We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ford Family Reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ford Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

All I can say is WOW, the staff was amazing, from the beach crew, the doormen, to hotel management, They made sure our four day stay was the most incrediable experience. Our first night roof top dinner, the food was great, we are still talking about the BBQ corn side dish they served. Yes it was a little pricey, but worth every penny, can wait to go back and stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Maria,

Thank you for your review, and for being part of the family reunion! Your group was very special to us - even though we are often the choice for reunions of 5 people to 100, yours was especially memorable, and even gave us ideas on things to suggest to future families planning a getaway!

We hope to see you (all!) again soon,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    272
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
253
710
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just want to say that we just had such an amazing and positive hotel experience. Is a small, classy hotel. Great location, walking distance to a lot of things that we were interested in and we did walk almost everywhere. Thanks to the concierge that arranged our tours ( Everglades and the boat tour) we also got picked up from the hotel witch was great. Margot arranged all this at like 10pm for the next day ( what???? ) We were thinking we will waste a whole day planing all this. Thanks to her we had all booked by the next day. The front desk agents were very efficient and friendly also. Great decor, small but cozy, friendly staff, overall great value. Thank you all !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Victor,

Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on not only the best Concierge team in Miami Beach, but also providing concierge levels of service throughout the hotel. Margot is among our best, and I'm happy your time with us was memorable!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Myself & my partner spent a lovely week at The Betsy at beginning of June. The hotel has to be located in one of the best locations on Ocean Drive. We booked a pool view room which was a little small but very comfortable. Next time will definitely choose a larger room for a stay of this length. The BLT restaurant was fabulous, steak to die for! Margot in concierge was extremely helpful & made reservations in several restaurants for us before our arrival. The continental breakfast included in the room rate could have been a little more exciting but the overall experience at the Betsy was excellent. We shall be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear AntiguaEM,

Thank you for your stay and your review! I'm happy to read that you had such a good time. Almost half of our accomodations are suites, from comfortable and roomy to absolutely spectacular, so there is a lot choose from on your next visit! We look forward to welcoming you back, again and again...

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowlan heights
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The experience I had at the Betsy strated at the valet with Jose, Juan, excellent service. As we got to the front door is was welcome by Robert, Adam, Christopher who took care of my family of 4 for five days getting to know me and my kids... After we settled in the room we went to the beach were Zach, Calvin & Candy took care of all of are needs... All around a great experience... Newton Ford

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Ford,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the family's recent visit with us. It really is all about the people, as you mention. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! We continue helping you create very special memories!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family of five (incl 2 under 10's) have stayed at the Betsey four times now. We've stayed in other hotels along Ocean Drive but have found the big names, though comfortable, to be universally sterile and corporate.
We love the Betsy for its unstuffy, anything goes atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff.
Good things:

Fabulous position, close to shops, beach and nightlife.
Great restaurant for dinner, BLT does spectacular steaks & a nice wine list.
Nice clean & comfortable rooms with good bathrooms.
Great 'boutique hotel' feel.

Bad things:

Not much choice at expensive breakfast. Would be nice to have a mini-buffet with range of fruits/berries/cereals rather than charge for each berry and FOC juice top-ups!

Rooms a little on small side for price, but not a big problem.

Swimming pool is meagre and shady.

In summary, this is a fab hotel for a few days in the city. It isn't a resort hotel so doesn't have big amenities, but for a luxury relaxing time and a perfect position it is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Berkshire Family,

Thank you for your many trips - our Guests who return again and again are of course very special to us. One of the up sides to a boutique hotel such as our is that we can recognize and respond to your expectations better than anyone - we truly listne and care! Please reach out to me directly next time you are coming, (as I offer to all of our return Guests), and we will see to it that your time with us just keeps getting better and better!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had 2 nights in Miami in late July - and this spot is as good as it gets - at the top of South Beach but sufficiently far away from the madness at the lower end. Excellent attitude of all the staff, and overall a great stay in a very atmospheric, if quite a small hotel. Very much appreciated the pre-arrival email from the concierge, Paul - who booked dinner reservations for us, including the latest "in" place that he recommended - the Juvia restaurant - which was excellent (but get a table outside). Only negative was the somewhat enclosed nature of the pool, which has restricted space around it. Not much can be done about that, although the smells from the kitchen could be dealt with, presumably with some clever technology. Forget the Delano - which is not on Ocean Boulevard - perhaps the Tides would be a good location, but you can't go wrong with the Betsy - unless you want to spend a lot of time lazing by the pool.....

Room Tip: Family of 4 fits in a Master Suite - just.....(with use of the sofa bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A beautiful hotel built in the 1930's with all the charm of the past and modern immenities to make for an incredible stay. The service was incredible and the location was perfect. I would highly recommend and will stay here again! Special thanks to Christopher the doorman - my kids thought you were awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear AdamsFamily2,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for recognizing Christopher. I'm happy we were able to help make your family getaway perfect. You are correct, that our Master Suites (with either a king or two double beds) do make for a great family room. I believe that we have the most comfortable sofa beds (in all of our suites) in Miami Beach (we have a secret way of accomplishing that). We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.