We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #27 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I'm a request guest and spent 10 days with partner in December. I've noticed a couple of negative comments I want to give an honest opinion on. Ocean Drive is cool but tourist tastic and lets face it is just the sea. UK folks think Blackpool! It's cool to walk down but not fussed for staying on it! Especially when the view of the bay from the Mondrian is so amazing!! Now it takes 20 minutes to walk to the beach - which given all the eating/drinking you do is a good bit of gentle exercise.. or you can get a taxi. If like us you love walking it took us about 2 hours only because we strolled around with a star bucks and did a spot of shopping. I am well travelled and have experienced my fair share of poor service, but not once at the Mondrian!! Staff are always very helpful and willing to go the extra mile. The only down point which I'm pleased to say had nothing to do with the hotel was a large wedding group who clearly were off school the day the manners lesson was on! They took over the pool area, nappies & rubbish left for staff to pick up not to mention kids running riot and peeing on the ground in full view of parents! How the staff managed to keep their calm I'll never know as I certainly came very close to speaking with them directly. The staff were amazing and to all the people reading this, please don't let the most recent negative feedback put you off. I've never en-counted people like this in my life and I hope I never do again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your glowing review! I recall the pool antics the weekend you were here also. It is truly never like that. We are so proud of our staff and are committed to providing the best service possible. We hope to see you again very soon.

Please stop by the desk and introduce yourself. I would love to meet you both.
All the best,
Lisa McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    394
    148
    63
    35
See reviews for
166
610
74
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Words can not describe how much we love this place!! It was our 5th time back since the hotel opened and our stay was just as fantastic as the 1st time.. A very unique quality being that the majority of staff are the same as when we first visited, which says a lot about how good the group must be to work for. This is certainly mirrored in terms of the service you get. (Any jobs for a Business Manager needing sponsored to work in us?! ) We fell in love with the hotel and the bay view and always go for a high floor 1 bed balcony suite. Nothing more fantastic after a hard day at the pool sitting on your balcony in the amazing bath robes (which I keep meaning to buy) watching the sun set. What made our stay even more fantastic was David Arth who is the Pool Concierge. David has been with the hotel from the start and his customer service is exemplary!! Every hotel needs a David!! Nothing was a problem to him. We observered him dealing with extremely difficult customers very professionally!! I wish I could send my staff over to the US to learn proper customer service skills from David!! If you are looking for a modern funky hotel with fantastic service where you can embrace Miami life then this is most definitely the hotel to stay in!! It is expensive, but you get what you pay for and it's most definitely worth it - hence us planning our 6th visit as we speak!!!.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
We cannot express how your heartfelt words made our egos soar! It's great to know our happiness translates to guests. You are also spot on....every hotel needs a David but only Mondrian has him!! Thanks so much for taking the time to compliment our staff. We look forward to visit number 6 really soon.
All the best,
Lisa McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

fabulous hotel. the only thing i wish i could have had was the all inclusive option. we loved this hotel, amazing experience. we also had the option to use the facilities at the sister hotel which is called the delano. thats actually on the beach. FAB

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
We love that you had an "amazing" time at Mondrian. Our sister hotel Delano does have a great beach and our pool scene is breathtaking. We look forward to welcoming your "fab" self back to Mondrian real soon!
Best,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend in early Jan 11. The check is staff is amazing- so friendly. Ashley checked us in and was so down to earth and friendly. The bell staff always helped out whenever we needed anything. The pool guys are great, they can't greet you fast enough when you enter the pool area. The only complaint I had was with this one waitress by the pool, Holly. She was never around and wasn't friendly. We had hunt her down more than once to try and get our credit cards back. Other than that the room was beautiful, the hotel was amazing, the staff incredible. All around A++ (oh yeah and the city of South Beach is like a whole other world to us New Yorkers) I will be back to the Mondrian hands down.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments. Once again the amazing Ashley shines! We are very happy that you found the pool staff and bell staff to be so helpful. We are committed to providing stellar service in every outlet in our hotel. The pool, South Florida sun and Mondrian staff await your next visit!
Warm regards,
Lisa McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had two nights here booked at short notice after we were diverted to Miami by snow in New York. Its an odd place and first impressions weren't great. We were upgraded to a suite but to be honest I preferred the proportions of the standard rooms. Unfortunately our room had not been properly cleaned and with the gym below it belting out music in the evening and from 7 in the morning - peace and quiet were in short supply. Ashley on the front desk was magnificent in getting things sorted for us.

The hotel is highly styled throughout and whether or not you like it depends on your taste. (Rooms - no - too much style and not enough quality eg wardrobes very poor mdf, bathrooms - hilarious and fun. Pool and bar terrific)

We had a great dinner at Asia de Cuba arranged at short notice and without fuss by the indefatigable Ashley and I loved the vibe in the bar and poolside. Interesting people came alongside and just started conversation which was fun although there were also quite a number of guests trying just a little bit too hard to show off and impress.

Location is not ideal (about 15 minutes walk to the beach) but only 10 minutes walk to Lincoln road Mall and the viws over the Bay are great.

By the time we left (and Ashley had sorted us a late check out) the place had grown on us - it was a lot of fun and not quite liek anywhere we had stayed before.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you had a bit of a rough start. I am however thrilled that Ashely, who is indeed amazing, was able to sort out your challenges. It is our goal to make sure that every guest has a perfect stay. Being stranded on South Beach when there is a snow storm is not such a bad thing!
Ashley is so dedicated to our guests and we are pleased that you ended up being a fan of Mondrian We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Lisa McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the 2-bedroom suites, what a nice stay for a family with teenagers. We all had our space, with a lovely living/kitchen area with a balcony and fantastic views out every window. Convenient to restaurants and Whole Foods/Starbucks, lovely pool and spa and a fitness center that was the best at any hotel I had ever seen (real machines, with views of the miami skyline). Everyone was so helpful and nice, not one worker didn't ask if we were enjoying our stay and if we needed anything. The suite was plenty roomy for a large family or even 2 couples to share. I would definitely stay again, we had a wonderful stay yee.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It sounds las if you and your family had a wonderful stay. Our two bedroom suites are really perfect for families. There are lots of interesting things happening for teens to be enthralled by. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to Mondrian again.
Warmest regards,
Lisa McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at The Mondrian for a girls weekend and the hotel is........... interesting. Let's get the weird part out of the way - the faces of girls/dolls on the walls....... weird in my opinion. I did not understand it. In fact, we covered the face up because it was just a little too weird for us. Other than that, we were happy with our stay. The rooms were a good size and the kitchenette was very convenient. There is a Whole Foods around the corner and we were able to get snacks and wine to keep in the room. The bathroom was awesome - the rain shower out of a chandeleir - WAY COOL. The pool area was nice and the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisamondrian, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
Well...while you were not a fan of our "girl" it seems you did really appreciate most aspects of our hotel and that you had a great stay. Our designer, Marcel Wanders envisioned Mondrian as sleeping beauties palace. The girl on the walls is like an angel here to watch over you while you are a guest at the "palace" . Next time you decide to return please allow me to tour the property with you and I can show you all the secrets Marcel Wanders incorporated in the hotel.
Best,
Lisa McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Odigeo, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.