We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mondrian style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #19 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Rome
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The Mondrian style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

South Beach has so many hotel that makes difficult taking a decision when you have to chose one of them. My choice is very easy as I know The Mondrian has got something special. Rooms are exactly as you can see in the picture, clean, fashionable and well maintained. There so many hotels in South Beach that at the beginning are fabulous, but after 3 o 4 years begin to look old and dirty and a so many problem about mantainance. At the Mondrian everything is perfect, white, new, freshly painted. The staff is more than great, they help you in every kind of request, very efficient and professional in solving problems or just in giving you a tip to enjoy Miami at the best. Sandra at the reception and Louis at the concierge made our staying so special that we’ll never forget. This is Mondrian style, this is the way to feel like at home even you are 12 hours flight far away.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bay view, sunset is unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent and repeated visit with us as well as this nice review. We are delighted our staff helped to make your stay memorable and that you found our room product to be fresh and inviting. We look forward to many happy returns from you in the future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    385
    146
    60
    34
See reviews for
159
596
71
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Mondrian. I loved the hotel, it is gorgeous, and everything is white and shiny. This is a good hotel for those who wanna enjoy the pool and wanna stay within the vicinity of the hotel. The hotel is a residential area, hence it isn't too noisy which is kinda nice. I believe the hotel is priced a bit high given its location. For a more extensive review, check out my blog...
http://www.honeywhatscooking.com/2013/06/mondrian-south-beach-morgans-hotel.html

Pros:
Gorgeous Hotel & Lobby.
Very Nice Rooms.
Fully Furnished Rooms.
Kitchenette w/coffee, kettle & all.
Impeccable Customer Service.
Friendly Dining/Pool Staff.
Comfortable Beds.
Gorgeous Shower.
Gorgeous Cabanas.
View of Biscayne Bay.
Beautiful Sunset.
Happy Hour from 5 PM to 9 PM with drinks at a reasonable cost – $5 to $9 (rates goes by the hour).
Not Crowded, looks like most people stay on the main South Beach strip.
Generous Upgrades ~ Received Complimentary Wireless for a 4 night stay.

Cons:
Not centrally located ~ about a 15 to 20 minute walk to South Beach.
Priced a bit too high for a hotel that is located on the West side, pay the same price for a hotel on Collins Ave.
No Oceanview Rooms since it is on the bay side.
Water leaked outside the shower door leaving a huge puddle.
Expensive Drinks ~ $16 (no happy hour).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and made use of Happy Hour in Sunset Lounge. We hope to have you join us again in the future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went to the Mondrian for a long weekend. An earlier business trip showed it had promise as a spot for a quiet getaway - that was right. The staff is all about service from the staff that open your car doors, through the front desk, the concierge and even the staff that find seats and serve you poolside. Rooms are comfortable with excellent and updated furnishings. The food is very good and the pool is an awesome place for people watching. The combination of regular guests plus the model agency clients [there is an agency office at the hotel] guarantees you the chance to watch the young and the beautiful - and their predicatable antics - as you sip your drink. The hotel is convenient to all South Beach attractions, and even offers a Wholefodds store just a 2 minute walk away.

Room Tip: The cityside - poolside view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Rob,

Thank you for your kind review and recent visit. We appreciate your recommendation based upon our excellent service, location and clientele. We trust you will join us again when you are next in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I choose this hotel because my wife wants to enjoy the " Miami's Art Decco " and the hotel photos and the location where pointing to a great place to stay. When you choose a place for $650/night... you think that is going to be on the top of the list of the hotels like Waldorf Astoria or Ritz.

Environment :
Unfortunately, I was WRONG...this place is not a family oriented and to be quite frankly is not even a place to visit with your wife, because from the moment we arrived we notice the kind of luxury environment mixed with people that I can't tell here what kind the business they run.

Also the women in that place wearing dresses like you see in the movies... (where they play a role as scorts or something else like Vegas prostitutes).

Service :
The other side of the experience was the late...late...parties with fighting on the hallway at 2 am and the front desk did not send anyone to check with the incident.

Breakfast : you would not like to try the buffet. It is the most riduculous poor options and incredile pricy

Location : Great location and easy access to everywhere

Bed : bed was ok but not outstanding. Room was clean but not even a little chocolate of courtesy at the arriving time

As a conclusion...it is so many other incidents that I preffer do not include in my coments because this hotel has a big X for us, and we'll never return, no even for free.

Tip : don't ever visit this place in Memorial Day weekend. Because the Urban Concerts and other festivals, make the police to closed all the streets around this hotel. If you make a trip out of the island.... then the return will be hours away in the traffic to cross the bridge and get access to the hotel

Room Tip: I believe you can request a room with a balcony but I guess those are only for those who own a condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. It's true that whenever there is a special event in the city, our demographic tends to skew one way or the other. I think you'll find, however, that the majority of the reviews find us to be a nice respite and family friendly. We hope you will join us again when there is no city-wide event and see for yourself.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

OVERALL EXPERIENCE
Great…

DESIGN
Although we stayed at the L.A. Mondrian years back, we really didn't know what to expect as we had purposely not read too much about the Miami hotel. The building's facade is understated and elegant. I am guessing that the original building is quite old, but the current look is fresh and conserves the good elements of the Miami "nouveau deco" style. The entrance is simple and welcoming, wether you arrive from a long walk or in a taxi. As for the lobby and the pool area; this is where we were not as impressed with the overall designs of the very lauded Marcel Wanders as we were with the original Starck creation in California. The freaky doll heads just didn't do it for me. The "fantasy castle columns" and floating stairs are ok (and probably very expensive to have created) but there was no real continuity with these "stand-alone" elements. The spaces seemed large (in a bad way) and the use of white fell very short of older Starck applications. Despite this, from an engineering perspective, the revamp job was a huge success. The building feels brand new and the rooms…

ROOMS
The rooms have a perfect amount of natural light. Actually, the they are ideal in every way; dimensions, details, comfort, bathroom size and design, plumbing, air conditioning functionality (it's quiet and effective). Perhaps it is a coincidence, but Wanders was pleasantly loyal to P.Mondrian in giving us a splash of primary colors in each room. Again, the weird "composite girl heads" are not a favorite for us, but the details…large balconies, amazing views, great beds and bedding…it's all very appreciated.

An important note: this seems to be a dog-friendly hotel as there was a small dog on our floor, very close to our room. But sound is well-buffered and this was never an issue for me, despite being a light sleeper.

My one complaint - which is by no means unique to this hotel - is regarding the automatic door closing mechanisms. The doors close so noisily that, despite excellent efforts to make the rooms sound-proof, you will constantly hear the neighbors doors shutting. Housekeeping has a knack for not propping the doors open during the servicing. So if a neighbors room is being serviced, be prepared to hear the door shut at least 10 times. I suspect that the hotel could correct this with a simple door jam and thus, make sleeping-in all the better.

SERVICE
From my experience, Morgan's Hotel Group properties do a good job of combining contemporary chic with friendly attitude. This is not common with the hip-scene hospitality culture, particularly in a place like South Beach. But it is refreshing.

FOOD AND DRINKS
Breakfast is good and service is also above average. The bar tenders are friendly and experienced. Liquor selection is good, as they have all of the standard bottles but can still surprise with not only the premium, but also the uncommon.

LOCATION
For many, the thought of being 10 blocks from the beach can be a deal-breaker. But I can share several things to this effect:

1. It is great to get away from the SoBe clamor at will
2. The bay views, be it from the pool/ground level of from a west-facing room, are fantastic. I recommend a high floor room, if it available. It is certainly worth the rate difference.
3. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is 1 block from Whole Foods, 2 blocks from Walgreens, 5 blocks from CVS, 7 blocks from the west end of Lincoln Road.
4. Taxis are readily available and for about $5, they will get you to any SoBe location in minutes.

AMENITIES
My wife was happy with the Malin Goetz products. They are the kind of products that you would easily purchase for the home (if budget permits!). The mini-bar is very well stocked, although I've only been to 1 or 2 hotels that decided to be unique and steer away completely from the "comforting-yet-dull" Pringles and M-n-Ms deal.

TO SUM UP…
The developers spent a reported $200 million on the hotel + residential project and it is hard to see how they will capitalize on their investment for the next decade or two. Nevertheless, for the hotel guest, the room rates are comparatively inexpensive.

In the past 6 or 7 years, I have stayed in 4 iconic South Beach Hotels and the Mondrian probably tops the list. We don't normally repeat stays, as there is so much to see in this world, but if we go back to Miami in the near future, we will certainly consider staying at Mondrian once again.

We hope that this helps you in your decision process - happy and healthy travels!

Room Tip: Bay-view rooms get a picture perfect sunset on most evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recent visit. We are delighted to know you are such great fans of ours, thanks in part to our unique service and location. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent a week end with friends. It has interesting design elements that go into the bedrooms as well. Service was very good and staff was always willing to help with questions. Parties by the pool are very cool specially at sunset. The music and ambiance is good, laid back compared to other beach pool parties.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay will not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancy l, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Maria,
Thank you so much for the comments about your stay and your enjoyment of our Pool Experience in particular. We are an oasis from the Ocean Drive scene and agree with your assessment of the vibe at Mondrian South Beach and appreciate the compliment. We look forward to your return to our beautiful hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Foundation I work for hosts workshops all across the nation, and this was definitely one of our favorite venues that we've used so far. We were in the Studio A/B room, which had an attached terrace that overlooked the pool and the water. Absolutely beautiful. The staff were very accommodating throughout the event. The food was fresh and delicious, and we received specific compliments on the vegan dishes! We also had a dinner for our guests in the restaurant and everyone was very impressed with the unique white furniture and classy style. Definitely a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancy l, Guest Relations Manager at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank for your lovely comments about our hotel, our service and our food & beverage. We're excited to have new Executive Chef Jonathan Lane at the helm and he's a wonderful addition to our team. We hope to see your group return to our hotel for any upcoming events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.