We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #19 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pure Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

As you read this review one can only assume you've already seen the location of this hotel and are already aware of it being "away from the action" as it were. But rather than let this put you off, compare the prices of the "trendy" Ocean and Collins hotels to this one.

The hotel really does look like the photos. The staff really are as friendly and helpful as many other reviews mention. As soon as we walked in we were wowed. Its clean, stylish and sexy. The pool area is pretty cool and the view across the bay during sunset has been a screensaver on my PC ever since I got home.

Being across the road from the amazing Wholefoods was a blessing as our room had a fridge for us to store our alcohol and food. They also do a nice pizza take away!

The Mondrian is a 15 minute walk down 11th street to Ocean Drive and the beach or a 10 minute walk to Lincoln Road and a whole host of restaurants.

Loved the Mondrian South Beach so much I hope to stay there every year I visit Miami!!!!!

I was here during Ultra Music Week march 2012. Hotel wasn't too busy as I thought it would be which was nice. Perfect retreat from the chaos of our schedule.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Star Island and was directly above the gym in the hotel. Only wish we had booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and your visit. While we are glad you enjoyed our location and amenities, we are most proud that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    385
    146
    59
    34
See reviews for
159
596
71
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This design hotel is great! Beautiful view of the bay and Miami's skyline. Very good value for money since the room rates are lower than other hotel located directly on the beach. The breakfast is gorgeous! Moreover the pool side aperitive is very charming and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great Location, facilities, restaurant and friendly staff. Very spacious apartment-style suites with beautiful views over to Miami
stayed 3 nights at this property, the staff were excellent and the facilities good. The size of the room was very comfortable and overall we had a very enjoyable stay. Our first room hadn't been cleaned and had a few maintenance issues but they upgraded us for the last two nights to a water view. The wi-fi is SUPER expensive but the pool and amenities were beautiful and location was ideal - super quick walk to Starbucks, Whole Foods and a cheap overnight parking garage. The restaurant was also top quality food and service, we had a great girls week here!

Room Tip: Choose Waterfront room if it's available! All rooms we saw are very spacious and have a small ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you. Yes, all of our rooms are equipped with kitchens, which combined with our spacious rooms allows for a very comfortable stay. We're glad you found this to be the case alogn with top-notch service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We own a villa just 3 miles from Disney World, Florida & we decided to go there for 5 weeks over Christmas & New Year, (still here now) we decided to have a few days in Miami, so we drove down (3 hours) & we made a fantastic choice to stay at the Mondrian South Beach hotel which was fantastic in every way, not the cheapest per night but worth every penny, the staff were friendly & very professional in everything they did for you, the building is superb & very chic & modern, the lobby is just WOW in every way. The pool was perfectly located at the rear of the hotel & was great for a swim or cool off from the mid day sun (80's each day) the pool ladies that look after you are so nice they get everything for you nothing is too much trouble, its a must stay place & gets 10 out of 10 from us.

We were a family of four, (2 young boys) so we booked a suite which was awesome (if booking try to get a room on the bay side 7th floor or above, we were in 716 which was incredible with views over Downtown Miami, the bay, the sunset) the room was tremendous, very spacious, clean & well stacked with everything, huge TV's in every room, docking station, incredible shower & very comfy beds.
The room had a dining table, kitchen, lounge area, two bathrooms, two bedrooms & a balcony over the bay. If I am super critical, on the negative side as we had booked a suite I did expect to find some facilities like extra towels, enough shampoos & soaps in the bathrooms for everyone in the room, nothing to make a drink of tea or coffee or even have a drink of water, there was not one item to have a drink from! no cups for tea or coffee but there was a kettle? no glass to have a drink of water or a glass of wine before you went for your meal, which I thought was very strange, I asked the maid who did not speak good english & she had no idea, not the end of the world.
Its not cheap to eat & drink at the Mondrian so be-careful what you order & tipping of 20% is added on as well, valet is $37 but worth every penny, the valet guys were very professional & again nothing was too much trouble for them. Even though the hotel is called Mondrian South Beach it is on the West side of the harbour so not close to south beach its a good mile away, straight forward from the hotel on 11th street takes you directly to the beach, you can walk it in about 15-20 mins will get your heart pumping, but it is through some back streets so again be-careful & watch out for the drunks asking for money. If you do not fancy a walk then a cab will take you for a small fee.

A few tips on the area, if you are a family like us, then when you reach the beach at the end of 11th street do not go straight on the beach there & sit down as it is a very populated "Male Gay area" nothing against them personally but the boys found it very strange to see two men in each others arms vigorously kissing & oiling each other up in public, if you are easily offended by this you will need to move further down the beach, where the tall hotels start.
The sun beds are pricey at $45 (two beds & parasol) the sand is great, little drink stations dotted along the beach are superb (not over priced either), the sea is clean, safe & the life guards are very alert to the area. The bars on Ocean Drive (OD) are great but expensive for everything, everyone is after your money so there are loads of staff trying to get you in to their place/bar to eat & drink, the main street OD is great to people watch, get a front row seat in a bar (Finnigans was a really good spot) & just watch the world walk by its amazing! We hired bikes (bike stations are everywhere for $5 for 1 hour) & we rode the length of OD which was nice & you get to see a lot more.
I came to OD quite a few years ago with just the wife & it was full of "prima donnas, designer labels, with women/wives showing off that their diamonds are bigger & more expensive than the next & quite a few people who still thought they were in the 80's/90's scene, well it has not changed much at all, what is more evident now are the gay people, the beggars on the street side & sections which are populated by drunks who just seem to fall a sleep where ever they are sat, but OD is well policed so there is no trouble. The other thing that really stood out on this trip was the amount of older men who have just never grown up from the 80's/90's scene, all with hair dyed too dark for their age or wearing a ridiculously bad fitting wig that again is too dark to match the grey hair which is showing underneath, complete for some reason with huge sparkling women's ear rings that they should have took out years ago, odd strange outrageous clothes (really bright pink pants, lime coloured shoes & orange shirt, just do not go together & never will or have) & most of them had a lot younger woman on their arm, obviously a money thing by the way the ladies were treated by what I can only call their "sugar daddies" money no object, with bottles of champagne popping, diamonds gleaming, these people were so over the top it was obscene, but good fun to watch.
Evening meals for me can only be taken on Lincoln Road, ($6 in a cab from hotel) its got everything you could possibly want to eat, truly superb place (watch out for the 20% tip added to your bill), also great for shopping, people watching & a nice walk up & down both sides of the street, lots of designer shops, some you will know & some you will not, but all expensive.

Would we stay at the Mondrian again, most definitely its first class, the walk to the beach wakes you up, would we recommend the hotel, most definitely a 5 star package for sure (despite no cups) beach & sea were fantastic, OD is a must & something you need to witness if only for the experience of it, if you are going to South Beach then book the Mondrian you will not be disappointed. Happy New Year I hope your 2013 is full of much love & laughter, enjoy!

Room Tip: Anything above the 7th floor on the bay side of the hotel is a must, a view you just can not beat ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. We're happy you found our staff to be accommodating and our setting to be inviting. We're glad you will be staying with us again when you are next in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights over Christmas 2012 and had a great time. We splashed out as it was a special time of year and were not disappointed. The room was great, the bed was comfy and we slept solidly.
The one thing that slightly inconvenienced us was that the person who checked us in only did so for one night so our room key didn't work after day 1 and we had to get that sorted out at reception. It's a minor thing, but something I didn't expect to happen in a hotel of this caliber.

The location is great with a fairly short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and apologize for the minor inconveniences you encountered. These have been addressed accordingly. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Mondrian South Beach. It is not located at the sea but at the bay between South Beach and Miami Beach. So you have sun the whole afternoon at the pool and wonderful sunset with the Miami's skyline.
To the Ocean drive you need a 15 minutes walk. Valet parking is expensive (37$), but we manage to park for free in the area. Otherwise you can park in the garage near Starbucks (walk right when you go out of the hotel). There there is a great supermarket, Walgreens as well as restaurants. We enjoyed the French restaurant Gusto Vino e Caffe (former an Italian restaurant!).
When you arrived the design of the hotel is quite impressive. Everything huge and white. The corridors on the room levels are really dark, which is quite a contrast to the rest of the hotel. On the floors, we experienced a strange odor. Obviously something has been sprayed all the time and it remembered us of a toilet deodorant.
Our room was huge but empty. It was really not funtional. The bathroom is tiny. I think it was one of the tiniest bathrooms we experienced in an hotel. In the room you can only hang up things. We missed shelves or a dresser with drawers for T-Shirts and other clothes. There was only one bathrobe in the room.
In the kitchenette, you don't have cookware. We had to ask three times for a saucepan. We didn't get it in the day we arrived but on the following day. I had to be very resolute on the phone to achieve that someone showed up.
The micro-wave was not working.
Internet connection was not reliable.
It was almost impossible to get a long chair at the pool although a lot of them were free. Obviously the pool boys were reserving them for other guests (who probably paid for them).
The air conditionning partly did not work in the gym. But there was no way to put it on and also to call call the housekeeping. A phone is a must in a gym - in case of urgency.
In the room you can only hang up your clothes. We missed shelves or a dresser with drawers for T-Shirts and other clothes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we are pleased you enjoyed the design of our hotel and setting on the bay, we regret that you found the room to not be functional. We further apologize for the delay in getting cookware to your room and the other inconveniences you encountered. These issues have been addressed accordingly.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It was an experience, nice one indeed. We liked the service, it's very smooth and nothing to complain. The room was the best, it's like living in a design store with Dutch bright colors all over. It was roomy, well equipped and quiet. The valet was very well attained and pricey but competitive for SoBe. I would recommend this for those longing for cool, trendy boutique hotels and experiences. Be aware that you basically have to drive to get to Collins avenue (restaurants, shopping, beach) e.g. in the evening when you've explored the restaurants close by (there were some very nice!). Hopefully you're not an asthmatic because the odors used at the hotel are quite strong. ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your recent visit. Yes, we are located on West Avenue which is full of local color with restaurants and neighborhood bars close by. Our Concierge can direct you to some of our favorite spots yet we are a short cab ride to Ocean and Collins. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.