We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the strip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Caledon, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights the week of November 12th after reading about the hotel on TA. The hotel looked to be one of the nicer ones on the strip. We had a Classic King Suite on the second floor overlooking an alley. The rooms are small but very comfortable and quiet when you use the sound machine supplied in the room. We had dinner in the BLT Steakhouse two nights and it was good. We had breakfast twice on the patio. The service was very good. The only complaint about the food was that both times the toast was cold. We enjoyed the deck but this is one area that they need to work on the service levels. The service staff rarely come by and on some occasions were gone for extended periods. We went to the beach and the folks that handle the chairs etc. Did a nice job. They have food and beverages available for sale on the beach. The staff in general were very pleasant and accompanying. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    295
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
267
763
67
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are small, but nice and cozy and bed was very compfortable! The only problem we had was the smell in the room. We thought it was from smoke first, but the reception said that actually that was a shampoo they use to clean up the room (after two days the smell was gone). Otherwise i don't have any complaints. ok, maybe there was no soap in the bathroom and maybe no sufficient space to place our things in there, but this is all very minor compared to location, comfortable sleep and atmosphere. Yes, it's a bit on the expensive side cost-wise but what do you expect from Miami Beach?... Definitely would recomend this hotel to other people

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A wonderful oasis of impeccable service in the midst of the SoBe vibe. What's especially nice is the way The Betsy encourages conversation and culture through its salons, literary events, and artistic presentations. Staff are always friendly and attentive. Special kudos to Tim, the bartender on the rooftop deck who cheerfully and efficiently accommodated our group of 15 people who suddenly converged on him last night when he was trying to set up for another event. Despite being under a lot of pressure, he never lost his cool or his smile. I can't believe that he mixed and delivered 15 drinks in the short time he did while tending to his other priorities.. He made us feel we were the only people at the hotel, despite having to prepare for another large group on its way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was my first trip to Miami, and Betsy showed what Miami is.
I stayed in a Classic King room on the first floor facing a small alley (the 14th pl), might be the cheapest room. The view from the window was no fun, but it was much more quiet than I had been worried. A good and reasonable sleeping quality.
As other reviewers point out, there were some “unpolished” restaurant staff. Yet it doesn’t undercut my evaluation because of good service by most of hotel staff. I appreciate housekeepers’ courteous work and technical staff’s rapid response to a glitch of a safe.
Yes, Betsy is a wonderful place where to go back again. An umbrella and summer beds on the beach without any additional charge was very nice, but what gave me a perfect vacation was its fabulous rooftop deck. It was a hog heaven when I laid on a large couch with a glass of fresh mojito, viewing the blue ocean. Various drink and food from BLT Steak and a bar can be ordered through the staff at the bar corner. I really loved that deck.

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor, have a room away from a restaurant and a lobby bar. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from a great vacation to Florida. Stayed at The Betsy South Beach for 3 nights.
The service was excellent all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The conciege was able to get us tickets for the opening Miami Heat game very exciting! The beach was beautiful and the staff at the beach were very friendly. We had a massage at the spa very good massage and very relaxing. The rooftop deck has a wonderful view and a great place to hangout for a drink. The resturant at the hotel was amazing delicious steaks. I can't asy enough good things about this hotel and will definetly go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything I expected from previous reviews, bar one big thing. Perfect service, continental breakfasts just right, ultra clean rooms and nice bathrooms, if a tad small. We arrived on the Saturday, and were early to bed (level 3). There was a wedding function on the top floor (4) with probably in excess of 100 guests. Our room was in the worst possible place, opposite the stairwell so there was lots of loud drunken shouting as the wedding guests tramped all the way down the stairs, plus the creeking of the floor from the party above. Next day we complained to the delightful manager (Anton?) and were moved without hesitation. My view is a boutique hotel with 60(?) rooms should not overwhelm full fee paying guests with functions and parties, when the layout of the hotel cannot cope with it. Having said that, the pool view room we were moved to (level 2) was devine, quiet, and I wished that we had paid the extra money in the first place. The function wasnt a one off as on the Sunday we saw another group piling up the lifts/stairs to level 4 [also that must mean that level 4 is not available to guests?]

Despite all of the above The Betsy is all you have read about on TA, if I was to return, it would only be if there was a guarantee that I wasnt to be affeted in any way by a function.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amid the abundant crowds and "cheesieness" of South Beach, the Betsy is an elegant small boutique hotel situated in a relatively quiet section of Ocean Drive. My wife and I spent a long beach weekend here to enjoy the crisp fall weather of south Florida. The Betsy is conveniently located across from Lummus Park Beach, a nice, wide well kept city Beach. The Betsy has a setup service on the beach where nice beach chairs and umbrellas are arranged for you; believe me, a fantastic perk.

We reserved a deluxe suite, which was spacious enough for a couple. The nice aspect of the suite was the separate sitting area that could be closed off from the main bedroom area; a nice feature when one likes to wake up or go to bed on a different schedule from the other spouse. The room had 3 TVs--one in the bedroom, one in the sitting room and one built into the mirror in the bathroom (a nice touch). Our room did not have much of a view (actually a view of the back alley), but we knew that when we reserved the room as we did not want to pay up for a room with a beach view; the room was pricey enough. I would say though that you did hear a fair amount of noise emanating from the back alley early in the am. The Betsy is walking distance to plenty of restaurants and the sites of South Beach. One really does not need a car if you intend to stay in the South Beach area only. The room was nicely appointed and reflective of the general environment surrounding the proporty. The hotel lobby is very pretty and has a sort of a bygone era feel to it.

Althoughy fairly pricey, we loved The Betsy. However beware that one does not have to wander too far south of the hotel to run into some of the less appealing aspects of South Beach: the constant sidewalk selling, the crowds, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.