We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel few weeks ago. It was our first visit to Miami Beach and did not know what to expect. We were greeted at the door and promptly checked in by friendly staff. The room was very cozy with beautiful decor . We also tried BLT ( the hotel's steak house ) and it was amazing. Still craving their popovers. Service was little slow but food was incredible. Their concierge on duty (Margot) made our stay extra special with great dinner and shopping suggestions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing stay but close to a lot of Miami Beach "action".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Frankfurt M,

I was happy to read your review, and glad that we could make your first visit to Miami Beach so memorable. About those BLT Popovers - you know that we deliver the recipe when we deliver the Popovers - have you tried your hand at Backen jene Gebäck yet?

We look forward to your future visits!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    288
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
267
757
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked 4 nights at The Betsy for 4 people. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which just have us that extra space.

Staff are really friendly & chatty. The rooms have amazing old style decor, with great amenities. Breakfast wasn't included but 1 day we ate at BLT & it was good. We also had drinks at the rooftop bar & also the main bar in the lobby. The roof top has very limited drinks which is a shame as its an amazing view & space. The drinks at the main bar are extensive & again you cant fault the staff.

You are charged a service fee each day for the facilities at the hotel as they have a deal with a beachside cabana company. We used this one day & we got 2 loungers, towels & umbrella. If you need additional then it's extra cost.

It's really central in south beach & good location for wandering the around the art deco buildings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Ocean drive is where you want to be if you do not want to deal w/ a car to get around South Beach. The Betsy has amazing beach front space & lounge chairs/umbrellas that are set up as you get there, $15 additional per/ day, but totally worth it. The pool is not much to rave about, but if you spend most of your time at the beach, this should not matter. The rooftop lounge area has an amazing view for sitting and reading, getting a massage/facial in the open air, or sipping a drink- it is not a loud music lounge area- more quiet & relaxed.
Bike rental stations are plenty near the hotel, La Sandwicherie is a few blocks away for a late- night meal or breakfast smoothie, shopping & restaurants are not a far walk either.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Amazing decor, attention to detail, attentive staff and great location steps from the beach and South Beach attractions. No need to seek out a high end restaurant with BLT Steak right onsite. The view of the ocean from the roof deck is awesome. Our company had 2/3 of the hotel booked for our function, and everything was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Dwiguy,

Thank you for your stay, and for all of your group coming and having such a great time with us! I was so pleased to read your response. Whether a single room or a group for 50, your needs and wants are our 1st priority. I'm glad we met the mark for you, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend last month for 3 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday. They've sent me champagne and a beautiful little chocolate moose with a very
kind note from Margot . Nothing is too much trouble for the staff of this hotel .Everyone seems genuine and always happy to help with anything. The room was little small but the bed was very comfortable with high quality clean sheets . My only regret is that we could not stay longer. Next time that we come to Miami ( from Europe) we will love to stay at The Betsy once again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Krisztina H,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to write a review! As long as you want to stay longer and come back, we know we have done our job. Our repeat Guests are very important to us - please reach out to me directly next time, and I will see that your next stay is even better than your first!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a wonderful hotel and staff . Way before we arrived, I received several emails from the concierge (Margot) to see if we needed anything taken care of before we arrived. She arranged several things for us. The room was exactly what we were looking for - large bedroom and separate sitting room.

One morning as we were heading out to play golf, a member of the staff (Adam) gave my husband and me a sleeve of ProV1 golf balls.

Also, had one of the best facial / massage combos I have ever had at their rooftop spa!

The only complaint was the maid service. We were usually out for the day and would get back to hotel around 4 - 4:30 PM. That was when the maid service showed up every afternoon. Of course, that was the time we wanted to upwind and get ready for our night out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Betsy for our mini-moon last month and loved it! It's beautiful, sophisticated, has cool photography hung through out, comfortable, and romantic. It was perfect as we wanted to avoid "swanky" Miami. The hotel is just as pictured in their advertisements and profiles- no trick pictures- it really is that cute. All staff was courteous and helpful and we had two concierges that we worked with who really hooked us up. One set us up with the perfect dinner reservations each night and the other suggested a jet ski tour of Miami. Although pricey, it was worth it as it was adventurous and a really fun way to see everything in 2-3 hours. Overall, I highly recommend it if you're looking for a boutique hotel in South Beach. The only downside was their spa. We booked a couples massage and had to be moved to an area in a hotel next door as their normal rooftop massage location was taken over by thousands of these nats (we were told the bugs swarm in after storms and the hurricane had just gone through the couple days before we arrived). The women there were friendly but it was pretty surprising how they expected us to be fine lying on thousands of bugs until we insisted on being moved elsewhere. I think the cost for that experience was outrageous but everything else we experieinced there really was absolutely perfect. I suggest going up to the roof top to check it out before booking services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear IMW203,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our subtropical environment can indeed present surprises, but we also try to have options for our Guests - i am sorry that in this area, we did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that the rest - the majority of your stay was excellent. Please consider coming back in the gentler winter months, when a massage under the stars can be a life changing experience! (time it with a full moon for a very special night!)

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.