We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #19 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I did really like the hotel, we were able to watch the 4th of July fireworks over the bay which was lovely. Unfortunately we got absolutely nothing for it being our honeymoon which was really disappointing, we didn't even have a room with a balcony and faced the road. Now I see reviews from other honeymooners saying they got an upgrade which is annoying! I guess we should have asked but I didn't like to. At first I didn't like the location, I felt a bit far away from everything but it is only about a 20 min walk to the mall or the beach. A cab is around $6 and the bus is $2. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They will help you with your bags, get you a cab, open doors for you, and are interested in what you are up to. The rooms are really nice and they have a small kitchen area with a hob for cooking however no pots or pans so I'm not sure what you are supposed to use to cook with? There are ice machines on each floor which was handy. The pool area was lovely but all the nice seating areas seemed to be roped off so I guessed you had to pay extra for those. Breakfast was good, it is fruit, cereals and pastries. At first I missed a full English but it was actually quite nice to have a healthy breakfast. Miami in general seems to be a place on a massive health kick! Although I enjoyed my stay I think it probably was the wrong choice for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Stacey,

Thank you for your review and your recent visit. We are sorry that we are only finding out now that it was your honeymoon as we usually do fun things for those celebrating special occasions, whether it be in the form of an upgrade or amenity. We are glad that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and our rooms comfortable. Cookware is available from housekeeping upon request.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    649
    354
    135
    54
    34
See reviews for
142
542
64
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and I must say everything was almost perfect other than the weather. It rained the last couple days we were there but still had a good time as my first experience with Morgan Hotel Group. The whole staff was awesome except for the morning waiters serving breakfast. A little lackadaisical plus $25 for two eggs and some bacon. $9 bottle of water.... Fresh squeezed orange juice. LOL Valet, front desk, receptionists, concierge Louis, bartenders, pool guys all super friendly and great especially Alex, Blaine, Karen and Ashley. Great drinks and food. Ultra modern rooms with double shower heads and really comfortable beds. House keeping were machines and did an excellent job at keeping the rooms clean. The bay views from the balcony are some of the best views I ever seen facing Star Island, downtown Miami and at sunset you could stare all night til early morning. Great hotel will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Any bay side room with balcony or bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jimmy,

Thank you. We appreciate your recent visit and are grateful for your recommendation. We are delighted our staff helped to make your stay memorable and hope you will join us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I needed a hotel for one night to introduce our friends (we used to live in South Beach) to our daughter (6 months). My husband stayed here last year for a wedding and was thoroughly impressed. Being new parents, I didn't realize when I booked the room, that once the baby went to bed, we wouldn't be able to do much. So, after we checked in and spent time at the pool, we decided to ask the front desk if we could be upgraded to a room with a patio. We explained them that we had an infant and really need somewhere to hang out after she went to bed. We were willing to pay the difference as long as it wasn't too much of an increase. They had a room available and agreed to let us switch. Five minutes later, they called and actually upgraded us to a one bedroom suite. This made such a difference and we are so appreciative of the upgrade. Overall, the hotel is amazing. The pool is beautiful and I love the location (away for all of the "tourist" hotels in Ocean). I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. We're pleased our staff was able to accommodate your request and upgrade your room. Our team is dedicated to providing original guest experiences in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner and we are delighted you found this to be the case. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location: The Mondrian is one of the few hotels on the bay side of South Beach. At first glance most will look at this as a negative. We were hesitant to book believing that the distance would be inconvenient. In practice however, it proved to be a wise choice. The hotel is a converted apartment block, and because of this is far away from the noise and is very clean and feels very safe. The position on the bay allows for the hotel to have a pool with a direct view towards Miami and the wealthy properties that are situated on the islands in between.

Staff: The staff are superb. We always felt as if we were given star treatment. Upon hearing that were on our honeymoon trip, the staff allocated us an upgrade. But even without this, we were made to feel at home and that no request was too much to ask.

Particular mention must be made to Nancy Lauck who ensured our stay was special from the second we walked through the door. And furthermore to Daniel Jauregui on the front desk.
I wouldn't normally note people's names, but the service was so good that I thought it necessary to ensure they are mentioned in the review.
Keep up the good work.
(from the number of hotel rooms I have reviewed, I believe I can state their service is among the best)

Rooms: Because this is a converted apartment block, the room sizes are significantly larger than average. We are still on our honeymoon, and I can say with certainty that our London and Paris hotel rooms would fit into our Mondrian room with still enough room left over for possibly half of our San Francisco room.

Would I stay again: Most certainly.

Other notes: The interior design of this hotel is quirky. The mainly neutral coloured walls and interior appointments are Euro-American (Dutch/ American). It may not be for everyone, but it ensures the rooms are never dull. The bright room interiors (there are far too many light sources in the room to count, which really bring life to the interiors), are contrasted but dark moody halls that in my opinion clash with the airy rooms. There is also a fragrance in the corridors that I cannot describe that may be annoying for some visitors, but I found the smell addictive. Could it be that they introduced a fragrance to excite the senses as they did with their interiors?

Room Tip: Only corner rooms on each corner have a balcony. A bay facing/west facing view is certainly worth pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Glenn,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for your kind review and recommendation. We're delighted our staff helped to make your honeymoon memorable and trust you will come back for many anniversaries to come.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Has to be my favourite hotel in the world .........

An absolutely amazingly beautiful hotel , the bay side balcony view suites are unbelievable , so much space and a fabulous balcony where we took the most amazing photos of the sun sets , the pictures were awesome .
Great views of Downtown Miami which is beautifully lit at night and a great view of the cruise ships when they came into port .

I always do my due diligence in any hotel I stay in and was intrigued by all the reviews I read about David the pool guy , who was this man , people seem to rave about him ???

Well David did not disappoint , he exceeded any expectation that I could ever imagine , he goes above and beyond his job to ensure your every whim is met ........
He truly loves his job and he quoted "I'm only a pool boy but I get to make you fabulous people happy every day " he is an absolute asset to the Mondrian.
He has an excellent sense of humour and looked after us as though we were celebrities , never in my life have I been so spoilt .

A friend of mine commented on my FB asking are you ever gonna leave the hotel and pool and go to the beach ? To which I replied why would I want to leave somewhere when I'm treated like a princess , my sun lounger is reserved for me every morning , complimentary carafes of iced water are brought to me hourly , my towels are replaced three times a day , I have the use of a cabana should I want it , I'm regularly asked " can I get you anything " why would I want to go to the beach ?

The sunset bar has a great happy hour where selected cocktails and champagne are priced at $5 between 5-6pm . $6 6-7pm , $7 7-8pm and $8 between 8-9pm. That's my kind of happy hour ! The mango mojito is to die for ....

The poolside staff are extremely friendly and polite a big shout to Harry Green who looked after poolside food which was awesome , the chicken wings are amazing, the red dragon sushi is out of this world and the Mondrian chopped salad with shrimp is just delicious , I lost count after having 9 of these amazing salads .

Big shout out to Ronny Cash who also worked poolside , one of the most amazing guys I've ever had the privilege to meet in my lifetime . He went over and above his job role every god damm day which unfortunately was to his detriment ....... It's a dog eat dog world in Miami and he was absolutely fantastic at what he did and I could see other pool side staff felt threatened by this , no one could match his customer service ethos and the rapport he built with the guests but when your last in your first out when others are jealous of you , they gang up and unfortunately Ronny was dismissed .
It was the saddest day of my holiday when this happened as the life and soul of the pool just died . The days after that were never the same , David as always tried to raise our spirits but it was never the same . It's a shame when other pool staff who have NO people skills and don't even bother to talk or interact with you remain in employment .........
I am taking this up directly with the Morgans Group as what I witnessed was borderline bullying .

Great pool parties on Saturdays and Sundays with great Dj's and if your lucky a pool party sponsored by Absolut .......Yay freebies all afternoon for us - another reason why I never left poolside .

A few celebrities frequented the Mondrian during our stay also .........

All in all an amazing hotel with fabulous facilities and an amazing view of he bay .

I will be back .......Mondrian I love you xxxx

Room Tip: Bay view balcony suite , the view is the equivalent of waking up on a cruise ship ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review. We agree that our Pool Experience is second to none, what with the amazing service and fantastic views of downtown. We are glad you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had trouble locating the hotel. Drove around the block a couple of times despite GPS. Turns out that the hotel does not in signage!!! No name up front anywhere !!!!!

Minimalist noveau lobby. Very friendly and capable reception staff. Shocking continental breakfast prices! The apartments are modern and furnished in a minimalist modern way. There has been a great deal of effort made in appearing different. The room would probably have been better if the pic of the weird cherubic girl wasn't in it.

Located a long ways from the South Beach. The name Mondrian South Beach is misleading. It should really be Mondrian Miami Bay. Especially as the only parking offered is valet parking at over $35.

Popular with younger folks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. We're glad you found our staff to be accommodating and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My Fiancée and I say at the Mondrian during the 4th of July week and had an amazing time. The staff was very friendly ad helpful for the entire time we stayed even during some issues we had checking in. The staff by the pool was extremely friendly and made our time out by their wonderful pool great.
Food was good, especially their lunch choices.
We stayed in room 806 and even though there is no balcony, the room is amazing. The bathroom and shower set up is something out of a movie. The bed was very comfortable and the room was always spotless.
My Fiancée and I would like I commend the housekeeping staff greatly for their outstanding work they did during our stay. Every time we came home, everything was cleaned, our clothes we left everywhere was neatly folded, organized our belongings and so much more. It was like coming home to grandma's cleaning and organizing.
The gym at the Mondrian is great as well.
I definitely recommend and suggest the Mondrian for anyone's stay in Miami Beach and there is a huge chance that my next visit o Miami will involve the Mondrian.

Only down side is the distance of the hotel to Ocean Drive and other attractions. It is still easy to walk to the beach, cab rides when needed and I suggest renting the deco bikes to get around which are cheap and riding around Miami Beach is fun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recent visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from our staff, notably that from our hard working housekeepers. They are part of a team of dedicated individuals who are committed to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. Thank you for commending their efforts.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Splendia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.