We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Miami Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Interesting Story:

So we are a group of 12 guys out in Miami on a bachelor party. We wanted to stay somewhere on South Beach which was well located for the beach and the restaurants, bars and clubs on Ocean and Collins and Lincoln. The balance was between choosing somewhere with high quality facilities but which was reasonably priced, and not one of the monster hotels where we would feel overwhelmed and might seperate the group. Although we planned to party hard, we wanted somewhere reasonably quiet so that we could get away from the party when we needed to. The Betsy ticked all of these boxes. The service started before we left home because they helped us massively to organize our itinerary (even for our 3 day trip to the Florida Keys) and recommend and arrange reservations and restaurants and nightclubs, both before and during our stay. Good Job guys!

Pro's
The place is very Miami, has a local vibe and a cosy and intimate atmosphere - you're always happy to get back at the end of the day;
Location is A1. Right in the middle of the action and of course sea facing;
The hotel has an amazing spot on the beach and a desk on the beach for towels, beach beds, umbrellas, drinks etc;
Newly refurbished and well decorated and clean rooms.
Exceptional concierge service to help you make the most of your trip and even organize nights out for you etc, including a special SUnday night at Nikki Beach with a favorable deal on a bottle service table; and
Generous late checkout where available – always get a big tick.


Cons
Small pool, you would expect a place like this to have a nice big luxy pool for the price but not so much, see pictures;
Some disorganised service in the restaurant for breakfast and occasionally at the front desk, they are all well-meaning but were slightly confused at times probably owing to the size of our group;
Weak Wifi in the rooms which is a shame when you just need to get some work done. But it is free; and
A big turn off was the lack of shower pressure in the rooms, a good powerful shower is important in a hotel especially when the bathrooms are so nicely fitted out with a TV in the mirror etc.


Conclusion
There are so many hotels in Miami some very much more p1mped out but they look much like all fancy hotels all over the world. The Betsy feels very authentic and unique to Miami. Overall, a good stay at a good hotel. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sidji,

Thank you for your review - we were very happy to have your group stay with us. I'm especially pleased to read the word "authentic" in your review - we try to live by the authenticity in our design, our passion for service and hospitality, and our dedication to culture and being more than just another pretty face. I'm happy you recognized that!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    288
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
267
757
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our fourth trip to Betsy. This was a disappointing experience because our room was littered with ants. They were in the bathroom and curtains. We also found mosquitoes on the bed. Otherwise, staff were pleasant and room service was good. We also like that the beach chairs, umbrellas and towels continue to be included in the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear LoveBeachVacations,

Thank you for your review - and your repeat visits, of course! I am sorry to read about your experience - it is quite rare, I am wondering if possibly a window was left open? Sometimes, with the severe weather (such as the recent tropical storm, Isaac) there are additionaI challenges locally, but again, they rarely impact our rooms the way you described. I'm happy that you still found the staff so accomodating, too. I would be very interested to discuss this with you further- please contact me directly at the hotel and I will do my utmost to make sure your next visit - #5! is absolutely flawless!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Betsy Ross Hotel on Historic Ocean Drive is head and shoulders above the rest of its hotels in terms of culture, substance, culinary, and premium feel. BLT Steak is incredible, as are the rooms, lobby bar, and patio. Truly a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Betsy for a few nights recently and had a very pleasant experience. The hotel was recently refurbished and I was glad to see that it kept its simple elegance the lobby was low key and comfortable as were the rooms.
They had a great roof top terrace with a full bar which made for a nice evenings drink before going out.
This is a small hotel ,not a lot of bells and whistles, I find this charming and for my taste the hotel had all that I needed.
I only ate breakfast at the restaurant and would recommend the croissants and fresh orange juice.
The beach across the street was nice and for a small fee (hotel charges) you get an umbrella, towel and chaise lounge.
I liked that the block around the hotel was quiet, no barkers and noisy restaurants which are prevelant further down the street creating a cheap atmosphere that I find unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Shelley,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and your review. I was pleased to read so many positve aspects about your visit - and honestly, a bit confused about your overall rating being less than stellar. If there is anything else about your visit that you would care to share with me, I would be pleased to discuss that with you. At the Betsy, we take our Guests and our service very seriously and very personally. Our goal is for you to be 101% satisfied!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We looked so forward to our stay here and we were not disappointed , the bed was divine the service superb the food delicious. We loved the location close proximity to everything South Beach. The beach was lovely enjoyed the fact that sun beds, towels & umbrellas were provided. 5star luxury definitly planning another stay Charmaine & Graeme Swaziland southern Africa - awesome ... Loved the gowns provided so comfy I bought one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Phahla,

Thank you for your review, and your recent visit with us! It was wonderful having you and your family stay with us. You remind me how our diverse Guests find different aspects of our boutique property so endearing - and those who return encounter new things to delight, and help them relax and rejuvinate! We look forward to your next visit to South Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just back from a great holiday in south Beach and the Florida Keys. Spent 8 nights in the Betsy in South Beach and it was fantastic from start to finish. Everything was perfect, location, staff - they couldn't do enough for us, food, beach beds and the hotel itself is brilliant.
If I had a tiny tiny issue it was that the bathroom was a little small and the lift a little slow but really that is all I can say and these were so minor!!

The BLT Steak is mouth watering and the service throughout the hotel first Class. I just hope I get a chance to experience the Betsy again in the future

The concierge were also excellent and helped us book tours and gave us advice on travelling to Key West.

Best Hotel I've stayed in so far..........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Orla,

Thank you for your comments - an 8 day stay like yours is really the best way to completely fall in love with the Betsy! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hotel its beautiful, the staff, front desk and concierge, really gentle and attentive. The best thing of everything is that when i got back with my wife from dinner, theres was live soul music at the lobby.
I had a relax and peaceful time in a crazy miami beach!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.