We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very welcoming stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I loved staying at the betsy hotel. I reserved a regular room and was upgraded to their executive ocean view suite as they noticed i was there for a night and the room was free. Since they were making sure the suite was up to par the front desk staff offered us free drinks at their bars. The concierge was also very friendly in offering her services. In fact, all of the staff at the betsy were veryy friendly and helpful during my stay. And the room and view were fantastic! Most of all, i loved the location - close to the beach on ocean ave and at the tip of lummus away from the noise. Also very close to lincoln rd mall and espanola way. Stay here! You won't regret it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    299
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
268
769
67
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

During my stay I felt like I got a glimpse into the easygoing artistic, trendy, sophisticated flair and energy in South Beach, which makes the Betsy such a rare find in the area, unlike so many other SoBe hotels that just seem like they try too hard / are pretentious. From the second we entered, the staff / front desk was incredibly helpful and the concierge took the time to understand what we were looking for and provided a number of thoughtful suggestions. Room service came more quickly than expected. Loved all the details around the lobby and rooms; clearly all well thought out from start to finish. Convenient beach access and a cozy, low key pool area. We had an early breakfast and got spa treatments on the roof deck, which was also an awesome place to people watch and to go for sunrise and oceanview. Ended our stay with a delicious dinner at BLT amongst a great crowd. All in all, would hands down stay at this hotel again. I came away feeling like I learned something special about South Beach by staying here; have yet to find another place like it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear AA2162,

What a great review - it sounds like you found much of what the Betsy has to offer: The Rooftop Spa, BLT Steak dining, great Room Service and perhaps the best people watching in the city on our front Terrace (hopefully with illy Coffee or a Mojito, depending on the hour!). I suppose I am a little biased, but I agree with you, there is nothing like the Betsy anywhere in Miami Beach! We look forward to your return visits whenever you need a break from the Big Apple.

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We came to Miami to celebrate a birthday. The Betsy is well located at the northern edge of ocean drive, and so it's a little quieter than southern ocean dr. The staff was very attentive, particularly Paul, the concierge, and Robert the doorman. everyone goes out of their way to be helpful. Upon check-in we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a suite witha bottle of champagne, a small chocolate cake and a hand written card expressing birthday wishes. The rooms and lobby are meticulously clean and very well appointed and decorated. Also no south beach musty smell that I've found in other places. The continental breakfast which was included in our room rate was very tasty, though breakfast service was less than exceptional. We also very much enjoyed the yoga class on the beautiful roof deck in the morning. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. Would certainly go again when we are in south beach and I would send friends .

Room Tip: Corner Suite 323 is great with ocean views and great light, yet quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the South Beach Betsy to celebrate my 60th birthday. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The first thing the staff did was to send a complementary bottle of champagne up to my room as a congratulatory gesture. The Betsy is right on Ocean Drive and close to all the action -- a short walk to shopping on Lincoln or night life on Ocean, but without the noise of some of the other hotels. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel was immaculate and the rooms were adorable. Although not an art deco hotel, the Betsy is a small, well appointed boutique hotel where the staff remembers your name and goes out of their way to make your stay pleasant. If I had to make one suggestion, I would probably say that the pool area could be improved. It was clean, but kind of drab and got very little use by the guests. But with the beach right across the street, it had little impact on our stay. I would stay at the Betsy again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We just got back from a 10 day holiday in Miami Beach, staying @ The Betsy. It is a really classy hotel and lived up to expectations. We were upgraded to a suite the day after arrival (thanks go to Nicky on reception for that) and the service throughout our stay was excellent. The hotel is in the perfect location - only minutes from the beach and at the quieter end of Ocean Drive. We were there for the (in)famous Memorial Day weekend but felt very safe @ The Betsy.
Only one small surprise - why no in-room movies?

Room Tip: The room allocated to us on arrival was too small for a 10 day stay - so it's definitely worth a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for your review of the Betsy! 10 days is a great stay - we always try to accomodate our longer stays in our suites or larger rooms if they are available. Of course the safest bet is to book a suite from the beginning if a lot of living space is what you are looking for. Memorial Day Weekend is a tremendous amount of energy in South Beach, and I am happy to hear that you (as all of our Guests) felt that the peace and serenity of the Betsy was a better choice than the club-madness of some of the other Miami Beach hotels. I will pass your comments on to Nikky at the Front Desk - and we look forward to seeing you next spring!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

With such a short stay we wanted to make the most of it, Paul the concierge made it happen:)
He recommended a lovely Italian restaurant and to view Miami's waterways by speed boat. We had a fabulous time and would love to go back to the Betsy.
The room was spacious and clean, the ambiance of the hotel is wonderful, all the staff we met were very cheery and helpful, and the food was cooked beautifully!!
We couldn't have asked for more, and would love to recommend and revisit.
T & S from Oz!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Betsy is a great stay in south beach!
GREAT location - right on Ocean Dr., walking distance to Lincoln Rd. & easy to get anywhere north or south.
Service is spectacular. Ed and Adam are the best! They were super attentive and helped to make our trip easy and special.
Hotel is beautiful with great amenities, BLT Steak is always a winner, rooftop bar/garden is a relaxing, private oasis with a beautiful view.
We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear M Pitson,

Thank you for your review - and I always appreciate it even more when our Guests remember staff who left an impression - Ed and Adam are indeed two of our very dedicted team. I firmly beleive that those of us with hospitality in our souls relish the opportunity to show of what we can do to make sure every Guest feels personally taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Betsy, again and again. It just gets better! Speaking of better, the next time you come in and try BLT, you can sample our new Raw Bar and Sushi offerings - hand slected by Laurnet Tourendel, of course, for his French spin on the great American Raw Bar!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.