We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place in Miami Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hannover, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the perfect place in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very sweet boutique hotel at Ocean Drive with the beach right accross the steet. Pefect setting and location in the center of south beach with everything in walking distance. The walet parking service is great, but not cheap ( but as everywere in Miami Beach).Traveling as a family with 3, we had a 1-bedroom suite which was great for us at a good rate, however the sofa-bed was ok, but not brilliant. Amazing great staff everywere in the hotel, wonderfull, very helpful, very friendly. Great athmosphere in the hotel, that makes you very much feel at home. We would definetely come back to this hotel next time in Miami beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    287
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
266
757
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Betsy Hotel for three nights at the end of May begin of June. If you are looking for a smaller boutique hotel then this is definately the nicest hotel I came across, in terms of high end and luxurious rooms, the staff are extremely helpful and attentive. Though like everything in Southbeach the hotel is not cheap, a glass of wine at the bar was $15 and you pay a resort fee on top of the price of the hotel.

The downside of this hotel is that although it is located in south beach I didn't find Ocean Drive to be particularly nice and the outlook from the hotel wasn't great, it overlooks the sidewalk, this I found quite disappointing. The only view from the beach I guess would be at the top floor of this hotel.

The room we were given was lovely but our only negative point was that the view from our window was of a narrow backstreet.

If you are looking for value for money then I'm afraid I felt this place did not deliver, although nice I have stayed in far nicer places for far less and wouldn't be in a rush to return to this part of Florida or this hotel.

We also stayed in the Edgewater Hotel about ten yards away for one night on our return journey and we both felt this offered much better value for money, the rooms were clean tidy, the resort fee included breakfast, staff just as friendly as in the Betsy but at a lower cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear CarolineMC,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Actually half of our rooms face our Courtyard Pool, with a quiet serene pool view - and of course, our Oceanfront Rooms and Suites are also quite nice and are only on our 2nd and third floors. Please let us know if you are coming back to South Beach, as our repeat Guests always have 1st priority with upgrades and we will see if we can't make you a lifetime Betsy fan!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. Uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was a great find,
Situated between the deco district and the high rise apartment and hotels. It quite location opposite the park and beach, near the shops and Starbucks!
We could walk anywhere or cycle (hire bikes opposite)
The hotel was small boutique, colonial in style, very helpfully staff.
We did not use the pool as sun loungers, umbrellas and towels were provided for the guests on the beach opposite which was quiet compared to the rest of the beach area.
The BLT Resturant was fantastic, don't bother ordering a starter, as giant popovers ( a cross between a yorkshire pud and a brioche) were given. steak very good. Never made it to desserts!!
The roof top terrace was great to have a drink and watch the sun go down.
I would definatly go again, I did my home work and did find a company that offered a good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This very charming hotel exceeded my expectations with the most accommodating and thoughtful staff. The Betsy has the expected historical South Beach architecture with a style that is casually elegant and tasteful. The location is perfect, situated right across the street from the beach. The staff was very attentive. They sent me a beautiful dessert for my birthday, provided me an umbrella for the rain, granted me a late check out; among other things. The rooms are comfortably chic and simple with all of the comforts necessary for a holiday, thoughtfully stocked mini bar and pantry, as well as wonderful toiletries. Lastly, I had a most memorable lunch a BLT Steak, located inside the hotel. Thank you to The Besty. I promise to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I honestly had the best Miami South Beach experience thanks to The Betsy Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and kind; the concierge service was impeccable. The hotel's location to the beach is more convenient then the larger hotels right on the beach. The Betsy have a beach service which helped us save on average $40 a day on the beach facilities.

The rooms were well air conditioned with lovely beds that were extremely comfortable. A lovely closet that could accommodate for 2 ladies that love dressing for every occasion. There was a TV in the bathroom which I love because I can catch up on the news while taking a shower or brushing my teeth. Free Wifi in your room and the lobby that was quiet helpful for someone who doesn't live in the states.

Their gym is small but it was perfectly fine for someone who just wants to do a bit of cardio and light weights. The gym provided the guests with free water and towels, which is extremely nice.

The only thing we found that was a bit disappointing was their continental breakfast. I believe they could have done a bit better. However, my over all experience was extremely positive, I would definitely go back to and stay at the same hotel if I ever go back to Miami.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet nice so just ask for a sea view instead of a pool view room their pool isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Good stay, nice staff, clean and proper..

Right on Ocean Drive but 2 blocks away from the party people so clam, cool and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Betsy several times and keep coming back. Unbeatable location on Ocean Drive within walking distance from great food and bar scenes. Each time we have been the service has been great. The hotel is clean and makes you feel like you're in high society as soon as you walk in the doors. Would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.