We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and enjoy - if you have the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #25 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Go and enjoy - if you have the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Our favourite welcome desk lady, Vanessa very kindly upgraded us to a suite with two balconies - we enjoyed it very much! However, make sure you get a room on a high floor. The W has a high party sceene and there is a lot of noice from guests arriving and leaving the bar late at night. Our next door neighbour also had a party on their terrace at 05.30 in the morning - the place is full of security guards who should have stopped this! Also, make sure to have a room on the south side of the Hotel, or the sun will dissapear early from the balcony!

The facilities of the W is impeccable; bar, beach, pool, reception area - a sight for sore eyes! Be prepared to pay for wireless internet, parking and umrellas at the private beach - even though W is quite pricy for a start! We had dinner one night in the restaurant Soleà - only fancy and expensive - not worth the money!

Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    318
    162
    86
    96
See reviews for
234
600
64
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Two friends and myself decided to celebrate a landmark birthday by going to Miami. We decided to stay at the W Hotel. Prior to arriving, we already knew it would be fabulous. HOWEVER, upon arrival...it was SO MUCH MORE! Although the pricing is extremely high, it is worth it if you can afford it or get some type of discount. It was the best hotel stay I have ever had! The estate is astounding, and whatever you want or want to do...it's there--or someone can direct you to a location nearby that does offer what you are looking for (i.e. restaurants, etc.).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the W South Beach and left feeling relaxed and taken care of. We arrived on a Thursday morning around 1030 and could immediately check into our room, which surprised both of us. Our room was clean and had a nice view of the beach. Furthermore, we had requested a 'quiet' room as my wife is 7 months pregnant and they put us on a high floor away from the outdoor bar which we appreciated. However the room was still somewhat loud due to traffic on Collins Ave but I think that is just life in South Beach and not a reflection of the hotel.

The facilities are great: the pool scene is pretty low-key and very relaxing although some people were drinking and making a big day of it. The pool does get busy though so getting a chair early is key as there are not tons of them around.

The gym was also nice and empty both times I used it.

Food options at the hotel are predictably expensive. We were a little disappointed in our lunch at the pool, a vegetable wrap was ~$18 and my wife ordered mango water (no alcohol) which cost $6. Both were ok but not great. Likewise at the various bars a beer was $7 and cocktails were $15. We had dinner at Mr Chows and it was delicious and fun, but also a bit pricey ($150+ for 2 ppl, 1 glass of wine between us). We walked a bit to find some less expensive options for breakfast and lunch and there were a few within a couple blocks.

Overall the service was very good - in one instance my wife ordered a half glass of wine at the hotel bar (Living Room) and was told by the bartender that they did not serve half glasses. When she explained that she was expecting and did not want a full glass the bartender immediately not only poured her a half-glass but also congratulated us and said the wine was on-the-house. We received other great service as well throughout the weekend, and never had an issue with housekeeping, etc.

We would definitely go back but overall were happy that we had used points to test out this property. If you like the Miami scene then you will definitely like staying here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Stayed at the nnew W South Beach for my birthday weekend and had a fantastic experience. The service and rooms were very good. The pool and beach were excellent as well. Food and drinks are expensive as expected from a hotel of this caliber but the quality was up to the price. I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to South Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoesgal2121
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My travel agent had booked my friends and I a 2-bedroom 2.5-bathroom sunsational suite for my bachelorette weekend. I was in search of a place that had war, weather as well an entertaining nightlife. When we got to the hotel, everyone was so pleasant. We realized we were in a 2bed 2bathroom suite. So I called the following morning to ask if there was a price difference andthe rep said no. They also said that a 2bedroom, 2.5 bathroom suite did not exist. When I checked onlime, their website stated there in fact was a 2bed, 2.5 bath suite - with a $500 per night price difference. I did not find this out until I returned home.

Our first night was nice. We were tired from traveling so we stayed in all night. Our second day there, we decided to go shopping then hit the town. Not so bad. Our third night there, we went shopping during the day and spent the dya at the beach. Well, while on the beach, in order to obtain an umbrella, we had to pay $15. Yes, $1,600 a night for a suite and we still had to pay $15 for an umbrella. It was a bogus fee in my opinion. Before leaving the room to go soak up some sun, we asked that they clean up the room and remove the dirty dishes from breakfast for the past two days. They said they would handle it and never did. So when we got back from shopping, we asked again. They sent up some fresh towels but never took the room service dishes. We had 2 days worth of dirty dishes in our room and as you can imagine, it smelled. Therefore, I placed the dishes in the hallway for someone to pick up. The next morning, as we did every morning while in our "plush" suite, we had breakfast on the balcony. There was someone above who decide to smoke and throw the matches as well as the ashes on the balconies below. I thought this was a non-smoking hotel...apprently I was wrong. Then on our final night there, I asked again if they could send someone up to clean up the ashes or politely ask that the person use an ash tray, the manager...yes, the manager, said her would handle it. Needless to say, it never happened. $1,600 a night for this....Boy was I upset!

All in all, I would much rather have given my money to the setai which is next door or the delano hotel which is also steps away.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSouthBeach, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 10, 2009
Congratulations on your pending nuptials! Thank you for the feedback. We have made a few procedure changes to prevent this from happening in the future. To mention smoking; we are a non-smoking hotel but we do allow our guests to smoke on the balconies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Great hotel, we got to stay there on the opening week of the new hotel and this was the main reason for the few hiccupps we had, we waited 6 hours to check in due to house keeeping not having the room ready with a few minor things however as i say this was due to the fact that it was the hotels first few days after opening, spectacular roomswith great views of the ocean, would reccommend it to anyone

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

What a great weekend. Trip started out great (upgrade to a Fantastic Suite, we were staying on Starwoods points). While the suite is at the end of the hotel (near the road) and originally worried us a bit, it turned out to be a terrific room. 270 degree views including beach and Miami skyline (which is nicer to look at in the evening than a dark beach). Very quiet room - never heard a peep from the room next to us or outside (which is not the norm for most W's).

We spent 2 days around the pool. Service was perfect. The staff is very friendly, zero attitude and always there when you need a drink. The pool is not huge (e.g., compared to the FountaineBleau pool) but is large enough, tropically landscaped, the water warm and the bar very cool. We rented a cabana one day which was also a nice touch (in particular, if there is some good sports on). Overall, a fun scene where you can definitely enjoy a few days of relaxation. We didn't spend much time on the beach but it also looked very nice (they have food/drink service on beach) and could serve as a nice alternative to the pool for longer stays.

The main bar was always lively with great people watching. Bartenders were great and take pride in their drinks (they were having a drink competition and working on experimental drinks all weekend...). Mr. Chow's is crowded (tables very close) but we were surprised to find we really enjoyed the dinner and would go back (we also went to Casa Tua which was off the charts).

All in all, we'd go back in a heartbeat. Congrats to the W for surpassing all our expectations. We stay at W's frequently but wouldn't call them luxury. However, W South Beach is a totally different experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.