounding name.

The Betsy is on the very north end of Ocean Drive in South Beach, between 14th and 15th streets, facing the avenue and across the street from a broad, sandy beach. Despite the general tone of Ocean Avenue and South Beach, which is cheesy and rocking by night, The Betsy stays classy. I don't want to call it prim, but it sees itself as upscale, which it is. You can relax and talk in the bar/lounge without having anyone blast loud music at you. If I recall, the lobby was silent, or maybe had soft jazz. I can't remember.

And the hotel restaurant, BLT Steak, is a first-rate restaurant, better than most you are going to find within walking distance of the hotel. Since I was in a group with some older folks for whom walking to, say, Lincoln Road was not an option, we stayed put and had one dinner there. It was pricey, but not out of range for quality dining in South Beach. It features Wagyu Beef, which one day I will try. For decent cheaper dining, you can head for Jerry's deli, right around the corner on Collins Ave.

I was there as part of a conference package, and my room was deeply discounted. They made it back on money we spent on meals and in the bars, including a rooftop bar that is open evenings. But I'd stay there at full fare if circumstances called for it. The rooms are on the smallish side, which matters only if you are going to hang out in yours. But the place is exceptionally well run. It is a family operation and the managing family member is always somewhere to be found. And it is friendly to the arts, and there is often some kind of arts programming going on there. Check their on-line schedule.

Because my conference meetings there annually in November, this is my third time at The Betsy. It has earned its high rating on TripAdvisor

Room Tip: I can't say. Facing the ocean has its pluses and minuses. You get to see the ocean but you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedalus449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went to the rooftop lounge on an uncharacteristically chilly night. Tim made us so comfortable and was the consummate pro. Ended up spending the evening eating delicious food, laying back admiring the moon. If you want hospitality, the natural beauty and art of SOBE and intellectually gracious savior faire, look no further.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wearytraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon as we needed a layover in Miami. The Betsy was a perfect place to end our trip and readjust back into reality. It is a beautiful hotel, lovely staff, and great vibe. A bit funky without being edgy and too modern. They have several great cultural touches: a library in each room, a photography exhibit in the lobby and hallways, live music in the bar, etc. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights the week of November 12th after reading about the hotel on TA. The hotel looked to be one of the nicer ones on the strip. We had a Classic King Suite on the second floor overlooking an alley. The rooms are small but very comfortable and quiet when you use the sound machine supplied in the room. We had dinner in the BLT Steakhouse two nights and it was good. We had breakfast twice on the patio. The service was very good. The only complaint about the food was that both times the toast was cold. We enjoyed the deck but this is one area that they need to work on the service levels. The service staff rarely come by and on some occasions were gone for extended periods. We went to the beach and the folks that handle the chairs etc. Did a nice job. They have food and beverages available for sale on the beach. The staff in general were very pleasant and accompanying. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjocCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are small, but nice and cozy and bed was very compfortable! The only problem we had was the smell in the room. We thought it was from smoke first, but the reception said that actually that was a shampoo they use to clean up the room (after two days the smell was gone). Otherwise i don't have any complaints. ok, maybe there was no soap in the bathroom and maybe no sufficient space to place our things in there, but this is all very minor compared to location, comfortable sleep and atmosphere. Yes, it's a bit on the expensive side cost-wise but what do you expect from Miami Beach?... Definitely would recomend this hotel to other people

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#14 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#13 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing