We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Betsy - South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW Breakfast with Betsy
Ranked #4 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights at The Betsy during a recent visit to Florida. Reception staff were very welcoming and we were very happy with our room. We dined one evening in the restaurant and would happily have eaten there again had they had space. Do reserve to avoid disappointment. Paul the Concierge was extremely helpful and his recommendations and help with reservations etc made our holiday even better. Also thanks to Robert the doorman for his friendliness and helpful manner. Indeed all the staff were great. Lovely roof bar, great mohitos....we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    258
    88
    33
    12
See reviews for
225
672
59
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

My best friends and I were going to Miami for the first time and definitely wanted to stay right on the beach...well we did, but paid over $320/night while doing so. We expected so much out of a $300/night room but totally disappointed. The hotel was cute, but the rooms were extremely small. I mean there was NO extra space at all in this place!

Our room wasn't the cleanest either, there was old soap with pubic hair in the shower and when we requested that the maid come to clean it up, she ended up putting the dirty soap in my soap dish! YUCK! So after calling downstairs to complain, they went to the store to purchase new soap for me and gave us complimentary champagne for the hassle.

The day before we checked out, it rained and our room was leaking so they moved us into a suite that was really nice. Unfortunately we couldn't really enjoy it like we wanted to because we were only in there for one night.

Overall our experience was just okay...I definitely wouldn't pay that kind of money to stay there again.

Pros:
Literally right across the street from the beach
Great service
Great food

Cons:
Tiny room
Overpriced

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for recently staying with us. We’re delighted to read you felt the hotel was cute, the food and service was great and our oceanfront location ideal for your plans. We apologize for falling short of your expectation with the size of your room. The leak and our failure to properly service your room are both unacceptable incidents that were addressed immediately to insure they are not repeated. We hope you'll consider staying with us again, maybe booking our suite, the next time your travel plans include South Beach. Warm Regards, Ed Ponder, Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

What a beautiful hotel! You couldn't find a better spot - just across the road from the famous South Beach with the whitest sands & bluest ocean. The room was a delight, very comfy beds, pretty decor, not huge but large enough. We were very taken with the TV in the mirror in the bathroom - totally unnecessary but great fun. Our only complaint is that on top of the high price you are charged a mandatory fee of $15 a day to cover wifi & beds & towels on the beach (2 only per room & there were 3 of us!) The wifi didn't work at all during our stay & the guys working on the beach were bot the most charming of staff. They wouldn't give us a third bed & made a lot of noise around 5 pm clearing beds and making it very obvious that they'd like to be getting off home.
I really feel that when you're being charges around $600 a night they don't need to make any add ons. Best Western gives you free wifi, towels & breakfast!!

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Great hotel and location! Directly across from the beach and handy to lot's of good restaurants.
Our room was small but very nice. Service was great. BLT restaurant serves delicious steaks(among other foods) but is quite expensive. Typical of south beach, it seems.
This was our first visit to south beach but I would happily return to the Betsy if we're ever in sobe again. My only hesitation in recommending the Betsey is the cost but if you have the $, it's a great spot!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Spent 2 nights at this fabulous hotel. Feels more like you are staying at a friends beach cottage...very comfortable rooms and inviting lobby area with relaxed atmosphere to have a drink before dining out....Mojito's outstanding!
Dined at BLT Steak first night...enjoyed a table outside. Service and food excellent. My only complaint is that there was way to much food.
Warning...they serve to die for Gruyere cheese popovers that are huge and taste amazing!
Dinner consisted of steak and short ribs both served in cast iron pots,very neat presentati
Look forward returning to the Betsy ...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Just finished a short weekend there with my girlfriends and sad to go. A fabulous weekend get away. Loved the decor, the location, roofdeck (amazing at night) and friendly service. Our room was beautifully decorated (I am an architect from manhattan and have high standards) and very clean. The only problem was that our room looked oyt into a back alley so we had little light and there was a lot of early morning noise. I would return in a heartbeat but would definitely stay on the ocean side!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was our first time to South Beach and I wanted to do it right for a relaxing Spring Break getaway The Betsy was a perfect choice. The photos they show on their website are accurate. it is a quaint, beautiful and relaxing hotel. The food is superb, the service is great and the rooftop deck can't be beat. We had a wonderful stay (4 days). It is a pure class act.

Room Tip: King sized bed w/ pool view - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy is an elegant, historic landmark hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate courtyard pool create an aura that is passionately low-key. Sharing The Betsy's lobby is BLT Steak, an iconic modern American steakhouse featuring a full Sushi & Raw Bar. Betsy's rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and complimentary sunrise yoga. The 61 room property cocoons its guests in timeless luxury, while offering an incredible view of the beach, exquisite amenities, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Betsy - South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.