We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #22 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Mondrian via Jet bookings through Travelzoo, so we were in a condo unit instead of a standard room. The Mondrian is a beautiful place, with an absolutely amazing view. Try to book a room with a balcony, as our condo unit did not have it, and the window only opened about 5 inches, so there was no fresh air. We spent the afternoon lounging by the pool. Quiet couples take note: this is not as "exclusive" as some other properties. There were many families and kids at the pool. The servers by the pool were all super friendly. Beware, the drink prices are "South Beach" high. Think $11 for a can of beer. It adds up very quickly. The front desk staff and door guys were all super friendly and accommodating. My wife had a massage and said it was amazing. Only gripes: Pool is only open during the day. It's a heated pool, and a lot of the other hotel pools in Sobe are open all night, it's always nice to have a swim after a night cap. Also, the elevators were excruciatingly slow. The second day 1 out of 3 was not working and it seemed like the other 2 were jam packed every time. We were like sardines. I mentioned it casually, and a guy on the elevator said "yeah, it's like this every time." Oh well-

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you. We hope to welcome you back soon. We encourage you to book directly through the hotel for a true Mondrian Experience.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    384
    147
    60
    35
See reviews for
163
602
71
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My experience and treatment was amazing,by far the best massage I have ever received. The woman at the front desk was very accommodating, switching our appointment time after we went to the wrong aqua spa. She greeted us by names and with sincere happiness! So onto the massage. Wow. My massage was with Roland. He was n angel that took me to heaven for 90 minutes. My spine felt realigned within the first five minutes. The scalp massage too. I had to control myself from moaning. Definitely received a 5 star treatment highly recommend Roland and Mondrian spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you. We're pleased you found our reception staff to be helpful and friendly; and, you experienced, Roland is indeed one of our stars. He is one of our most recommended massage therapists. He shares a passion for his work common with all of us at Mondrian and we're delighted you benefited from it. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

An upscale, relatively new, shiny, white-on-white hotel on Biscayne Bay with breathtaking views of downtown Miami for those lucky enough to score a Bayside room with a balcony. The Mondrian is obviously popular with the young, hip set, but it was comfortable and welcoming to this older (over 65) couple. The only significant problems were insufficient storage and very poor lighting in the guest room and a lousy, VERY EXPENSIVE continental breakfast in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor Bayside room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Raymond,

Thank you for your recent visit. Thank you, too, for this review. We're glad you enjoyed your view and that our staff helped to make your stay special. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Olive
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Mondrian Hotel in sunny Miami Beach was a great location for our week-long meeting. We had a group ranging from 20 - 30 guests traveling from northern USA, Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Columbia, etc. and the destination was the perfect fit for everyone. Our meeting room was spacious, bright with natural light/windows and doors to a wonderfully large outdoor balcony with tables and chairs for breakout meetings, as well as breakfast and lunch. The balcony overlooked the bay - absolutely beautiful! From the time we began the planning of the meeting...room setup, AV needs, food.....to the end, we had the most wonderful staff catering to our every needs. They were attentive and pleasant and always went above and beyond to make sure our every needs were met. Stephanie Tablada, our meeting planner catered to our last minute requests for not the ordinary requests....a guitar, birthday cake, etc.! Always with a smile! The food was amazing - fresh and plentiful! Our guest rooms were spacious and clean. When we had a moment to break away, the pool was just steps away. Having had the opportunity to stay an extra day I can say that even the staff at the pool were wonderfully accommodating. All in all it was a great week and i would highly recommend this hotel not only for a meeting site, but also for a vacation destination!

Room Tip: There seem to be many types of rooms, but if I had a choice, I would request a room with a balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Patti,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your excellent experience with us. We're delighted your meeting was a success, thanks in part to the personal and attentive service you received from Stephanie. We are all dedicate to to creating original guest experiences and we're pleased you and your group found this to be the case. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A hip and trendy south beach hotel but with a warm and welcoming staff. Everyone was very attentive to our needs and quick to serve. The room was clean, neat and modern. Great sunset views from the balcony. Large rooms and good quality for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you. We're pleased you enjoyed your Mondrian experience, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from our staff. We are dedicated to curating original guest experiences in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner and we're delighted we impressed this upon you. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel experience was perfect. The whoke hotel is very beautiful and stilish. The studio room was very large, both the room, bathroom, living room, american kitchen and balcony. The swimming pool was marvelous, with its view to the bay. Locationis also very good, in a quiet place but close to all the liveliness of south beach. Staff was also very nice. I would definetely come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and your recent visit. We're delighted you enjoyed your overall stay, thanks in part to the hotel's amenities and our friendly service. We hope you will stay with us again when you are next in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had never had a swedish massage and I received a gift voucher from a friend to receive a massage at the Mondrian spa. ROLAND was my massage therapist and i highly recommend him. I have been back several times after that and my experience has always been consistently perfect! If you schedule a massage there you should definitely ask for Roland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Vivian,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Roland is indeed amazing. He is one of our family of passionate individuals dedicated to curating original guest experiences in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.