We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service i have ever experienced in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best service i have ever experienced in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

New Years 2012 my partner and i stayed in a suite at the Betsy Hotel. This was the absolute best New Years of my life and I owe a lot to the incredible service and quality of this hotel. I really felt like I was comfortably at home when staying here. Paul at the concierge booked our entire holiday's meals, including getting us amazing seats at completely booked top trendy miami beach restaurants, and yes, including new years eve at 8pm!! I was blown away by how connected this hotel is to the top miami restaurants. I have never been enamored by a hotel like the Betsy since it perfectly is styled like a tropical resort right on the beach, but on a perfect block that doesn't get too crazy at night. I am absolutely staying here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suite, it's worth it! But regardless, make sure you have the concierge bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for the glowing comments you’ve posted about your New Year’s stay at The Betsy. Experiences and comments like yours are our best reward. Here at The Betsy we believe our best marketing is great service that leads to amazing word of mouth and comments such as yours.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you and your partner come home again soon and often.

Kind regards,

Ed


Ed Ponder
Director of Guest Services
The Betsy – South Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    272
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
253
709
64
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Overall a very good hotel but there was very little water in the shower which really did destroy the overall experience. Drinks a bit too pricey and the staff a bit overwhelmed at times. But great location right on South Beach and a great room/decor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for a night as a getaway from family so my experience is somewhat limited, but all in all it was a wonderful hotel.

The location on Ocean Drive is excellent- at the northern end so you're a short walk to both Lincoln Rd. pedestrian mall and the beach (right across the street). Ocean Drive can be a bit insane- lots of people and crowded sidewalk restaurants, but walking into the Betsy that all disappeared.

The front door and check-in staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Checkin was quick and we were headed towards our room in a matter of minutes. The room was great- stylish decor, big comfy bed, cool technology (flat panel tv with hookups for your own gadgets, a tv built into the bathroom mirror).

There's a beautiful rooftop deck with a bar and ocean views. Had we stayed longer we would have spent more time there.

Only complaint is that the floors are all hardwood (with a rug under the bed) so you'll hear any/all footsteps if the person above you is wearing shoes. We had someone pacing above early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I checked in for one night at the Betsy for a quick escape from our family. The Betsy was absolutely lovely and suited our purpose perfectly. I was hesitant to stay on Ocean Drive, as the last time we did, we were farther south and the streets were filled with hawkers and the noise from the street was distracting. The Betsy is far enough north to escape the noise, yet still right on Ocean Drive with beach access. With BLT Steak as the hotel restaurant, there is no one yelling at you, "$5.95 breakfast special!" I appreciate a place classy enough not to serve a gigantic plastic glass of tequila with a beer bottle sticking out. A serious plus.

The room was just right, charming with its library and a large comfy bed, and the yummy smelling Malin+Goetz toiletries were pure luxury. The TV in the bathroom mirror was a cool touch; a fun novelty but if you don't want the TV, it disappears in the mirror. Even the smaller touches, like the art work in the hall, were just right. We loved the photographs exhibited and stopped every time we walked past to read the details on the artwork. By far, though, my favorite part of the hotel was the roof-top deck. My husband and I sat outside with a stunning view of the ocean. The barman was super helpful and we enjoyed appetizers from BLT with our drinks on a perfect winter evening.

The only negative is our room on the first floor kept out the sounds of the street (it was a poolside room), but the sounds of the folks upstairs getting up early were quite loud. You could hear every footstep. Also, we weren't interested in the pool, but it is shaded by the building, and it's not the kind of pool you'd like to hang out for the day.

But those are small nitpicks on an otherwise great hotel. The Betsy is a sophisticated option right in the heart of South Beach.

Room Tip: For the sake of quietness ask for a room on the top floor, poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for one night at The Betsy on our driving trip around Florida. It was our first time to Miami and Miami Beach and we weren't sure what to expect. We decided to splurge on an expensive hotel (by our standards) as it was our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great position just over the road from South Beach. It was not too busy out the front of the hotel, though a few people stop to take photos of the beautiful facade. There is a roof top bar where you get great views of South Beach, as well as another 2 bars inside and a restaurant. Our room was very nice and was stocked with fantastic bathroom products. The staff are exceptional and cannot do enough for you. We were even given a lovely bottle of champagne with strawberries and chocolates as an anniversary present. We ate at the BLT Steak restaurant which was expensive but delicious. A great place to stay in Miami Beach if you are prepared to pay a little more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our family loved The Betsy. Far enough away from the party scene but close enough to beach, shops, and restaurants. Hotel has a unique charm, not sterile in any way. It really gives you a flavor of South Beach. Pay extra for a suite if you have more than 2 people. Staff was nice about early check in and accommodating our request for a 3rd floor room. Hotel roof was incredible-go there for sunrise and bring a camera. Our suite slept 4 comfortably. Beds and bath products are 5 star quality. We made the right decision not to pay for ocean view which is blocked by palm trees. Hotel pool just ok-water was cold but who cares when beach is across the street. Beach set up is the best with chairs and umbrella. The Betsy made our South Beach vacation a memorable three days-would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, ask for a third floor room on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This hotel is so gorgeous, definitely one of the best on South Beach!! It is so classy, high-end, and the staff is outstanding. The ambiance is so wonderful, and the food at the restaurant is to die for! Really, our stay was fantastic!

The rooms are a tad small, but it's not an issue if you're only staying for a few days. The pool is located in the center of the hotel (building surrounds it) so it's in the shade for a lot of the day, so it was far too cold to go in in mid-December. However, it's right across the street from the beach, and free beach chairs/service is included with your stay, so that's outstanding. The location of the hotel cannot be beat! Walking distance from the Lincoln shopping area, which was awesome as well! Also, there's a TV in the bathroom mirror! How cool is that?!

The hotel staff went above and beyond to make our stay a positive and enjoyable one, and although it's a bit pricey, it was really fantastic!! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;