We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the right kind of person” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mondrian South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Off
Ranked #19 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the right kind of person”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

There's no doubting that this is a great, impeccably stylish hotel but don't come here if you're anticipating peace and quiet (arguably that is true of Miami in general!) On our first night people came back in at 4am and kept the party going for a few more hourse: usually we would be annoyed but when you consider what the Mondrian is like and who it is clearly designed for we realised that we were the ones who were probably in the wrong place.
The rooms are very slickly done and actually pretty spacious for Miami. Only half of the bay view rooms have balconies so try and request one of those. Stay clear of rooms ending 06 if you can: you get a bit more space but it is right by the lift/ice machine so you get lots of noise from the corridor. Service was actually very good and helpful, in room wifi was quick (and free) and the pool area looked a great place to lounge off a hangover.
Location is interesting, a short walk to Lincoln Road mall and to South Beach: if you're looking to spend all of your time on the sand you'd be better off staying on Ocean or Collins but this was good for South Beach, Lincoln and downtown, with great bay views.
All in all a great choice if you don't want to stay in a South Beach shoebox but are ready to get dressed up and party hard (and we were also lucky to get a great deal on booking.com). If your tastes are a little more sedate however this may not be the place for you...

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms ending 06 as you get a lot of corridor noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to spacious rooms and helpful service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    385
    147
    60
    34
See reviews for
159
596
71
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pros:
Rooms: Clean, HUGE, spacious, beautiful, modern.
Pool: Was never packed, always clean, DJ playing. Go early to get seats. Great atmosphere. Slick decor.
Staff: Super friendly - easy check-in. I'd say all the staff were very nice.
I think I read some complaints but if don't act like a snob and you won't get treated like one.

Cons:
Price: Everything at the hotel was 4 times the price that it should have been. If you don't have a budget and don't mind spending $18 for a drink, then no problem. Same goes for food.
Location: Far away from the beach/restaurants/nightlife: You can either take a cab under $10 to get around to different places or you can walk. I believe it was close to 1.3 mile walking wise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you. We're glad you found our staff to be friendly and our atmosphere to be fun and inviting. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Got a great deal using trivago. Superb modern suite with small kitchen, huge living room, large bedroom and very comfy bed, balcony. Pool area feels very 'vegas' like and views of downtown at night were amazing. We easily walked to the beach, Espagnola way and Collins ave. Night time walking felt safe. We dined out locally for b/fast and it felt quite residential to the north which we liked. Great bar deals 5-9 o clock for cocktails and appzs. Would have liked more time. We were in town to see the Dolphin Game as part of Florida trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for this review and for your recent visit. We're glad you found our location to be favorable and our design to be superb. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in! Entire staff - from G.M. Alex to Housekeeping- was very friendly, caring, and genuinely concerned that our stay was everything we wanted and expected. Spotlessly clean. Bed very comfortable even with my very bad back. We came here as a much needed get away after my Mom passed away very suddenly and this hotel was just what I needed. Very quiet with a peaceful yet very pleasant atmosphere. And the terrace! Breathtaking! Well suited for either being quiet and thoughtfully reflecting or for friendly chatter and making new friends. Worth every penny. Family friendly and romantic hide away - take your choice! We have already convinced family and friends to book here! Can't wait until we get a chance to come back!

Room Tip: Splurg get an ocean view! Other rooms are fabulous without looking at the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for sharing your experience with us. All of us, front of house and back of house, are dedicated to creating personalized guest experiences. We're delighted that this level of service as well as our iconic design resulted in making your stay memorable. We look forward to many happy returns.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent. Spent 3 nights there in September. Place was very clean. Room was wonderful. Balcony view was incredible. It was quiet at night to get restful sleep.. Was there for business, but a short cab ride away provided great restaurants.
The pool area is nice as well as the fitness center. The staff was friendly and helpful too.

Room Tip: bay view with balcony was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here, thanks in part to our friendly and helpful staff as well as the amenities provided to you. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We reserved for 3 nights and left on the second one. Overpriced for the quality, the first 1 bedroom suite we were given had very dirty curtains and a dirty entrance chandelier, the yellow chair was also blackened at the armrests and back, 2 Lightbulbs on the chandelier were out, the wallpaper was very dirty and peeling off, the light switches were dirty and the more we looked the more we found unacceptable for such a rating and price, we couldn't believe it. The iron was an old sunbeam broken with a cord that wouldn't pull out. We complained and we were transferred to a Bay View Suite for an Up charge, It was in better condition nevertheless It still had dirty curtains and dirty Chrome bathroom fixtures, a bad light bulb that sounded like it was going to explode on top of the mirror. There are definitive maintenance issues at this property, it feels like its going out of business. On the service side, they are very nice. Another disappointment, two towels? I can't remember the las time I stayed at a hotel that had two towels in the bathroom, we had to use the same wet towel three times. Could we have called housekeeping for more towels and pillows and Lightbulbs? Sure but I didn't come here to complain. We just packed and went to a real luxury hotel where there would be no issues. This hotel is not for the well travelled, demanding guest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian. We wish to assure you that your room is not up to our standards. I have reached out to you through this website to gather more information about your stay so that we may properly address and correct the matter; we wish to assure you that your visit is not indicative of our standards.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights while in Miami for business in October and really enjoyed my stay.

Rooms - entry level are spacious, clean and stylish. Large white double bed and a great shower - the rainwater shower falls from a chandelier! Big TV and great room service.

Pool - beautiful and a great temperature. Loads of sunloungers and an amazing view over the bay. A DJ rocks up on Sundays for a funky, Balearic pool-side vibe. Poolside dining is a good selection of salads, sashimi, ceviche and sandwiches amongst other things ($7 for fries up to $28 for mains).

Restaurant - Asia de Cuba does fantastic food. It's a bit pricey, but worth it. Definitely try the yoghurt parfait ($11 - a layered sundae of chopped mango, yoghurt and granola) for breakfast and the blackened cod ($42) for dinner is gorgeous! They also make a mean mojito.

Location - 5 minutes cab to the beach/Lincoln Avenue area. $33 cab from the airport, located 20 mins away.

The only drawback is that you can sometimes hear corridor noise as guests come back from clubs throughout the night. Nothing too outrageous though (you are in Miami!) - and I'm very conscious of getting a good night sleep.

I'm definitely planning on going back with my husband for a proper holiday soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay if you want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for this awesome review and for your recent visit. We're glad to have made such a favorable impression upon you thanks to our location and design. We look foward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondrian South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.