We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love It !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a wonderful hotel and staff . Way before we arrived, I received several emails from the concierge (Margot) to see if we needed anything taken care of before we arrived. She arranged several things for us. The room was exactly what we were looking for - large bedroom and separate sitting room.

One morning as we were heading out to play golf, a member of the staff (Adam) gave my husband and me a sleeve of ProV1 golf balls.

Also, had one of the best facial / massage combos I have ever had at their rooftop spa!

The only complaint was the maid service. We were usually out for the day and would get back to hotel around 4 - 4:30 PM. That was when the maid service showed up every afternoon. Of course, that was the time we wanted to upwind and get ready for our night out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    272
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
253
709
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Betsy for our mini-moon last month and loved it! It's beautiful, sophisticated, has cool photography hung through out, comfortable, and romantic. It was perfect as we wanted to avoid "swanky" Miami. The hotel is just as pictured in their advertisements and profiles- no trick pictures- it really is that cute. All staff was courteous and helpful and we had two concierges that we worked with who really hooked us up. One set us up with the perfect dinner reservations each night and the other suggested a jet ski tour of Miami. Although pricey, it was worth it as it was adventurous and a really fun way to see everything in 2-3 hours. Overall, I highly recommend it if you're looking for a boutique hotel in South Beach. The only downside was their spa. We booked a couples massage and had to be moved to an area in a hotel next door as their normal rooftop massage location was taken over by thousands of these nats (we were told the bugs swarm in after storms and the hurricane had just gone through the couple days before we arrived). The women there were friendly but it was pretty surprising how they expected us to be fine lying on thousands of bugs until we insisted on being moved elsewhere. I think the cost for that experience was outrageous but everything else we experieinced there really was absolutely perfect. I suggest going up to the roof top to check it out before booking services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear IMW203,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our subtropical environment can indeed present surprises, but we also try to have options for our Guests - i am sorry that in this area, we did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that the rest - the majority of your stay was excellent. Please consider coming back in the gentler winter months, when a massage under the stars can be a life changing experience! (time it with a full moon for a very special night!)

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for my wifes birthday. The concierge, Margot, touched base with me via email prior to our arrival to ensure our needs were met. The room was beautiful (3rd floor facing pool), quiet, and quirky (books were interesting). The only minor gripes we had with the room were the open shower design, guaranteed to get the floor wet, and the bathroom fan was intermittement. On our second night, Margot sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne, a chocolate torte with a candle, and a handwritten birthday card. This made my wife grin for hours. We later had reservations at BLT steak for dinner. We tried bringing down the bottle of champagne that was gifted from the hotel to enjoy with dinner and was told we would be charged a $35 "corking" fee. This seemed a bit counterintuitive since the bottle was from the hotel. No matter. After a wonderful dinner with the amazing popovers, we stayed for dessert. The tables that adjoin the booth section in the restaurant are very close together. Our romantic dinner was invaded by two other couples that sat next to us. This normally wouldn't bother us but the tables were so close together that one of the ladies, stuffed into a typical Miami beach clubbing dress, her rear end swung directly over our food. Im all for maximizing space but that was a little too close for comfort. Afterwards, to shake off the "near miss"' we went up to the beautiful rooftop terrace and enjoyed our bottle of champagne. Overall, an excellent stay with very minor stumbles. I'd easily recommend this hotel for the location, attentive staff, and charm for any couple looking for a quick getaway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Betsy is a beautiful hotel with a fabulous roof deck. There are couches and chairs with pillows and pads all over the roof. There is a nice bar and a great view of the ocean. We reserved an ocean view room on the third floor. The room was very nice but there was only a view of the palm trees. Don't pay extra for this room, just go to the roof. The room was very nice and clean but we could hear everyone coming and going in the hall. I am sure this is because it is an old building. There are no coffee makers in the room but you can go to the lobby from 8 to 10 am for free coffee, hop on the elevator and go to the roof. I would recommend staying here, it is convenient to the beach and shopping.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a view, the roof is free and has the best view in the hotel! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Scook 112301,

Thank you for your recent visit and your review. Our normally windy weather in the summer has been mild, and only resulted in palms gently blowing gently in the wind, so the trees across the street from us have been growing a little bushy. You will be pleased to know that the City of Miami Beach is in the process of trimming them back as I write this! While our roof deck is still my favorite spot in the hotel, the Ocean View rooms should have much more ocean to view sometime this week.

Again, thank you for your comments!

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Betsy with friends for my 40th birthday and everything was just perfect! The staff was helpful and courteous, Paul (concierge) was awesome and the location was perfect! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had a great time this summer in Miami, most of the credit goes to the staff of the boutique hotel "the Betsy''. The location is fantastic, on ocean drive near the 'happenning' areas, yet at the same time calm for a quiet night in after a long night of going out. It’s right across from its own private beach and also a close walk to the shopping areas on Lincoln. The best thing about a boutique hotel is that they make you feel like your home. We were welcomed every morning at the door with a smile by Chris, Ever and Adam. Adnan, Fernando and Luciano were a great help in getting us settled in. Even the hotel waiters made special requests happen, thank you Rainier. And of course, a special thank you to PAUL, the concierge, who basically had a huge part in making me and my sister experience our first ever skydive on the picturesque views of the Keys. All in all I will recommend this place to anyone who visits Miami, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a very special trip for me; we were celebrating my eldest daughter´s “sweet fifteen”, so it took me days to choose the right hotel for her, though I had been to Miami many times before. I wanted this experience to be absolutely unforgettable and, being the idea to remain close to the South Beach area, I decided to stay at The Betsy Hotel.
It was a real good decision, for several reasons; the location, the size of the rooms and the beauty of the building, among the most important ones, but what makes this hotel different is the unique staff. They made us feel so comfortable at every moment that we never had the sensation we were just another “room number”, as it usually happens at big chain hotels.
I want to specially thank Luciano, Adnan and Shayla for their friendly and professional service.
If I ever go back to South Beach, which I hope to do someday, my choice will certainly be “The Betsy”, no doubt about that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Julyro,

Thank you for your kind words - we certainly hope you will make it back, too. Thank you for noticing how determined our staff are to exceed your expectations - I will be sure to pass on your comments to those you mentioned (although we all follow the comments very strongly, odds are good that they have seen this already!)

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.