We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Betsy with friends for my 40th birthday and everything was just perfect! The staff was helpful and courteous, Paul (concierge) was awesome and the location was perfect! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    295
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
267
763
67
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had a great time this summer in Miami, most of the credit goes to the staff of the boutique hotel "the Betsy''. The location is fantastic, on ocean drive near the 'happenning' areas, yet at the same time calm for a quiet night in after a long night of going out. It’s right across from its own private beach and also a close walk to the shopping areas on Lincoln. The best thing about a boutique hotel is that they make you feel like your home. We were welcomed every morning at the door with a smile by Chris, Ever and Adam. Adnan, Fernando and Luciano were a great help in getting us settled in. Even the hotel waiters made special requests happen, thank you Rainier. And of course, a special thank you to PAUL, the concierge, who basically had a huge part in making me and my sister experience our first ever skydive on the picturesque views of the Keys. All in all I will recommend this place to anyone who visits Miami, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a very special trip for me; we were celebrating my eldest daughter´s “sweet fifteen”, so it took me days to choose the right hotel for her, though I had been to Miami many times before. I wanted this experience to be absolutely unforgettable and, being the idea to remain close to the South Beach area, I decided to stay at The Betsy Hotel.
It was a real good decision, for several reasons; the location, the size of the rooms and the beauty of the building, among the most important ones, but what makes this hotel different is the unique staff. They made us feel so comfortable at every moment that we never had the sensation we were just another “room number”, as it usually happens at big chain hotels.
I want to specially thank Luciano, Adnan and Shayla for their friendly and professional service.
If I ever go back to South Beach, which I hope to do someday, my choice will certainly be “The Betsy”, no doubt about that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Julyro,

Thank you for your kind words - we certainly hope you will make it back, too. Thank you for noticing how determined our staff are to exceed your expectations - I will be sure to pass on your comments to those you mentioned (although we all follow the comments very strongly, odds are good that they have seen this already!)

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely colonial style hotel situated at the quieter end of Ocean Drive, just across from the beach. Very close to Espanola and Lincoln Mall Areas. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nice lobby bar, the roof top area / bar although very welcoming is very underused, perhaps a Happy Hour is the answer here. Pool is fine and an absolute sun trap in August in the afternoon, but who needs a pool with a beach like they have? The BLT knocks up steaks which must be alongside the best in South Beach. My wife and have to say I loved it, and we travel a lot. Very good value for money and we will be back, maybe even next year. That's how good it is!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We are sponsors of a design award event and are using the Betsy for our second time. We really enjoyed it last time and are having another excellent stay this year. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are spotless and in good shape. Decor is adorable and keeping in the spirit of a boutique hotel. Hotel is on Ocean drive right across from the beach so the location is excellent but also quiet. Really a nice treat to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sharon SFC,

Thank you for your return visit! Since re-opening in 2009, our unique, welcoming design has certainly been one of the things many of our Guests appreciate. We are also pleased to have so many Guests return again and again, to see our progress the evolution of our artwork, our music, and our general dedication to culture and the community. I hope you had a chance to visit our new Writer's Room, if it wasn't occupied by one of our now-frequent artists in residence. If not, we will have to show you on your next trip!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Betsy is very cool and understated in its decor and we loved this. The staff are super attentive without being intrusive. We were so impressed they remembered our names and room number. This really makes it stand out compared to hundreds of other hotels I have stayed at. The beds are super comfortable, the linens top quality and the bathroom modern with great products. The pool is not full size but on a positive note it is not hired out for pool parties and often is quiet, so excellent if you are looking for peace and quiet. Breakfast was very good if on the expensive side (though the hotel does special offers which include continental breakfast and if you prefer, Starbucks is just over the road). Special mention to Arnold and Jordan at the restaurant for stellar service. Dinner was excellent. One thing to mention is that the ocean view rooms are more ocean facing rooms with a view of lots of palm trees (as other reviewers have noted). The fitness centre is small but has adequate machines - if you are really keen, the hotel can arrange a pass with nearby gyms for one day and those gyms can then sell you a pass. We already returned to the Betsy twice in a month so much did we like it!

Room Tip: corner suites are large and comfortable - like a one bedroom apartment! top floor (3rd floor) is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear London Traveller,

Thank you for your review - this really seems to the time for UK to be at the Betsy in full force! I appreciate your comments - also noting that a few years with no hurricanes has allowed the lovely park across the street to grow in a bit. Ocean View is how those rooms and suites are presented, not Oceanfront, being across the street from the Beach. But they are quite popular. Our pool is a little bit more "sanctuary" than "scene" - but we figure you have the entire Atlantic Ocean - the best and most exciting part - across the street, so a sanctuary with personal service can be a nice contrast. We hope to see you again soon!

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Interesting Story:

So we are a group of 12 guys out in Miami on a bachelor party. We wanted to stay somewhere on South Beach which was well located for the beach and the restaurants, bars and clubs on Ocean and Collins and Lincoln. The balance was between choosing somewhere with high quality facilities but which was reasonably priced, and not one of the monster hotels where we would feel overwhelmed and might seperate the group. Although we planned to party hard, we wanted somewhere reasonably quiet so that we could get away from the party when we needed to. The Betsy ticked all of these boxes. The service started before we left home because they helped us massively to organize our itinerary (even for our 3 day trip to the Florida Keys) and recommend and arrange reservations and restaurants and nightclubs, both before and during our stay. Good Job guys!

Pro's
The place is very Miami, has a local vibe and a cosy and intimate atmosphere - you're always happy to get back at the end of the day;
Location is A1. Right in the middle of the action and of course sea facing;
The hotel has an amazing spot on the beach and a desk on the beach for towels, beach beds, umbrellas, drinks etc;
Newly refurbished and well decorated and clean rooms.
Exceptional concierge service to help you make the most of your trip and even organize nights out for you etc, including a special SUnday night at Nikki Beach with a favorable deal on a bottle service table; and
Generous late checkout where available – always get a big tick.


Cons
Small pool, you would expect a place like this to have a nice big luxy pool for the price but not so much, see pictures;
Some disorganised service in the restaurant for breakfast and occasionally at the front desk, they are all well-meaning but were slightly confused at times probably owing to the size of our group;
Weak Wifi in the rooms which is a shame when you just need to get some work done. But it is free; and
A big turn off was the lack of shower pressure in the rooms, a good powerful shower is important in a hotel especially when the bathrooms are so nicely fitted out with a TV in the mirror etc.


Conclusion
There are so many hotels in Miami some very much more p1mped out but they look much like all fancy hotels all over the world. The Betsy feels very authentic and unique to Miami. Overall, a good stay at a good hotel. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sidji,

Thank you for your review - we were very happy to have your group stay with us. I'm especially pleased to read the word "authentic" in your review - we try to live by the authenticity in our design, our passion for service and hospitality, and our dedication to culture and being more than just another pretty face. I'm happy you recognized that!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.