We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggling to be cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #28 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Struggling to be cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well, let's just say it lost its glamour from their debut; still a impressive decor; not the best location but ok; friendly staff, especially concierge and restaurant servers; above the average rooms - kitchen's itens, which is a plus; definitely not a family hotel and, may I say, unexperienced manager. Overall, still a good option in Sobe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We're glad you found the service from our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our room product; most find the kitchen equipped rooms to be a big plus when travelling with their familiies. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    395
    149
    63
    35
See reviews for
166
612
74
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel and its grounds are beautiful. It is different, with its faces on the wall and huge bell shapes, but its very nice. The pool is amazing, and the staff there are excellent, bringing juice samples and water around every so often. The temperature of the pool could have been a little warmer, however it wasn't that bad. We noticed that they had a hot tub on the grounds, but it was not being used. If they fixed it and provided the hot tub for guests, it would be great. The rooms are huge, but the pull out couch is not comfortable at all. We overheard guests talking to the front desk, and apparently they will bring mattress beds to your room if you find the couch uncomfortable, if you ask. One thing the hotel should do is check the room keys before people enter the pool to prove they are really staying there. They always have staff at the doors, so it would be easy to ask a guest to show their key before entering the pool grounds. We overheard a few people talking (these so happened to be some of the obnoxious people at the pool) and at least four people on separate occasions said to others they were not even staying at the hotel (they were renting a condo somewhere) but used the pool because it was nice. Yes, the pool is nice but should be for paying hotel guests or building residents only.

Room Tip: As for a mattress instead of the couch bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay, thanks in part to the service you received from our staff. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay but are glad to know these were minor. Yes, we have rollaway beds available upon requests.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I was quite skeptical with the location as it is not close to the beach. However, that was not the reason for us coming to Miami. We wanted to relax and do some shopping for a couple days before our cruise.

This was a fantastic location as you will see many strollers around the area, the pool is magnificent and the view of the harbour is at the rear of the hotel. The bars are something you would see at a high end nightclub and the service/hospitality are second to none. I don't remember ever opening a door in the main floor. The staff knows that service is the number one priority.

The rooms are very quiet and well insulated as we have a one year old with us and he can get quite noisy. They have a microwave, fridge and mini freezer!! Very handy when travelling with an infant!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We're delighted to have provided you a welcome environment for your young family, thanks in part to our unparalleled service and room product. We hope you enjoy your cruise and trust you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent our last two days in Mondrian, and oh my gosh what a way to end our stay in Miami.
The hotel is amazing, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We had an complimentary upgrade to a baby suite (I think it was called), and we just laughed through the first minutes walking in to our room. It is so awesome! The view, the bed, the shower, the kitchen, even the minibar is impressive.
Also, we had great service from all departments, roomservice, housekeeping, hot guys at the pool and the reception. All happy faces, great to see!!
Miss this hotel already, you rock guys! We will definentaly be back, as soon as possible.
Two thumbs up from Norway :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much. We hope you will share with your friends in Norway what a good time you had here. It sounds like you had one of our Bay View Suites which afford incredible sunset views of Biscayne Bay and Downtown Miami. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the service offered by our friendly staff. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like the artsy design stuff (I found it hard to "get") then this is the place for you. I really don't care about it but do care about the pool being overtaken by a large private party on the Saturday we were there (no beach chairs for paying guests with rooms), a bathrobe with holes in the lining and a stain, holes in the sheets on my bed, no chair at the vanity in the master bedroom of the suite, obviously mismatched cushions on the back of the couch that were clearly seat cushions removed from another couch...the staff were helpful and friendly and once the pool cleared out after the Saturday thing we got chairs and enjoyed our stay. Face images noted by other guests are entirely CREEPY and really---what does that have to do with the other sort of "Alice-in-Wonderland" oversized furniture and Dutch inspired delft tiles and black, red and yellow decor? I also think that like other hotels I've booked through on-line services, we got the lowest end room of the class of room we booked...this confirmed my suspicions from rooms booked on-line in other cities--including ones in Asia.

Room Tip: If you truly want a "bay view" insist on one on that side of the building but you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. While we're glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we regret that you did not enjoy our design.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully, I didn't have to pay the bill here - the corporate rate for a small suite was $509 + tax, which is grossly over priced. A rather trendy theme of white throughout the hotel makes it a bright and light place and there are great views of the Bay of Biscayne from all rooms. Breakfast was healthy, but limited, and also an extra cost (not included in the room rate). I also didn't like how they automatically added a service charge to all bills for food and drinks - they should really let their customers decide. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The pool scene was quite funny - full of "wannabe's" and people pretending they were "somebody". Totally not cool, despite their best efforts! The location of the hotel is rather poor, with no shopping, restaurants or bars of any quality nearby. It is also a long way from the hip art-deco district of South Beach, which is where you really want to be in the Miami Beach area. I wouldn't pay out of my own pocket to stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. We are very happy you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our setting. We're sorry, however, that we are not the hotel for you.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

... and in a city chock-full of cool hotels, that is really saying something. We stayed in an entry-level room, but it was the lobby, pool and bar area that really lifted Mondrian ahead of the competition for me. Marcel Wanders has done wonders :-) And the 'Miami Delft' carpets and tiles were a great touch. For more, check out neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and very kind review. We appreciate your reccomendation vey much and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.