We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #19 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I travel for work and customer service is everything . I will read the negative reviews, Priscila was at the front desk during check in and she addressed my concerns. I will make the Mondrian my Hotel of choice during my stay in South Beach. I will recommend the Hotel to my Traveling friends. Job Well Done !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from Priscilla. She is but one of a team who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    385
    146
    59
    34
See reviews for
159
596
71
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel was amazing! I stayed for a extended girls weekend and can't wait to return. We had a bay view suite and the view was absolutely amazing. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Most importantly the bed was comfortable! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed sitting by the pool and eating sushi. Happy hour drink and appetizer specials were great. Would most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for your recent visit and for your recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed the very spacious Bay View Suite which offers amazing views. We are happy, too, that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We believe we have the best team in South Beach. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I previously stayed at Mondrian a couple years ago and had an ok time. I decided to give this hotel another try for a quick trip down to South Beach. I was presently surprised of the boost in service. Checking in was quick, easy, and polite by Natalie. The hotel is super clean and posh. Modern decor I love the girl on the walls so cute. The rooms are huge comparing to their competition. The service is a major improvement. By the pool, David is a great host. The waitresses are not bad at all but the star server is Louis. Food and drinks are great too. Really enjoyed the salt water pool. Only downfall would be house keeping missed 2 nights of our stay so staying in a dirty room on vacation for me is a total waste. Also the pool chairs are uncomfortable. Other than that, its a Green Light for a stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you. We are glad you noticed an improvement in service. We have made great effort in striving to deliver the best in South Beach. We apologize that your room was not serviced adequately. Our housekeepers clean rooms between 9:00am and 5:30pm. We hope to welcome you back soon

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Mondrian South Beach twice now. Both times we were generally happy with our stay. The hotel itself is on West Avenue at 11th, which is perfectly located (especially if you'd prefer to be away from the craziness of Ocean Drive!). The rooms are very nice, though I would say that they should pay a bit closer attention to a few cleanliness issues that plagued both of our visits. In particular, the shower's have some mould building up, and the couches and carpets are in need of being replaced. The valet staff are excellent, though $38/day plus tip is exorbitant. The pool staff are very hit and miss. We had great experiences with two of the pool staff -- David and Josh -- and must less favourable experiences with the servers. Not once, during our 5 day stay, did one of the servers come over to ask us if we'd like something from the bar. In terms of the pool, it's very very nice -- however, be prepared for a serious party scene; especially if you're there between Friday and Sunday. Overall, a nice hotel experience that could benefit from a few small tweaks.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor with a balcony overlooking the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your repeated and recent visit to Mondrian. We are glad you enjoyed our location, room product, and the service from the amazing David and his protege Josh. We apologize the you experienced inconsistent service at the pool, however. This and the cleanliness in your room have been addressed accordingly by our General Manager as your experience falls below our standards. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We love this hotel so much we never look to stay anywhere else when we visit the city for the WMC for a week every March. The staff are all super friendly (especially Ariel) we just adore her. The rooms are clean and airy. In previous years we've had a bay view studio, this year we chose a 1 bedroom bay view apartment. Both equally as decadent but obviously this year with a little more space and an added balcony. The views of the sunset are simply stunning and never fail to impress. With a 15 minute walk to south beach this hotel is a perfect location to escape the madness and maybe pay a little less. Overall the Mondrian is highly recommended if you can get it at a good price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent and repeated visit to Mondrian and for this kind review. We are delighted to know we are your "go to" hotel in Miami and agree the the Bay View One Bedroom Suite is really an awesome place to relax and enjoy the best of what we have to offer. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My friends and I were celebrating a bachelorette party and stayed at The Mondrian. Rooms are modern but inviting with very comfortable beds and pillows. Very accommodating staff from the front desk to the pool. The pool staff always smiling and anticipating our needs. We appreciated how interactive they were, especially Harry!

Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Heather,

Thank you for this kind review and for your recent visit. We are glad our staff, notably Harry, helped to make your celebratory stay special. We hope you will come back and join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Internet is fast.
Windows open (though not all that much.)
The rooms are very clean.
The sheets are nice and the bed is great.
The rooms are also much bigger than i thought they would be.
The hotel has a very chic vibe--really loud music in the hallway on the 12th floor--then i closed the doorr and my room became completely silent.
I am not chic but the staff was thoughtful and welcoming--polite and even kind at the front desk and on the phone as well.
I knew the fellow who started this hotel when i was young, but i only see him now, in passing, once every few years--so, i just wanted to say that to be clear--but it really has not affected my review...
View is great--on both sides--i have a street view and it is great but i walked out by the pool and the view from there is astonishing--
and the price was less than 1/3 the price of the Setai--where i have also stayed---and this place really is about as nice...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Maxwell,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for this kind review. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations both in service and in room product. We trust we will be your hotel when you visit Miami in the future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Fitness center...
Show More
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#2 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Quaint, Charmin...
Show More
City Center
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Pool, Spa, Char...
Show More
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#37 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Spa, Bout...
Show More
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#39 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.