We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Betsy Hotel in Dec 2010. The hotel, the service, the ambiance has to rate as one of the best of all the hotels I have ever stayed at. This was our second trip to Miami and the last time was singularly unimpressed with Miami. In fact I would go so far as to say that we simply took it off our list and avoided it if we could. This time we were catching a cruise that left from Miami so really had no choice. All I can say is that this time we loved Miami we are both convinced it was as a result of this fantastic hotel. I also had left my camera behind in the room and the e mail follow up to return it was absolutely first class. Yes... My camera was returned to me and they offered to post it back to me. I can't say enough about this place and if you read this before booking and go elsewhere, don't ever complain.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    298
    94
    36
    14
See reviews for
268
768
67
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

it felt like we were staying at a friend's perfect beach house rather than at a hotel. beautiful decor throughout the hotel-- public spaces and our suite, attentive concierge, wonderful menu (including breakfast available at lunchtime) at BLT restaurant located in hotel lobby. perfect location for beach and shopping and walking around.
a spectacular peaceful and spacious rooftop. comfortable and inviting front porch for eating, drinking or just people watching. this was a great visit to miami beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

New Years 2012 my partner and i stayed in a suite at the Betsy Hotel. This was the absolute best New Years of my life and I owe a lot to the incredible service and quality of this hotel. I really felt like I was comfortably at home when staying here. Paul at the concierge booked our entire holiday's meals, including getting us amazing seats at completely booked top trendy miami beach restaurants, and yes, including new years eve at 8pm!! I was blown away by how connected this hotel is to the top miami restaurants. I have never been enamored by a hotel like the Betsy since it perfectly is styled like a tropical resort right on the beach, but on a perfect block that doesn't get too crazy at night. I am absolutely staying here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suite, it's worth it! But regardless, make sure you have the concierge bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for the glowing comments you’ve posted about your New Year’s stay at The Betsy. Experiences and comments like yours are our best reward. Here at The Betsy we believe our best marketing is great service that leads to amazing word of mouth and comments such as yours.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you and your partner come home again soon and often.

Kind regards,

Ed


Ed Ponder
Director of Guest Services
The Betsy – South Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Overall a very good hotel but there was very little water in the shower which really did destroy the overall experience. Drinks a bit too pricey and the staff a bit overwhelmed at times. But great location right on South Beach and a great room/decor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for a night as a getaway from family so my experience is somewhat limited, but all in all it was a wonderful hotel.

The location on Ocean Drive is excellent- at the northern end so you're a short walk to both Lincoln Rd. pedestrian mall and the beach (right across the street). Ocean Drive can be a bit insane- lots of people and crowded sidewalk restaurants, but walking into the Betsy that all disappeared.

The front door and check-in staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Checkin was quick and we were headed towards our room in a matter of minutes. The room was great- stylish decor, big comfy bed, cool technology (flat panel tv with hookups for your own gadgets, a tv built into the bathroom mirror).

There's a beautiful rooftop deck with a bar and ocean views. Had we stayed longer we would have spent more time there.

Only complaint is that the floors are all hardwood (with a rug under the bed) so you'll hear any/all footsteps if the person above you is wearing shoes. We had someone pacing above early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I checked in for one night at the Betsy for a quick escape from our family. The Betsy was absolutely lovely and suited our purpose perfectly. I was hesitant to stay on Ocean Drive, as the last time we did, we were farther south and the streets were filled with hawkers and the noise from the street was distracting. The Betsy is far enough north to escape the noise, yet still right on Ocean Drive with beach access. With BLT Steak as the hotel restaurant, there is no one yelling at you, "$5.95 breakfast special!" I appreciate a place classy enough not to serve a gigantic plastic glass of tequila with a beer bottle sticking out. A serious plus.

The room was just right, charming with its library and a large comfy bed, and the yummy smelling Malin+Goetz toiletries were pure luxury. The TV in the bathroom mirror was a cool touch; a fun novelty but if you don't want the TV, it disappears in the mirror. Even the smaller touches, like the art work in the hall, were just right. We loved the photographs exhibited and stopped every time we walked past to read the details on the artwork. By far, though, my favorite part of the hotel was the roof-top deck. My husband and I sat outside with a stunning view of the ocean. The barman was super helpful and we enjoyed appetizers from BLT with our drinks on a perfect winter evening.

The only negative is our room on the first floor kept out the sounds of the street (it was a poolside room), but the sounds of the folks upstairs getting up early were quite loud. You could hear every footstep. Also, we weren't interested in the pool, but it is shaded by the building, and it's not the kind of pool you'd like to hang out for the day.

But those are small nitpicks on an otherwise great hotel. The Betsy is a sophisticated option right in the heart of South Beach.

Room Tip: For the sake of quietness ask for a room on the top floor, poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for one night at The Betsy on our driving trip around Florida. It was our first time to Miami and Miami Beach and we weren't sure what to expect. We decided to splurge on an expensive hotel (by our standards) as it was our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great position just over the road from South Beach. It was not too busy out the front of the hotel, though a few people stop to take photos of the beautiful facade. There is a roof top bar where you get great views of South Beach, as well as another 2 bars inside and a restaurant. Our room was very nice and was stocked with fantastic bathroom products. The staff are exceptional and cannot do enough for you. We were even given a lovely bottle of champagne with strawberries and chocolates as an anniversary present. We ate at the BLT Steak restaurant which was expensive but delicious. A great place to stay in Miami Beach if you are prepared to pay a little more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.