We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and classic elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean and classic elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We (two parents and a teenager) only stayed for a one-night pre-cruise, but were very happy with The Betsy Hotel. While the room was a bit on the small side, we expected as much given the vintage of the hotel, so no grounds for disappointment. Everything was sparkling and clean and the staff was very friendly and competent. BLT steak was good and worked to accomodate our needs (exceptionally windy evening, so they moved our reservation from outside to inside with little trouble even though the restaurant was full).
The Betsy is just far enough north of the BOOMING party scene that you can enjoy a peaceful stay, yet stroll easily to the fun.
If we stay in South Beach again, we'll certainly book The Betsy again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    296
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
267
766
67
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is in a great location at the quiet end of Ocean drive but close to restaurants and shops on Collins and Lincoln.
Nice and chic decorating, very nice roof terrace for sunbathing, drinks, lunch etc and close to the beach with bed and umbrella service. It definitely has the feel of a boutique hotel.
The downsides are that the 2 rooms we had for our family were both a little small (although not a problem), and if the pool is a big deal for you then there are hotels with better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Outstanding and friendly service, impeccably clean rooms and the perfect location right on South Beach are three reasons The Betsy Hotel is my favorite on South Beach. I've stayed at the larger luxury hotels on South Beach and they have nothing on The Betsy Hotel. Everyone at The Betsy is sincerely friendly, they remember your name and are willing to do anything to make your stay exceptional. The rooms can be tiny but are beautiful, very efficient and perfectly clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Betsy exudes class from the minute you see its exterior. It sits between the louder establishments and the high rise hotels and residences. Quiet yet close enough to everything to have the night of your choosing. We had originally booked a Master King Suite which we discovered was a beautiful room with a view of an alley. Wanting a view of the ocean we switched to a much smaller room on the 3rd floor but with beautiful palm tree and beach views. If a view of the ocean is important, ask for 3rd floor facing Ocean Drive, it was worth the reduced space. The beach is a minute walk across Ocean Dr and the boardwalk. The hotel has an agreement with a vendor on the beach for chairs, umbrellas and towels. Very professional and friendly outfit. A quick shout out to Robert at the hotel who consistently pointed out the best places to shop, eat, etc. He made our trip great. The rooftop has comfortable couches, a bar and terrific vuews of the ocean Service is very quick and friendly thoughout the hotel. If you want to experience South Beach but get a good night sleep, value service and a beautiful hotel..look no further.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing Ocean Drive if you want a view of the ocean (partially obstructed by palm trees)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Well this had a lot to live up to given our two previous hotels but The Betsy has a charm all of her own, and was a wonderful experience. The room was small compared to the other hotels we had stayed in on our trip but in keeping with the Art Deco period. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. I had Lobster which was divine but the baked potato that was served with it was the size of a small country and the best thing I have ever tasted...go figure. I was only sorry I couldn't manage to eat it all or bring it home with me!! Great location, one of the best on Ocean Drive as its away from the noise. Big Red the in house singer was fantastic, give him a topic and he would make up a song there and then, he even made up a song for us about our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We loved our stay there. Super friendly/helpful staff. Great design/look/feel. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed for 2 days with my family after having spent 5 days in the Keys. The Betsy is all what we are looking for : exceptional location, cosy/charming/high class hotel, incredible attention from the employees (not too much, just the perfect attention), small rooms for a family but all brand new with a mix of high tech & 'colonial' touch. What you see in the Deco magazines is all at The Betsy. It has been a long time I did not spend such a good time in a hotel. Congratulations to the owner and the staff, we will come back next year, but for a week this time

Room Tip: Room facing the pool is really calm and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.