We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #19 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mondrian South Beach on a business trip. The views from the pool are absolutely stunning and the property itself is exquisite. The room was large and spacious with a separate bedroom and the bed was very comfortable. One of my colleagues had an ocean view room and it does make quite a difference.

One unique feature about the room was the shower in the bathroom. It had a rain-head surrounded by a chandelier. The shower was one of the better hotel showers I’ve had in a while.

The food and drinks were expensive, but then again, it is Miami. I would definitely return and stay at this property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Lindsey,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here due in part to our room product including whimiscal design elements. Yes, the Bay View rooms afford spectacular views of Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami--stunning at sunset and at night.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    650
    354
    135
    54
    34
See reviews for
142
543
64
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Not expecting all too much we got away for a romantic, anniversary getaway that a dear friend arranged for us at The Mondrian South Beach Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were wowed by the friendly and welcoming staff from the Hotel Manager, Jose Noriega to the GEM, Nancy Lauck, providing top flight services and amenities with attention to every conceivable detail. Exquisite!

Room Tip: Spend the extra buck and upgrade to a Biscayne Bay View for a fabulous look at the fantastic Miami s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted our staff provided you with memorable service and afforded you an "exquisite" romantic getaway. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well, let's just say it lost its glamour from their debut; still a impressive decor; not the best location but ok; friendly staff, especially concierge and restaurant servers; above the average rooms - kitchen's itens, which is a plus; definitely not a family hotel and, may I say, unexperienced manager. Overall, still a good option in Sobe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We're glad you found the service from our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our room product; most find the kitchen equipped rooms to be a big plus when travelling with their familiies. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel and its grounds are beautiful. It is different, with its faces on the wall and huge bell shapes, but its very nice. The pool is amazing, and the staff there are excellent, bringing juice samples and water around every so often. The temperature of the pool could have been a little warmer, however it wasn't that bad. We noticed that they had a hot tub on the grounds, but it was not being used. If they fixed it and provided the hot tub for guests, it would be great. The rooms are huge, but the pull out couch is not comfortable at all. We overheard guests talking to the front desk, and apparently they will bring mattress beds to your room if you find the couch uncomfortable, if you ask. One thing the hotel should do is check the room keys before people enter the pool to prove they are really staying there. They always have staff at the doors, so it would be easy to ask a guest to show their key before entering the pool grounds. We overheard a few people talking (these so happened to be some of the obnoxious people at the pool) and at least four people on separate occasions said to others they were not even staying at the hotel (they were renting a condo somewhere) but used the pool because it was nice. Yes, the pool is nice but should be for paying hotel guests or building residents only.

Room Tip: As for a mattress instead of the couch bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay, thanks in part to the service you received from our staff. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay but are glad to know these were minor. Yes, we have rollaway beds available upon requests.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I was quite skeptical with the location as it is not close to the beach. However, that was not the reason for us coming to Miami. We wanted to relax and do some shopping for a couple days before our cruise.

This was a fantastic location as you will see many strollers around the area, the pool is magnificent and the view of the harbour is at the rear of the hotel. The bars are something you would see at a high end nightclub and the service/hospitality are second to none. I don't remember ever opening a door in the main floor. The staff knows that service is the number one priority.

The rooms are very quiet and well insulated as we have a one year old with us and he can get quite noisy. They have a microwave, fridge and mini freezer!! Very handy when travelling with an infant!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We're delighted to have provided you a welcome environment for your young family, thanks in part to our unparalleled service and room product. We hope you enjoy your cruise and trust you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent our last two days in Mondrian, and oh my gosh what a way to end our stay in Miami.
The hotel is amazing, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We had an complimentary upgrade to a baby suite (I think it was called), and we just laughed through the first minutes walking in to our room. It is so awesome! The view, the bed, the shower, the kitchen, even the minibar is impressive.
Also, we had great service from all departments, roomservice, housekeeping, hot guys at the pool and the reception. All happy faces, great to see!!
Miss this hotel already, you rock guys! We will definentaly be back, as soon as possible.
Two thumbs up from Norway :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much. We hope you will share with your friends in Norway what a good time you had here. It sounds like you had one of our Bay View Suites which afford incredible sunset views of Biscayne Bay and Downtown Miami. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the service offered by our friendly staff. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like the artsy design stuff (I found it hard to "get") then this is the place for you. I really don't care about it but do care about the pool being overtaken by a large private party on the Saturday we were there (no beach chairs for paying guests with rooms), a bathrobe with holes in the lining and a stain, holes in the sheets on my bed, no chair at the vanity in the master bedroom of the suite, obviously mismatched cushions on the back of the couch that were clearly seat cushions removed from another couch...the staff were helpful and friendly and once the pool cleared out after the Saturday thing we got chairs and enjoyed our stay. Face images noted by other guests are entirely CREEPY and really---what does that have to do with the other sort of "Alice-in-Wonderland" oversized furniture and Dutch inspired delft tiles and black, red and yellow decor? I also think that like other hotels I've booked through on-line services, we got the lowest end room of the class of room we booked...this confirmed my suspicions from rooms booked on-line in other cities--including ones in Asia.

Room Tip: If you truly want a "bay view" insist on one on that side of the building but you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. While we're glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we regret that you did not enjoy our design.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Splendia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.