We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Philadelphi
1 review
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the W hotel for 5 nights. We were greeted by complimentary, accommodating staff. We were given a room with a spectacular view. The whatever whenever wish service, you dialed "0" to make special requests or ask for things, was wonderful. Each time we called for things such as cleaning our room by a certain time or requesting more coffee, occurred in a timely friendly "you are special" fashion. The gentlemen working at the beach area were fantastic. They were friendly helpful and made going to the beach fun. Daniel in the Bliss store went above and beyond. I need to use special shampoo, when I went to the Bliss store he acknowledged they did not have the appropriate product...at that, he called a salon 1 block down from the hotel, and they shampooed my hair for me free of charge. Wow!! It is an upscale cool place to stay!!! We were on the 16th floor. I do not recommend the lower floors because they could be noisy. My only complaint is that I had to go home!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSouthBeach, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Glad you had a great experience. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    746
    293
    155
    83
    93
See reviews for
202
566
61
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

This is what south beach has been missing. a new hotel, modern, loaded like a vegas hotel. rooms are spacious for the money. make sure when you stay here to request a hi floor room closest to the ocean. collins ave can be noisy even on the 15th floor (where friends stayed) versus 16th or 17th floor by the ocean.

i would stay here over the shore club, delano, and loews combined!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Snotty, surly staff who deliver average to poor service. The food is mediocre at best. But worst of all are the outlandish prices. Nice room, but it did not have the balcony we were promised. For $1,000 a night one should not have to find an ice machine for ice in the evening. Stay away!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Just got back from a long weekend in South Beach. We have stayed in a number of Miami hotels (Delano, Conrad, Eden Roc) but wanted to try the newest place so chose the W. We were not there to drink and party. We were there to get away from the snow and to relax. The hotel was perfect for those activities. The hotel is right on the beach, and a short walk to Lincoln Road, plus the original South Beach restaurants and shops. We walked, and shopped and ate and drank then walked back "home" to the W easily (10-15 min each way). The room was so comfortable and big, plus the view of the ocean from the 14th floor and a balcony, that we never had to leave. We did go to the pool, eat at Solea, drink in several hotel bars and all were great. Yes, drinks cost $15, but it's a W on the beach, not sure why this is surprising. The gym was awesome, Bliss was solid as always and the pool bartenders were very nice. The staff is stiff. I get that, most of the people who come here are extremely rude, so they have their backs up. They were perfectly polite to us when we sat in the main bar on a Saturday night with our laptops like geeks! I call that service (haha) There was free WIFI in the lobby. Better than at most W hotels. If you are looking for a hotel to pamper you and say welcome back Mr and Mrs So and So, this hotel won't suit your needs. If you are uncomfortable being looked at either by other guests, hotel staff or other random passers-by, this hotel will not be a haven for you. It's still South Beach, not sure what the W can do to change that. We will go back to this hotel and I would recommend it if you are looking to get away from your day-to-day by staring at the ocean from your gorgeous room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

this hotel was amazing...was upgraded to a larger suite as i am starwood platinum. only problem was noise from night club, but was entertaining to wake up and watch drunks come out in the night....

We went with our 1 year old... they all took great care for us... enjoyed the beach...staff was great all around.... ZERO complaints....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Let's cut to the chase. If money is no object to you, this place would be a great place to stay. The room was spacious (we stayed in a small suite overlloking the Days Inn and comfortable with a nice balcony and view of the ocean (and the Days Inn). The pool area was beautiful and beach access is simple. The staff was very nice, helpful and easy to deal with. But honestly. Two drinks and a glass of beer at the pool bar and a bill approaching $50? A breakfast so expensive that we headed down Collins Ave to eat in the AM. You have people wandering around in dark suits wearing sunglasses checking evreyone out like we were all criminals. And the worst? You had to pay for WiFi access. That's right. A $700 a night room and no free WiFi. They don't even offer free access at the computers in the lobby. If you can stand being around the look-at-me trendy crowd, this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We just spent a week at the W on vacation. We enjoy sitting in the sun which is almost impossible. They pack the guests around the pool like sardines. There is not enough space between the chairs to fit a toothpick. If you want a chair in the sun be prepared to be downstairs at 7:30 A.M. and don't try to leave the chair for a walk or food because if you're gone for more than an hour they will remove your things and give some other poor soul your seat. Even with a "good spot" the sun moves around the pool leaving most in the shade. Meanwhile, there are numerous cabanas loaded with lounge chairs that remain empty because those need to be rented for $400 per day. When most are spending upwards of $600 per night , it is a quite unnerving to watch and listen to the vacationers argue with the pool staff over getting and/or keeping a chair by the pool in the sun. On top of all of that, we spent the entire week being nickeled and dimed for everything. The average drink cost $20.00 along with everything else being extremely overpriced . On a whole the personnal touch was missing and there was too much fluff. Also, the hotel is portrayed as a place for adults to relax but how can we relax when the entire place is loaded with kids. The hotel is clean and the beach staff is very nice. I don't think I would try this one again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.