We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

W South Beach is a refreshing change from the likes of the Shore Club / Delano etc. I wouldnt say better - just different. Beautifully decorated - it is sleek and cool... and sexy. Service was very good. Rooms are beautiful... Great Views of the beach. My only complaint with 'trendy' hotels is that often staff members have 'attitude problems'. Thankfully at the W only a couple of people fit into that category. Ate at MR. CHOW - Awesome (but expensive - $600 for 4 people) Random comment - The Pool chairs / Cabanas all of which are wooden already are starting to look old and worn.....?? Overall - Go for it. FABULOUS South Beach experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I just returned from a long weekend at the W South Beach with 5 of my girlfriends. What an amazing place! We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was truly unbelievable with 2 huge bathrooms, a media room, 3 terraces and a media room. We were on the 17th floor and had great views with literally no noise from the bar or street below. We are 36 so I was a little nervous about the "Scene" at the W but we had a great time and never felt like people were snooty or pretentious. There were a few families at the hotel but it seemed to be mostly couples or groups of friends.

The pool was so gorgeous and the food, drinks and service were excellent. The burger at the pool was worth every penny as was the Watermelon Aqua Fresca, a sweet drink made with water, sugar and big chunks of watermelon - yumm. As another reviewer mentioned, you definitely need to grab lounges at the pool before 10am or they're gone. They do have another smaller pool where we ended up one day and it was fine for laying out but that pool's not heated. The beach was also nice with comfortable chairs for free and umbrellas for $15, cabanas for $30.

The service in general at the hotel was very accomodating however we were promised a late check out (4pm) but were advised the night before that they could not honor it. My only other complaint was that they do not offer free wireless in the rooms and they charge you $5.95 per 15 minutes to use the computers in their "Wired" room. We paid $1,600 a night for a suite and to not offer free internet is just silly. I stayed at a Holiday Inn a few weeks ago that offered computer service for free! For that reason alone, I gave 4 stars instead of 5!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejh259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The W on South Beach is a reflection of its surroundings - it's beautiful, buzzing with energy, trendy, sheik, and just over the top. It feels like there's always a party happening and if you're in Miami for a wild and crazy night followed by some sun at the pool/beach. This is a great spot. It's not quiet and it's not cheep, but it's an experience.

We enjoyed the (relatively) low key Living Room Bar on the first floor and the excellent set up at the beach and the pool. It was a great way to experience Miami. We’re not really “night club” people so the seemingly constant dance music was a bit much, but we just considered it part of South Beach way of life.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

First of all, I should note that I am a platinum Starwood member. I've stayed at W's and Westins around the world and this is hands down the worst one that I've stayed at. The service was horrible and the staff was indifferent to my issues. When we checked in (at 2AM due to flight delays), the front desk agent ignored us for 20 minutes while he stared at his computer. When we ordered food at the pool it took over one hour to get food. A simple drink at the pool costed $16. We had prostitutes that propositioned us at the hotel bar in the evening. To top it all off, we were paying $750/night/room. The list goes on. If you are looking for a classy hotel with great nightlife stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sampat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

My family and I enjoyed our five night stay for leisure. We would go back, since we go every year to watch the Key Biscayne Sony Open (pro tennis). We have five young children (<10) and a nanny and got two rooms. The hotel was sold out so no SPG platinum room upgrades. Didn't rec my 500pt amenity either. I didn't mind my standard room on the 16th floor (even number). Spacious enough and facing the entrance, a south beach view, downtown Miami, two ground parking lots and a Days Inn. Couldn't complain about the noise (nite club scene Thurs-Sat nites), but always travel w/a sound machine. Neighbor blasted bass pounding music all nite. Called staff numerous times to handle it and they did.
Staff was friendly and attentive. While waiting for elevator up after pool, Cameron Diaz checked in and got escorted to her suite. Other than that special attention (rightfully deserved), I felt the service was equally divided betw. its hotel guests. Enjoyed the pool (get up early to reserve lounges 7-8am) and you need to be on your lounges after breakfast by 930 or they'll be given away. Great burgers, kids food, and ham/ch sandwich. Drinks $15. Beach was nice too. Niteclub was amusing w/the scene. Drink price expectedly high there too. Kardashian family at Mr Chows and lots of Ferraris parked in front. Entertaining scene to watch. Nice location in South Beach. Recommend Prime Italian (street level of Hilton Hotel) at 101 Ocean Dr. Nice Italian and same steaks as Prime One Twelve across the street. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao paulo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

What can I say? Beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable amenities, delicious restaurants, helpful staff, and in the heart of SoBe! What more can one ask for?
Would definitely recommend it!
Mrs. and Mr. Cepero

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garotademiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We arrived before check in and decided to go eat lunch poolside. After waiting at a table for 15 minutes, watching others being taken care of, we decided to ask for service. It took forever for drinks and food. Pool was crowded, no lounges, so we decided to go to the beach. Even though we had a suite for 3 people, we were only allowed 2 chairs and had to pay for the 3rd ($20). At least we had the option. The beach staff was the only shining star in the 2 days we were there. They worked hard in the hot sun to try to make everyone happy. The next morning we decided to go to the pool, but we were only allowed 2 chairs. No option for a 3rd. (Small suite) Apparently you can stay there but can use the pool! There were many children under 10 with lounge chairs, but apparently since their family book 2 rooms or a larger suite they were give extra chairs ( and never sat in them) while we took turns in our 2 chairs that we used the entire time we were there. Good thing we were only there 2 days. Car alarms and street noise were terrible (even on the 16th floor) and construction across the street started around 7 am. Valet costs almost $40 per day and they tack on a 20% gratuity on everything. Front door staff was snooty and walked around with headsets like they were with the secret service, but never did anything. You felt like they were just waiting for the celebrities. So many people in the lobby waiting for rooms at 4:00 check in !! I heard one guy on the beach say he got a $200 credit for not getting in the room before 4. The rooms are really cool, but had to call several people right away for things that were not working or missing. My husband stood at the door handing out tips. I noticed the last night that they only left 2 towels in the room after they cleaned for the day. I thought about calling but that would mean another tip for someone and I was all tipped out. The squeaky wheel definitely rules at the W Miami Beach! If you want a relaxing vacation, don't go to the W. I am exhausted!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likestotravelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#14 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing