We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally an actual nice hotel in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Finally an actual nice hotel in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I'm a local resident but my husband and I like to do little getaways at various hotels on the beach. Most of the nice hotels in South Beach (and even farther north) act like they are doing you a favor by even speaking to you. The rooms are typically small and sterile and the service is awful. The W and Fontainebleau are the exception but the FB is a huge, cruise-ship style mega resort with lots of kids.

The W is just what South Beach needs. The service is fantastic. They actually listen to you, respond to your needs and seem to care. The beach service (food and cocktails) was fantastic - good quality, speedy, friendly waiters). The beach chairs are large and comfy with nice towels (and complimentary). The pool is small but plenty of chairs. Yes, it's a little cramped but it still feels elite, luxurious and relaxing.

Even the partial ocean view rooms have large balconies with great views of the beach and ocean.The bed isn't the most comforatable in the world (compared to the Ritz beds or even the Westin Heavenly Bed) but it's fine. The bathrooms are nice - spacious, good water pressure, nice amenities. The rooms still feel new. Very clean and modern yet not too minimlaist like the Shore Club.

We enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return. This is now our favorite hotel in Miami.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    380
    183
    89
    109
See reviews for
300
757
88
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We just came home from a weekend trip to the W South Beach. We stayed in an Oasis Suite which was outstanding. The room was ready when we checked in at 4:30pm of Friday and we were given a late checkout of 1:00pm on Sunday. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The concierge arranged a car and driver to take us to Ft. Lauderdale Saturday night for the James Taylor/ Carol King concert. The driver was extremely nice and having him drop us and pick us up was key - the place was a traffic zoo. Additionally, we dined in the hotel and made good use of the bars. Everyone was very attentive and friendly.
Our room was on the ninth floor on the south side of the building. We had about 1200 s.f. and 2 balconies. We had a bedroom, 1 1/2 baths, a living room, dining room, media room and kitchen. It was decorated like George Jetson's and we loved it and felt right at home. As others have said - the balconies are not exactly private - the next balcony over can lean out and look if they want to. I did not find this to be a problem at all.
The W is at the north end of South Beach and it is a long walk down to Lincoln Road or Ocean Drive. But it is a very inexpensive taxi ride and if the weather is okay the beach walk (which is between the beach and the hotels) is a great walk.
We would definitely stay at the W again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I really liked the W in South Beach, the location is good, nice grounds, gorgeous rooms. We were upgraded to a suite and I loved the modern decor.
Unfortunately, the main pool had half a dozen kids in it playing and screaming all weekend long. Listening to Marco Polo all day long is not my idea of a relaxing stay. We made a few comments to the pool staff as did other guests and although the parents were advised of the inconvenience the children were causing the noise continued. I wish this was an adults pool only.
In addition to this there was a big flashy group in a cabana drawing attention to themselves, being loud, there was just a lot of activity. Overall the pool was just "busy" not in a fun Vegas busy way, just more of an annoying hustle and bustle that I did not expect to find at the W. The rest of our time at the hotel was great, we slept very well, enjoyed breakfast on our terrace one morning. The room service was very good. We had dinner at Mr Chows which was good. The evening vibe was very cool, fun lounge and club.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

i loved the design of this hotel and all the facilities !! best pool
verry good service , spotless , verry good location

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSouthBeach, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Had a reservation for a 1 night stay for a meeting at the hotel the following day. Had to cancell it due to a flight change that will get me there the following morning so the room was not needed, then I found out that this specific property has a 72 hours cancellation policy not the usual 24 (or even less) nor even 48 hours but 72!

Long story short: no one at Starwoods nor anyone at the hotel itself wanted to help at all covering themselves on a very strict policy....even for someone with more than 10 years as a member ...even when we were scouting the property for our annual event next year....so, I guess I know where we are not going

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I love this hotel and everything it stands for. Sooo long Shore Club. Bye bye Mondrian. Helloooo lover, errr W South Beach.

Would you like a higher floor room with a better view? Done. Do you need the complimentary car to take you to Lincoln Road? Done. Sorry, we are booked for a late check out BUT allow us to give you a hospitality suite when you return from the beach so you can shower before your flight. Really? Yes, really. Done. Do you need to hear more about service?

The hotel was booked to heaven the 4 nights we were there but every request was met. The room was impeccably made up every day and we never had issues with maid service.

The hotel is sleek and chic and everyone smiles. The food by the beach was fabulous (and just the right portion). Cocktails are expensive but honey, this isn’t your grandmother’s W. Walk over to the Gansevoort on Saturday and go to the Plunge pool party. It’s not for the faint of heart.

But my absolute favorite part of the hotel?? The changing mats in the elevators that greet you in the morning, afternoon and evening. Classic!!

I almost regret writing a complaint free review as I really don’t want you to stay here. I don’t need the rates to go up any further. Sooo…there is always the Days Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed here one night, free with SPG points. Got in around 10am and did have to wait until after 2pm for our room to be ready. We were upgraded to an ocean view suite and it was unbelievable. Amazing pool area too and the beach is right by the pool. Only downside to this place is the pool area gets packed very early so come early as all the chairs and cabanas are taken very early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, Prestigia and getaroom.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.