We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everthing except..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #29 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved everthing except..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. The hotel is impressive when you drive up and so is the lobby. The staff at the front desk were very nice. They allowed us to check in really early because of the early flight we arrived on. We loved everything about the room except for the beds! The bed was extremely uncomfortable. I hate to say that because we loved everything else about this hotel. I'd recommend this hotel if you aren't picky about beds like we are. Aside from that, everything and everyone else was great! The location is great as well. We had a few planned activities and everything was a very short drive away and valet was more than happy to give directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and your recent visit to Mondrian. We are happy you found our staff to be friendly and our design to be impressive. We apologize that you did not find the bed comfortable. As always, please call our attentive front desk should anything in the room not be to your liking and we will do our best to accommodate your requests and exceed your expectations.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    412
    155
    64
    37
See reviews for
169
630
77
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I consider the Mondrain more of a 4 star hotel, however you are clearly paying 5 star prices across the board. Location is a plus or a minus depending on your preferences. Bay views are gorgeous, as well as the sun setting at the very nice pool unblocked, this was a bonus. The hotel is a bit on the small side, but interior design and architecture are 1st class.We stayed 3 nights.

The disappointments were.
1.Our room wasn't ready upon arrival,mind you they have a 3pm check in as it is. We waited until 345 to check in.
2.We properly requested a late checkout, no problem, mind you its off-season and midweek, plus we stayed at a premium suite. Shortly before 3pm we also called front desk to notify them that we would be downstairs in less than 10 minutes, they noted it and all was fine.( most hotels these days allow you to check out on your tv, not here).
Upon reviewing my bill, which I had asked to be emailed to me, I was charges a late checkout fee of $250, plus taxes! I easily had this removed after making a call to the hotel, the person who took my call also indicated that she sees 2 notes that confirmed my interaction with front desk notifying them.
So my question is this. Why would you insult a paying customers intelligence, isnt repeat business and reviews enough reason for a hotel to go over and above for its customer?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and for your feedback. While we are happy you were impressed with our design and location, we apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in other areas. We are glad, however, that your complaint was handled efficiently.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I travel a lot. I recnetly spent one night at the Mondrian and was thrilled by the engaged and friendly staff. Beggining at check-in a wonderful lady set the tone. The manager, Jose Noriega even came out to greet me and others checking in. I had a drink at the bar and spent 30 minutes talking with a very friendly and engaging bar-tender. My room was spotless and I certainly enjoyed the view of downt-town Miami. Experiences are memorable when people are and the staff at the Mondrian certainly was. Great job!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to have provided memorable service for you during your stay and hope you will join us again when you can stay longer and enjoy more of what we have to offer.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Mondrian South Beach is a hidden gem.Located on Biscayne Bay and a 10 minute walk from Lincoln Road and 20 minutes from the beach, I loved the location. This is the perfect hotel for travelers who want to get away from the congestion of Ocean Drive/Collins Ave hotels... The staff are authentic & friendly, the service is genuine & professional... The pool, fitness and spa are especially nice.... Great sunset views! My room overlooked the pool, bay with spectacular views of the downtown Miami skyline.Very attractive crowd, and nestled in an upscale residential area. Whole Foods a few minutes away.... I'll definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and for this review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit, thanks in part to our unique blend of friendly yet attentive service as well as our location here on West Avenue. We're delighted you will be joining us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed for seven nights in a two BR residence rented through Jet Luxury. Great space, awesome views over the pool and water, decent service and luxe surroundings with just about all the hotel had to offer. Asia de Cuba menu was a bit limiting for us as vegetarians traveling with two teenagers, but Whole Foods is across the street, as well as a few good restaurants within walking distance. And Lincoln Road is a five minute drive. Pool service is terrific and there is a Hot scene poolside on Sundays!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have lost count of the amount of times we have stayed. What I can tell you is we have been visiting every year since it opened, sometimes more than once a year. We always opt for a bay view balcony suite as the view over downtown Miami is our favorite view. Our stay is always made extra special as being a repeat guest is acknowledged by the hotel and they really do go out of there way for you. The star of the show is David Arth who manages the pool area. Every hotel really does need a David, and whilst I may say this every visit I really really mean it. He is divine and really goes out of his way to ensure everyone has a fantastic experience around the pool. His star service is amazing and we know whenever we are staying at the hotel/round the pool we receive fantastic faultless treatment. Bad customer service can certainly stop you re-visiting a hotel and David does definitely have to take credit for the fact we keep returning year after year. I should add that all other staff are fantastic, David is just in a league of his own :-)

Room Tip: bay view balcony suite or any room overlooking the bay is the way forward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent and repeated visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you have found a home with us, thanks in part to the excellent service you receive. David is indeed a rock star, thank you for commending his efforts. He is but one of a team devoted to providing excellent and unique experiences. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Mondrian is ideal for a few days stay. Beautifull roms, bay view pool, great restaurant and perfect service. A few minutes walk to the South Beach/Ocean Drive. More suited for couples than families with children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Karolina,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay. We're delighted to have provided you with an ideal place to spend your holiday, thanks in part to our excellent service and room product. We hope to have you join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Loews Hotels, Amex, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.