We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed for two nights at The Betsy before going on a cruise. I was a little apprehensive about staying on South Beach as I remembered from previous trips that it could be a little too lively for my taste. The Betsy, however, turned out to be a a perfect sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive.

Set at the end of Ocean it turned out to be a perfect place to stay. So tranquil and calm you had to remind yourself that only moments away the SoBe party was in full swing. To be able to dip out of the full on noise of the bars and restaurants and retreat to such a relaxing haven such a short distance away was perfect.

The room was probably not as big as I had hoped for but was tastefully decorated and very clean. BLT is not to be missed, the photography on display throughout the hotel is fabulous and the views from the rooftop garden were spectacular.

Turning to the staff, I really don't recognise the negative comments from other contributors. My experience of them was first rate, particularly the front desk staff who couldn't do enough to help. This was further enhanced when returning from the cruise to pick up something I had left in the room they offered to look after our luggage for the day while we waited for an evening flight.

All in all I would happily recommend the Betsy to anybody wanting to stay in the South Beach area and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your kind words in your review. It always means a lot to us when our Guests appreciate the details - the artwork, the serene surroundings...and of course, our staff, of whom I am very proud. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    928
    258
    88
    33
    12
See reviews for
226
672
59
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I traveled to South Beach in May 2011 to celebrate her birthday, and had a wonderful stay at The Betsy. The room was small, but wonderfully furnished, and the bed was as comfortable as you could ever hope for. Having a television literally in the mirror in the bathroom was quite a unique touch! We spent 3 nights there, and attended a Miami Heat playoff game, and the concierge (don't remember his name) was wonderful in directing us to places following the game that were more subtle and laid back, as opposed to the loud clubs available along the strip.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning on the sidewalk outside the hotel, with absolutely beautiful views of the beach and ocean. We even meeting a few celebrities walking down the sidewalk past the hotel which only added to our total experience.

On her birthday we did a couples massage at the rooftop spa, and again enjoyed beautiful views and wonderful service from the staff. Our stay was perfect for what we were looking for, and we are excited about returning again next spring for another getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Betsy is a charming, well-located South Beach hotel. The rooms, while tiny, are nicely decorated. The linens are lovely, the bathroom products divine, the twice-daily maid service a treat. The restaurant, BLT, is wonderful!

The major problem with the hotel? The SOUR staff. With the exception of the front desk staff and restaurant servers, most of the staff do not seem to understand the concept of "hospitality"... Hardly once during our stay did a doorman greet us with a smile and a "good morning" or "have a nice day" as we departed... Such a simple thing to do to make a guest feel at home.

There was no friendly banter from the bar personnel either. While the cocktail waitresses do try hard to please, they definitely need to be more familiar with the drinks they serve. Our worst experience? One bartender decided to "teach us a lesson" by serving us a glass of water disguised as the Gibson we had sent back that he CLEARLY did not know how to make. Imagine that! Any competent manager would have escorted such an unprofessional - and vindictive - employee to the door. While the manager did pick up the tab after we complained, we unfortunately had to endure this creep's glaring at us every time we walked by the bar for the duration of our stay.

I recommend that the Management head down the street to The Tides and take a few lessons from their team. On a previous stay there we were greeted each day by ever-smiling faces. We were addressed by name, and offered bottles of water to take with us on our walks or to the beach. This is what a small hotel experience is all about! Their good cheer was infectious...

I don't know what exactly the problem is at the Betsy but they need to fix it. And when they do, this really will be a terrific place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. We were woken 2 of the 4 nights by the resident above us, dropping things on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Ms. Pruitt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We value our Guests' opinions very highly, and when an unusual occurence such as what you describe occurs, it is very important for us to hear about it. As you can see from many of our reviews, our staff is one of our most appreciated assets, and I am sorry that this was not your experience. I would be happy to discuss this issue with you further, and to hopefully have another opportunity for you to experience a more typical Betsy stay, one filled with only fond memories.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Second time at Betsy.
The first time I had to ask to change room since they gave me a room which was right below the compressors of the air conditioning which was more noisy than a train station. They even told me that they didn't know about the noise. Can you imagine they never realised in years that they have an air conditioning system? My collegues forced me to go again this year for one night. They lost my jacket which was left to the bell boy. My secretary wwas calling them and they told her that they found it. Guess what? I went personally to take it and the jacket disappeared!!!! They even claimed that nobody ever called them treating my secretary like a stupid one. This is absurd. I understand this stupid people they might like the style of the jacket but this is not a good reason to make it disappearing.... Absolutely not worth the price. I rather give my money to the church.

Room Tip: not with air conditioning engines close by!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Allesandro,

Thank yo for taking the time to write your review - although I am sad that this incident with your jacket caused you such confusion. A hotel often takes the brunt but solves the problem - however as we explained in person, we neither had your jacket nor do we have anyone working at the Betsy by the name that your secretary insists she talked to. It's an easy mistake with over 100 hotels in Miami - but one that, I regret has caused such a low opinion of us in your eyes. I would be happy to talk to you further to try to come up with an amicable solution to this situation. Our Guests - especially our return Guests - are very important to us, and I was happy to see you return and felt that we had solved the problem with your 1st stay (the malfunctioing AC unit) to your satisfaction enough to bring you back. I would appreciate another opportunity to make you a fan for life - if you give us the opportunity.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Well worth a stay, the Betsy retains style and peace and quiet despite its location, rooms are comfortable and well-equipped, cleanliness is excellent. Pricing at the bar and the in-house steakhouse "BLT" is high but there are good eating and drinking alternatives nearby, especially the exceptional Jerry's Deli around the corner for breakfast.
A pretty hotel with a nice atmosphere and professional staff. Expect to enjoy this.

Room Tip: If you're going there because of the location, then make sure you get the sea view rooms. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Novindcha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do indeed provide a peaceful respite from what can sometimes be a very energized city! Our repeat Guests are very important to us, so be sure to mention that the next time that you stay for special offers and upgrades that are available from time to time. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again...

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great location. Helpful staff, particularly knowledgable concierge (Paul). Our too brief two day stay in South Beach could not have been more fun - much due to the Betsy experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location if Miami Beach nightlife is your destination. The Betsy is in the middle of it all, right on Ocean Drive.

We saw some of the neighbouring properties such as the Hilton Grand Vacation Club, Waldorf and The Tides and were very happy to have booked The Betsy.

It has a good feel, the rooms are nice and all the public areas are well appointed and fit the Miami Beach style.

The concierge was only moderately helpful when asked about Bars she could recommend, she reeled off three or four but didn't volunteer where they were situated in relation to the hotel or how they differed from each other.

That was the only minor fault we found, apart from a $15 resort fee and $35 parking fee. A resort fee does not feel appropriate for this type of hotel, just add it to the room price and be upfront about it. The parking added to the resort fee became slightly annoying.

I can still recommend The Betsy, just factor it into the room price.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.