We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful hotel different, homely, luxurious, private and so conveniently situated beautiful location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely beautiful hotel different, homely, luxurious, private and so conveniently situated beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We looked so forward to our stay here and we were not disappointed , the bed was divine the service superb the food delicious. We loved the location close proximity to everything South Beach. The beach was lovely enjoyed the fact that sun beds, towels & umbrellas were provided. 5star luxury definitly planning another stay Charmaine & Graeme Swaziland southern Africa - awesome ... Loved the gowns provided so comfy I bought one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Phahla,

Thank you for your review, and your recent visit with us! It was wonderful having you and your family stay with us. You remind me how our diverse Guests find different aspects of our boutique property so endearing - and those who return encounter new things to delight, and help them relax and rejuvinate! We look forward to your next visit to South Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    913
    256
    88
    33
    12
See reviews for
220
664
59
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just back from a great holiday in south Beach and the Florida Keys. Spent 8 nights in the Betsy in South Beach and it was fantastic from start to finish. Everything was perfect, location, staff - they couldn't do enough for us, food, beach beds and the hotel itself is brilliant.
If I had a tiny tiny issue it was that the bathroom was a little small and the lift a little slow but really that is all I can say and these were so minor!!

The BLT Steak is mouth watering and the service throughout the hotel first Class. I just hope I get a chance to experience the Betsy again in the future

The concierge were also excellent and helped us book tours and gave us advice on travelling to Key West.

Best Hotel I've stayed in so far..........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Orla,

Thank you for your comments - an 8 day stay like yours is really the best way to completely fall in love with the Betsy! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hotel its beautiful, the staff, front desk and concierge, really gentle and attentive. The best thing of everything is that when i got back with my wife from dinner, theres was live soul music at the lobby.
I had a relax and peaceful time in a crazy miami beach!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel - friendly and helpful staff, great location, good on site restaurant.

It was my husband's birthday and thry sent up a beautiful mink cake and candle as a surprise.

Pool is in courtyard so well sheltered (shady). Rooms are comfortable but a little snug for a family of 4 but overall excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Betsy and we had the best service. First of all, we arrived early and our rooms were ready for check-in. Everyone at the hotel was sooo nice. The rooms were a nice size. We were in walking distance to everything. I wish there was a Betsy in every city I visited.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

In a word ... FANTASTIC. This is IT, folks. Stop your looking on Miami Beach for a high-end quality property. Pay the money and stay at The Betsy.
From the service, the amenities and the wonderful food, this is a travelers dream to Miami Beach.
Located on the 'good' end of Ocean Dr., there's not a lot of 'amateurs' that hang out on this end of South Beach. The atmosphere is distinctly different than the hotels below 10th street.
The rooms were very relaxing, with high-quality amenities, and being on the Ocean Dr. side of the hotel, surprisingly quiet.
BLT Steak is a fantastic restaurant that knows how to deliver a quality experience, and the pride of presentation shows from their kitchen staff.
For business OR pleasure, with a quality feel ... away from the 'amateurs' of SoBe, then I highly recommend The Betsy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Amazing hotel in South Beach. So luxurious but remaining comfortable and cosy. Had gorgeous room, very relaxed, comfortable, great bed, clean, spacious, bright and airy, and great shutters to block out the light when needed to rest the head. Excellent staff, very friendly, felt genuine, great advice for restaurants and cubs. Lovely reception/ bar area, cool and super comfortable place to have a drink. Superb restaurant BLT. Fantastic beef and also beautiful breakfasts.

Really nice pool, a bit small but very comfortable beds, plenty of towels, constant iced lime water. Nice area to chill out.

Hotel is located across the road from the beach. And a short ish walk from the Lincoln road area...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark hotel on Miami's Ocean Drive, The Betsy Hotel is a stunning colonial masterpiece offering a serene escape with exceptional cuisine, a rooftop solarium and spa with sweeping sea views. This beachfront property enables guests to enjoy the white sand and turquoise waters where Beach Butlers will attend to their every need. The hotel also created a peaceful sanctuary in its secluded courtyard where guests can enjoy the tranquil pool or relax in the lounge chairs. Home of BLT Steak, Laurent Tourondel's famous French spin on the traditional American Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.