We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #22 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Genève
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for our holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on Miami Beach west side and offers an interesting alternative to others establishments set on the east side, next to Lincoln Road for example, or along Collins Avenue. First of all, price wise, as you get very large rooms (bedroom, living room and kitchenette area) for roughly the same price you would pay for a regular one bedroom room in a hotel on the east side of Miami Beach. Second of all, although hotel Mondrian is quite huge, it still feels cosy and not overpacked with tourists. I guess the mass tourism does not get here, as this hotel is more meant for a younger, wealthy and in crowd, definitely without children. This suited us perfectly and was one of the main reasons why we choose this place. Staff is great, very professional, always ready to help. Car service is available, although quite steep being 37 $ / 24h. Then again, there are many public parkings in the neighbourhood. The hotel's pool is great, overlooks downtown Miami, and seems heated. Good pool service. Breakfast and diner at the hotel's restaurant are very good, price wise ok. Minutes away from the Mondrian you will find a "whole foods" market, which serves amazing bio/vegan/healthy food, worth going to, to pick up food to eat in the room. The only downside is the noise coming from the hall, due to the half inch gap under the room's entrance door. If you're unlucky with a next door neighbour playing music very loud, it could be a huge problem, fortunately, it was not the case for us. Last but not least, the rooms located on the pool side (we choose street side) take "advantage" of the pool party's very loud music, it could be a problem. Overall, the hotel Mondrian is a very good choice, definitely worth every penny, a place to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and this kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities as well as our location here on West Avenue. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    383
    147
    60
    35
See reviews for
163
602
71
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Returned to the Mondrian in October after having been in June 2011.The bay side views are amazing, so is the pool area. Rosa at reception was such a star and got us a really beautiful room on a top floor. Rooms are impeccable and housekeeping did a fantastic job in keeping to a very high standard. I never return to a hotel more than once, Mondrian is an exception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Anne,

We're glad our service and room product have left you wanting more and we look forward to many happy returns.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First impressions upon arrival at the hotel were the escorting of a young girl off the premises and the music was playing loud everywhere. Upon arrival to the room, the room was FREEZING COLD and the finished cleaning job was way below expectation. I opened a cupboard door and there was an air conditioning unit full of dust. The front desk staff have the usual fake faces with same rehearsed speech. Requests and contacts with staff is very difficult and not easy. The pool area is kept clean and better than most hotels. Valet parking staff are all nice except one of them age aprox. 35 that appears to be on a mission to dominate the rest with his voice and body language and lack of smile.
Places that need urgent attention are ..... cleaning in between the mirror and the sink, the bottom of the shower entrance, change of the gold mosaic shelf where you put the soap in the shower which is totally loose, the chandeliers in the showers were rusted, the chandeliers at the entrance where you valet your car are all broken. So all in all I thought this hotel was all show and not much substance when you look just a little bit deeper and you see the cracks. Probably only good for party people that want to try and feel important about themselves. Very poor customer relations representation and lack of cooperation between staff which is usually caused by poor leadership. Simple training of staff, some basic repair work and a dose of common sense and less showmanship can bring this hotel to incredible glory. I am to believe that the owners are investors and not hoteliers. Thanks for reading.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. We're sorry we fell short of your expectations.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

College friend and I met up in Miami for a girls' weekend so we only stayed here for 2 nights but it is a great choice in South Beach. Being on the bay side really saves some money but the views were still great, and the pool area is beatiful. Rooms are spacious and have kitchenettes which is nice if you are staying longer than we did and want to eat in your room occasionally. I can't say enough about how comfortable the beds are. SHowers are mosaic tiled with a chandelier showerhead - really cool. Service was great from truly everyone there, although I do have to give a special kudos to David at the pool since that was who we had the most contact with. While I admit that the trendy decor is not my personal preference for daily life, it fits in perfectly in Miami and is really well done. There were only 2 things that I really didn't like: 1. is the face painted on the room wall; kind of creepy since it faced the bed. 2. I understand the club scene but music in the bar was just way too loud for me; it's impossible to have a conversation. A lot of people probably woulnd't have a problem with either of these things. Would definitely recommend and hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you going as a couple, splurge on a waterview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Kristin for your recent visit and this kind review. We're delighted to have played host for your girls weekend and that our staff helped to make it a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Super staff, beautiful rooms, great location if you want to be close to the action without having to give up on sleep or cleanliness. Nancy at front desk and David at pool are rock stars. I stay in over 100 hotels a year and this is a truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed our rooms but are most pleased that you enjoyed a personalized level of service from our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently stayed at the Mondrian South Beach and could not have asked for a better time. We were celebrating a birthday and the entire staff made every effort to make it memorable. Pricilla Jose Noriega, and Emar all from the Front Office all made sure our stay was flawless. Everyone form the doorman to the pool servers made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you. We're delighted that the personal service from our staff helped to make your birthday memorable and we look forward to many happy returns.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The laundry list... From the start $37 to valet... Are you kidding me? I refused and it took me 5 minutes to find a spot on the street.

Our room was progressive in decor including the "face" Fathead on the wall? Room was marginal in terms of cleanliness which is a priority for us. Abundant hallway noise and noise from the heels on the tile floor from above. The bathroom was ridiculous, no counter or vanity. Extremely poor lighting including, even worse worse one of the only bulbs was burnt out. The shower did not even have a proper surround and leaked gallons of water!

When I called the Comcierge and front desk for a restuarant recommend... You guessed it no answer! Your call, I know better than this and will quickly return to my favorite large corporate hotels...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not find the personal level of service so many of our reviewers have experienced, clearly your visit was the exception rather than the rule. We wish to make it clear that our parking fees are in line with other hotels in Miami Beach.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.