We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #23 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Mondrian South Beach is a hidden gem.Located on Biscayne Bay and a 10 minute walk from Lincoln Road and 20 minutes from the beach, I loved the location. This is the perfect hotel for travelers who want to get away from the congestion of Ocean Drive/Collins Ave hotels... The staff are authentic & friendly, the service is genuine & professional... The pool, fitness and spa are especially nice.... Great sunset views! My room overlooked the pool, bay with spectacular views of the downtown Miami skyline.Very attractive crowd, and nestled in an upscale residential area. Whole Foods a few minutes away.... I'll definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and for this review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit, thanks in part to our unique blend of friendly yet attentive service as well as our location here on West Avenue. We're delighted you will be joining us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    494
    180
    78
    47
See reviews for
216
775
94
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed for seven nights in a two BR residence rented through Jet Luxury. Great space, awesome views over the pool and water, decent service and luxe surroundings with just about all the hotel had to offer. Asia de Cuba menu was a bit limiting for us as vegetarians traveling with two teenagers, but Whole Foods is across the street, as well as a few good restaurants within walking distance. And Lincoln Road is a five minute drive. Pool service is terrific and there is a Hot scene poolside on Sundays!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have lost count of the amount of times we have stayed. What I can tell you is we have been visiting every year since it opened, sometimes more than once a year. We always opt for a bay view balcony suite as the view over downtown Miami is our favorite view. Our stay is always made extra special as being a repeat guest is acknowledged by the hotel and they really do go out of there way for you. The star of the show is David Arth who manages the pool area. Every hotel really does need a David, and whilst I may say this every visit I really really mean it. He is divine and really goes out of his way to ensure everyone has a fantastic experience around the pool. His star service is amazing and we know whenever we are staying at the hotel/round the pool we receive fantastic faultless treatment. Bad customer service can certainly stop you re-visiting a hotel and David does definitely have to take credit for the fact we keep returning year after year. I should add that all other staff are fantastic, David is just in a league of his own :-)

Room Tip: bay view balcony suite or any room overlooking the bay is the way forward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent and repeated visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you have found a home with us, thanks in part to the excellent service you receive. David is indeed a rock star, thank you for commending his efforts. He is but one of a team devoted to providing excellent and unique experiences. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Mondrian is ideal for a few days stay. Beautifull roms, bay view pool, great restaurant and perfect service. A few minutes walk to the South Beach/Ocean Drive. More suited for couples than families with children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Karolina,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay. We're delighted to have provided you with an ideal place to spend your holiday, thanks in part to our excellent service and room product. We hope to have you join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Mondrian via Jet Luxury Resorts (they own some condos in the Mondrian). We have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. The room was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. The refrigerator in the room was convenient. The bathroom was neat and the shower was excellent. The concierges were very helpful. You do not need a car. Everything is in walking or biking distance (Lincoln Road and the beach). The deco bikes for rent are right at the corner and you can take them all over South Beach. Additionally, Whole Foods, Walgreens, and Starbucks are a block away. Additionally, for a quarter you can take the bus around the perimeter of South Beach and the bus stops a block away. We did not find the hotel loud and the walls are not paper thin like in many hotels. Overall we thoroughly would recommend a stay at the Mondrian for your next stay in South Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on Miami Beach west side and offers an interesting alternative to others establishments set on the east side, next to Lincoln Road for example, or along Collins Avenue. First of all, price wise, as you get very large rooms (bedroom, living room and kitchenette area) for roughly the same price you would pay for a regular one bedroom room in a hotel on the east side of Miami Beach. Second of all, although hotel Mondrian is quite huge, it still feels cosy and not overpacked with tourists. I guess the mass tourism does not get here, as this hotel is more meant for a younger, wealthy and in crowd, definitely without children. This suited us perfectly and was one of the main reasons why we choose this place. Staff is great, very professional, always ready to help. Car service is available, although quite steep being 37 $ / 24h. Then again, there are many public parkings in the neighbourhood. The hotel's pool is great, overlooks downtown Miami, and seems heated. Good pool service. Breakfast and diner at the hotel's restaurant are very good, price wise ok. Minutes away from the Mondrian you will find a "whole foods" market, which serves amazing bio/vegan/healthy food, worth going to, to pick up food to eat in the room. The only downside is the noise coming from the hall, due to the half inch gap under the room's entrance door. If you're unlucky with a next door neighbour playing music very loud, it could be a huge problem, fortunately, it was not the case for us. Last but not least, the rooms located on the pool side (we choose street side) take "advantage" of the pool party's very loud music, it could be a problem. Overall, the hotel Mondrian is a very good choice, definitely worth every penny, a place to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and this kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities as well as our location here on West Avenue. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Returned to the Mondrian in October after having been in June 2011.The bay side views are amazing, so is the pool area. Rosa at reception was such a star and got us a really beautiful room on a top floor. Rooms are impeccable and housekeeping did a fantastic job in keeping to a very high standard. I never return to a hotel more than once, Mondrian is an exception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Anne,

We're glad our service and room product have left you wanting more and we look forward to many happy returns.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Splendia, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.