We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing the finer details.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #18 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Missing the finer details.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the MondrIan for one week, we have stayed at other Morgan hotels too but this one was better in terms of service and style.
The service was consistently friendly and helpful with plenty of staff on hand to help.
The only weak link was the housekeeper who wasn't very thorough over the week the dust built up and was never touched.
The location of the hotel wasn't an issue for us it was a 20 minute walk to the beach and was nice to be away from it all down on south beach. The Starbucks across the road is a bonus as breakfast is expensive in the Mondrian and the buffet selection is quite poor.
The biggest negative was that the Asia de Cuba restaurant has closed since we booked and there was no restaurant for the entire week which is quite surprising in a hotel such as this and seems a huge shame.
The rooms were large and comfortable although basic, the kitchen wasn't needed but was a nice touch incase you didn't want to eat out.
The sound proofing is quite poor and at night you are able to hear
noise from other rooms and the corridor.
There is a good gym and the pool area is nice but the beds etc could be better. The view is great though.
The lack of free wi-fi in the rooms was an annoyance as it should be standard in a hotel like this and also so should still water and yet
none provided not even a welcome bottle.
The bar service is good and drinks are lovely but again slightly over priced however the experience warranted this.
Some places in the hotel are starting to look worn, I hope investment is made to keep the Mondrian competitive and then we would be happy to return again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian. We appreciate your review as well. We are delighted you took away so many positives from your visit, including our friendly service, style, location and comfortable rooms. We aplogize for the inconveniences you experienced with housekeeping and noise; these have been addressed accordingly.

To clarify, our restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch but is currently closed for dinner service. Dining options in the evening include bites in Sunset Lounge as well as Room Service. We will introduce a new bay-front dining destination this fall.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    719
    380
    145
    57
    34
See reviews for
155
587
70
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My first time in Mondrian I was there for a dinner date. As soon as we arrive I was impress with the all white grand entry way and then I saw the infinity pool! Gorgeous! Overlooking the Biscayne bay and atlantic ocean and with the "sleeping beauty castle" design in the lobby I decided il stay here the next time I'm in Miami :) don't forget the beautiful sunset as part of your scene while sipping your martini in Asia de Cuba!

I came back three months later with my girlfriends and 6 months after that with the boyfriend. Located in west avenue and a block from the south beach busy tourist spot and hot parties, this hotel have something for every one from families to friends or a romantic weekend with the bf. Staff are very friendly and accomodating The hotel room is very contemporary and luxurious :) I stayed in many Morgans hotel group but Mondrian is my favorite the luxury designer toiletries I'm just inlove! The lavish pool parties, the kinky bending machine and the bug-eyed chicks computer-generated lady heads that currently greet guests at the Mondrian or "Moandrian" are worth staying in this hotel! Cheers :)

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the bay and the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much. We appreciate your repeat visits as well as your recommendation. We're delighted our location suits you--the sunset views are indeed amazing and afford a wonderful afternoon at our infamous pool. We look forward to many happy returns.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located on bay side of SOBE which I really liked but you need to know it's not on the ocean side if you're after the beach. But less noisy and crowded because of that and I really like the bay views. You can get a cab to the beach or there is a "Deco-bike" rental station just across the road where you can rent a bike very cheaply. Great to have a Starbucks on the corner and even better an amazing Wholefoods across the block with prepared foods etc. Foyer is amazing, very stylish. The rooms have a very useful small kitchen with minimal but adequate equipment so you can easily eat-in. Even a little dining table. Also a few restaurants within easy walking distance. Very, very sexy, romantic vibe in the pool area (piped music does get a bit irritating by the end of the day). Busy, full of beautiful people. Not sure if this is unique to this hotel, or its a SOBE thing. Saw the occasional child but very few. This is NOT a family hotel. Nothing for kids and really not suitable. David the pool concierge very gracious and helpful. May have to wait for a lounger. Much of pool area taken up with cabanas, sofas, kissing corners etc. Room is modern, stylish, minimalist. Very small closet; no drawers for clothes. It is not sumptuous. Bed not particularly comfortable but not awful. Loved the sink in the bathroom (a big trough); shower was OK but leaked terribly. Shower had full-length mirror which was very damaged by water. Luckily it steams up quickly!! Lighting in bathroom was poor. Lighting in corridors is like a night-club - so dark you couldn't see to put your key card into your door - had to feel your way!! Gym was well-equipped, clean and looked out over pool and bay. Bay views from rooms are lovely. Ask for higher level because night noise is significant when parties are held outside. Overnight parking was extortionate ($37) as was internet fee ($15) - internet should really be free in a hip, trendy place like this. Ate pool-side and room service and found quality was good. Pricey as with all similar hotels. Overall - not at all a cosy, friendly place - more a stylish, unique, trendy sort of fashion statement, well-located with great views. Perfect for romance.

Room Tip: Must have a bay-view. Balconies are nice to have. Higher level may help with late-night noise from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed our bayside location with the amazing views offered as well as our neighborhood. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the shower--this issue has already been addressed by our Engineers. It seems as if you enjoyed your pool experience; we feel that we offer the best Sunset specials on the beach. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmcd31
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by the travel agent and it was a good recommendation. The hotel itself is great - very unique in it's decor and atmosphere. We had a standard room but it was more than big enough - a nice touch was the mexican tiling in the kitchen. The pool area is great too - very funky with great views out to Miami downtown.

The only slight faults were the lifts - they were a bit busy at times, with some not working, or taking a while to arrive. And the doors leading into the rooms were not the best at keeping noise out of the room. However, it was only noisy a couple of times and did not impact our overall stay at all.

If you are looking for a different hotel than the bog standard chains, go here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and kind review. We're delighted that your expectations were exceeded, thanks to our spacious rooms and iconic design. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our elevators but are happy to report all are functioning properly now. We hope you will join us again soon for another unique experience.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First resort I've stayed in and many more to come. It was truly enchanting and very modern! so be warned! You drive up and see the beautiful amazing chandlers! You walk in and you see a black modern stair case and modern art and white. a LOT of white. Which worked for it! The rooms were awesome, more of a party room. Not really for a relaxing comfort as my husband put it. The beds were okay, but its not really meant to relax in I guess? The pool was spectacular!!! the Bar was awesome too, we both got drinks. And our two drinks cost 40 dollars!! It was just a strawberry dacery and moijto. Which my drink was the best I've ever had, but even for a resort.... that's really spendy!!! Over all the experience was really cool and I'll have it in my memories forever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you, Beth. We loved having you and hope you will join us again soon more more fun.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip in Florida, which by the way was way above our expectations.
The rooms are large and very original, the whole hotel is actually an experience, quite unusual compared to the other hiltons / mariotts out there. Very refreshing.
The view was grandiose, perfect to watch the sunset (make sure you get a mojito to enjoy that to the fullest). Ask for a higher floor as well.
Gym is perfect, clean with a beautiful view over the bay.
Pool is not really a place to swim, but more a place to have drinks, see and be seen. Gotta be sure to wear a decent bathing suite though ... competition is tough out there. service at the pool is great (towels, umbrella, food, etc)
Finally breakfast was excellent, highly recommend the waffles with whipped cream and berries.
conclusion, if you can afford it, definitely go there.

Regarding the comments about the location, we actually found it better than being on the ocean side, as it was quieter at night, yet you can walk to the beach (15mins to cross) or if you're really lazy, take a cab for probably less than 10$ which you should be able to afford if you're staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, sea view is worth the ask / extra. Waffles for breakfast !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed our service, design and location. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you love the perfect sunset with a nice cocktaíl at the pool or bar than I recommend Mondrian South Beach. The Service, the location, the people, the atmosphäre and much more is just outstanding. The new desgin of Wanders gave a complete new style and looks tre chic! I recommend to book a room seaside with balcony just because of the view. The Employies are very nice and helpfull as professional in service. Will come back.

Room Tip: Seaview with balcony - 10 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Engelbert,

Thank you for your recent visit and this kind review. Enjoying a cocktail from the balcony of your bay view suite: a phenomenal picture! We're delighted, too, that you enjoyed the service we provided to you. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.